Kid's Advisory Board Reviews

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Estranged Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062653864
Availability: Not Yet Published
Published: HarperCollins - August 7th, 2018

This was a really great graphic novel with a fast-paced story and great art. It's about two changelings. The human was stolen by the fay and taken to live in their underground realm. The fay changeling is growing up in the regular human world. Both wind up wrapped up in an adventure in the fay world, along with their human sister, who learns the truth about her family and is willing to accept both of them as her brothers. It's a really good story and I would recommend it to people who like adventure graphic novels and books like The Spiderwick Chronicles by Holly Black.

- Review by Michael, age 10.


Fly to the Rescue (Tiny Geniuses #1) Cover Image
$4.99
ISBN: 9780545909518
Availability: Not Yet Published
Published: Scholastic Paperbacks - July 31st, 2018

 
This was a very interesting book. The main character keeps getting bad grades and his mom is threatening to pull him out of baseball. If he gets a good grade on his science project, though, he can stay in baseball. So he tries very hard, but it isn't going well. Then he visits the school's "lucky wishing well." It's known if you give it your most prized possession, you'll get a wish. The main character gives up something - not his most prized possession but something special nonetheless - his aunt's present to him: Heroes of History action figures. He wishes for better grades, and everything goes haywire. He ends up with "Pocket Geniuses" instead. It was an easy, fast read. I'd recommend it to readers 7-10.
 
Review by Michael, age 10


To Pluto and Beyond Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781101997017
Availability: Not Yet Published
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - July 17th, 2018

This book had a lot of informational on an interesting topic: the spacecraft that's going to travel to Pluto and on out of our solar system. There are lots of people who want to know about outer space, so this should be interesting to many readers. The book includes information on the spacecraft itself, the people who made it and how it was made, and then it also includes information on Pluto itself. I thought it was pretty cool.
I would recommend it to fans of space, future astronauts and people who want to know the latest news about space exploration, ages 9 and up.
 
Review by Michael, age 10. 


Null Mr. Wolf's Class Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781338047684
Availability: Not Yet Published
Published: Graphix - June 26th, 2018

I read this whole graphic novel in one sitting. It was funny and fast-paced. It's about the first day of school in a normal fourth-grade classroom - except that all of the students and the teacher are animals. Also, they're not very well-behaved. They're a lot less responsible than the kids in my school. Otherwise, it's pretty realistic, with lots of real-life humor. Technically, the main character is Mr. Wolf, but everybody has their part to play. I liked the art and the story and am glad to find out there's goiing to be another book. I'd recommend this for general interest readers age 7-10.
 
- Review by Michael, age 10


Annie's Life in Lists Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781524765095
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers - May 29th, 2018

Annie’s Life in Lists is about a girl named Annie who moves to a tiny town called Clover Gap. She makes some friends, but she misses life in Brooklyn. The whole book really is just lists Annie makes about her life. That makes it fun to read because it is different than most books. It took me two nights to read about all of Annie’s funny and insightful lists. I would recommend this book to 8-10 year olds who like quirky characters and a peek at someone’s life how they live it.

-Review by Elliot


Endling #1: The Last Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062335524
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: HarperCollins - May 1st, 2018

The Last Endling is a fantasy novel written by Katherine Applegate. Byx, the smallest Dairne in her troop, is wandering alone in the woods when she sees a small Wobbyk being harmed. She runs to save the Wobbyk, whom she learns, goes by the name Tobble. She and Tobble are now lost together, but Byx finds her family just in time to see a terrible tragedy. Byx meets Khara, a woman disguised as a man, who helps Byx and Tobble in any way possible. This book was charming and I can see many readers enjoying it.

-Review by Nidhi, age 10


Positively Izzy Cover Image
By Terri Libenson, Terri Libenson (Illustrator)
$10.99
ISBN: 9780062484963
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Balzer & Bray/Harperteen - May 1st, 2018

Positively Izzy is a realistic fiction book by Terri Libenson. It is about two girls named Izzy and Bri. Bri is known as “The Brain.” Izzy is “The Dreamer.” When Bri’s mom makes her do a scene of a play for the talent show, she feels like it’s the end of the world. Izzy, on the other hand, is meant for the stage. But when Izzy’s grades become worse than ever, she has to make some choices that she does not like. Positively Izzy keeps you on the edge of your seat. You always want to know what happens next, and the story is immensely creative. I would recommend this book to girls ages 8-12 who are fans of Dork Diaries and Diary of a Wimpy Kid. I rate this book a 4.5 star!

-Review by Nidhi, age 10


The Last Battle Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780803740969
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Dial Books - April 10th, 2018

This is a superhero graphic novel, but with a twist: these brothers got their super powers by buying items at a yard sale that turned out to be magical. Meanwhile, this supervillain, Trench, came out of the explosion that wrecked the house where all the magical stuff came from. They thought he had gone away, but instead, Trench has been slowly trying to pit the whole town against the brothers to make it seem like they were the bad ones.
In this third book in the series, the brothers put together a team of people who all bought things from the yard sale. These secondhand superheroes work together to defeat Trench. It's very exciting and packed with action and plot. I would recommend this book to people who like superheroes, reluctant heroes and graphic novels. There is a strong girl character too so I think it's good for both girls and boys.
 
- Review by Michael, age 10 


Maggie & Abby's Neverending Pillow Fort Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062644312
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: HarperCollins - April 3rd, 2018

 Maggie has waited all summer for Abby to come back from Sleepaway Camp, but now that she is back, she wants to talk about is camp, camp and camp! But when they find out Maggie’s pillow fort is actuallya portal to other forts that have items from her house, they go on many adventures. I can see other readers enjoying this tale of magic.

 

-Review by Nidhi, age 10 


Lights, Camera, Disaster Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781338134087
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Arthur A. Levine Books - March 27th, 2018

Lights, Camera, Disaster is a realistic fiction novel by Erin M. Dionne. In this book, Hester Green, a middle school student with an Executive Function Disorder, is failing Language Arts. She gets one last chance to save her grades, but she could lose her friends and her beloved camera in the process. With parts written in script form and with Pause/Rewind/Play moments, this hilarious story will make the reader go through a series of different emotions. I give this book a 5-star!

-Review by Nidhi, age 10


Elementals: Ice Wolves Cover Image
By Amie Kaufman, Levente Szabo (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062457981
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: HarperCollins - March 27th, 2018

Ice Wolves is about Anders, an orphan who live with his sister Rayna. Everyone in the city where Anders and Rayna live shape-shifts into either an Ice Wolf or a Scorch Dragon, but families turn into the same thing. When Rayna turns into a Dragon and Anders to a Wolf, Rayna flies away. Anders enrolls at this boarding school called Ulfar Academy, hoping he will learn what he needs to find Rayna and save her. But Anders gets captured by the Dragons and starts a whole new war between the Wolves and the Dragons. I liked Ice Wolves so much I read it 3 times. I loved the words and the way they were used and how I really got to know the characters. I think that this book is so amazing because Anders has to be brave and figure out who he really is, and not just who he thinks he is. I would not change anything about this book because it was so beautifully written.

-Review by Elliot


The Phoenix Colossal Comics Collection: Volume One Cover Image
By Various
$14.99
ISBN: 9781338206791
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: David Fickling Books - March 27th, 2018

I just finished Vol. #1 and I want to read Vol. #2 RIGHT AWAY! This graphic novel contains a lot of different comics ranging from action/adventure to silly and funny, with all different styles of drawing. My favorite was "Trailblazers," which has lots of action. The characters live in an empire in space, on Nova 2, a heavily populated planet in deep space. They get into a lot of dangerous situations and have lots of high-tech weapons. This also has my favorite art. My second favorite was "Bunny vs. Monkey," which was silly but had more of a story to it. The book also had "Evil Emperor Penguin," octopuses and lots more. I'd recommend it for readers age 8-12 who live graphic novels. It has something for everyone.
 
- Review by Michael, age 10.


The Creativity Project: An Awesometastic Story Collection Cover Image
By Colby Sharp (Editor)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316507813
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - March 13th, 2018

This was a really cool book featuring a lot of good authors, illustrators and comic artists. It's like those books that give you story prompts you can use to build on. Except, this time, it's famous authors who wrote the prompts, then another one had to finish the story. It includes lots of famous names like Sherman Alexie, Kate diCamillo, Chris Grabenstein, Dav Pilkey, Dan Santat and Lemony Snicket. The result is a whole bunch of really different stories, comics and pictures. My favorite (spoiler alert!) is probably one where a man hears a dead person's voice telling him to go to the graveyard. He packs everything he needs, even chapstick - which he winds up giving to the dead person. Then when he comes back his house has burned down - the ghost has essentially saved him. I would recommend this book to middle readers, creative people and people who are interested in writing themselves. Writers will like the story prompts they can work on at the end.
 
- Review by Colleen, age 13.


The Science of Breakable Things Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781524715663
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - March 6th, 2018

The Science of Breakable Things is a realistic novel by Tae Keller. The main character, Natalie, is having a rough life. Her mom was recently diagnosed with depression, and Natalie misses the happy, chirpy mother that she used to be. When Natalie’s teacher suggests that she enters an egg drop contest, Natalie and her best friend, Twig, are determined to win the 200 dollar prize, and maybe help Natalie’s mom see the beauty of the world she lives in again. Fans of Wonder and Out of My Mind will love Natalie’s story. There are some moments where you feel like you want to cry forever, and others where you grin and laugh. I rate this book 5 stars!

-Review by Nidhi, age 10

 


The Serpent's Secret Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338185706
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Scholastic Press - February 27th, 2018

I liked how the author lead the story along, weaving the parts together.  This book seemed extremely real. The author had me on the edge of my seat! Kiran went on a journey through the land beyond 7 oceans and 13 rivers, and met some rakkosh demons (not that she wanted to!).

-Review by Elli, age 10.       


The Book of Boy Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062686206
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Greenwillow Books - February 6th, 2018

This book was pretty good, and very well written. It's set in the 1300s when relics of the saints were considered to be pretty much magic. "Boy," the main character, is a hunchback and he's bullied. Animals like him, though, and he can even talk to them. But that's not all that's special about him. (It's a secret!) Then a cranky old pilgrim takes Boy off on a journey to find relics of St. Peter, to save a damned soul. It's a little bit like Avi's Crispin and the Cross of Lead. I would recommend this to readers age 10-13 who like historical fiction.
 
- Review by Michael, age 10.


The Thrifty Guide to Ancient Rome Cover Image
$13.99
ISBN: 9780451479600
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - January 30th, 2018

 
This book was funny and exciting at the same time, with all kinds of facts about history. It made it fun to read about history.
It's written from the perspective of a future time traveler voyaging to Ancient Rome. There's lots of cool stuff included, like people to have lunch with and how to prevent yourself from being assassinated. It's also full of general history and amazing facts about the people, customs and life back then. I like how the Overlord of Time Corp. had letters interspersed in with the actual history in the book. It was hilarious. I would recommend this book for readers age 11 and up who enjoy history and humor.
 
-Review by Michael, age 10.


The Truth as Told by Mason Buttle Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062491435
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - January 23rd, 2018

Bing, Bang, Boom.  That’s what Mason’s uncle said when he had three major losses in his life.  Mason lives with his Uncle Drum, his Grandma, and this crude girl that took over Mason’s room. Mason is in seventh grade and he is constantly being picked on by two boys.  Mason has a lot of old sadness, and sadness and anxiety in his current life.  A favorite teacher of Mason’s comes up with an idea to change his life- a program called the Dragon that allows Mason to speak into the computer and it journals for him.  This changes everything for Mason. Mason, who is dyslexic wasn’t able to journal before; the paper would blur up in his face.  Now that he talks to the Dragon everyday Mason is changing. His life seems more important to himself and the reader. Maybe Mason’s life is turning around. 
 
-River, Age 10


The Last Girl on Earth Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780399552274
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Delacorte Press - January 23rd, 2018

This was a great book, with lots of suspense. It was very descriptive, with an amazing plot and believable characters, even the aliens.The story starts with a human girl, Li, who has to hide among humanoid aliens who have taken over the Earth because humans were about to destroy it. They look just like us, but they have gills. She has fake gills.One day she has to take a test to determine her future, and she gets ranked in the top percentage to be in the Abdolorean (Earth's conquerors) forces. There, she meets a guy named Ryn, an alien of course, and they have a relationship that could expose her as a human.I would recommend this story for readers age 12 and up, fans of science fiction and especially girls.
 
Review by Michael, age 10.


The Uncanny Express (the Unintentional Adventures of the Bland Sisters Book 2) Cover Image
By Kara LaReau, Jen Hill (Illustrator)
$14.99
ISBN: 9781419725685
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Amulet Books - January 9th, 2018

This is a fast-paced, interesting and fun second book in the Bland Sisters series.The two sisters, Jaundice and Kale, are more boring than you could possibly imagine, but they keep going on unexpected adventures and they learn to like excitement despite themselves In this book, they're asked to meet their aunt, who is arriving by train. She sweeps them into investigating the mystery of a disappearing magician. Then there's the continuing mystery of their parents, whom they've never met.
I'd recommend this book to readers age 9-12, especially fans of the first book.
 
- Review by Michael, age 10


The Last Gargoyle Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781524700201
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Crown Books for Young Readers - January 9th, 2018

This is a great story, exciting and suspenseful, with a whole bunch of very individual and believable characters. Penhallow, a stone grotesque – don't call him a gargoyle – protects the living from Netherkin, undead people who have not moved on to The Next Place. There are some big surprises as the book goes on, and it really keeps you reading. I'd recommend the book for readers age 10 and up who enjoy fantasy, especially the Bartimaeus books by Jonathan Stroud.

Review by Michael, age 10.


The Lost Rainforest: Mez's Magic Cover Image
By Eliot Schrefer, Emilia Dziubak (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062491077
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - January 2nd, 2018

This book is a wonderful start to a series. I enjoyed this book because the author pieced the story together like a puzzle. I especially liked it because I am a fan of animal characters. I am looking forward to his next book! 

By Elli, 10 years old


Supergifted Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062563842
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Balzer & Bray/Harperteen - January 2nd, 2018

Supergifted is the sequel to Gordon Korman's book, Ungifted. Ungifted is about a kid named Donovan Curtis who is mistakenly chosen to go to an academy for gifted kids. He learns more about himself, and what it takes to be gifted. Meanwhile, Noah Youkillis, one of the top students at the Academy, wishes that he could be an average student with average grades. He realizes that Donovan could be the ticket to being normal. Supergifted is about Noah’s time at Hardcastle Middle School. He runs into some social problems, and Donovan is always by his side. While going to a bully’s house to fight back, Noah and Donovan notice an out-of-control truck. Donovan saves the house that the truck was about to crash into, but Noah ends up being the famous ‘Superkid’ who saved the house and the people in it. Along with this, the Academy Robotics team robot goes haywire and messes up in front of the governor. Supergifted is full of suspense, and always keeps you on the edge of your seat. I would recommend this book to all kids ages 8-12 who love realistic fiction. I give it a 4.5 star!

- Nidhi, age 10


March Forward, Girl: From Young Warrior to Little Rock Nine Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781328882127
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Houghton Mifflin - January 2nd, 2018

March Forward, Girl Is an autobiography of Melba Pattillo Beals, an African American child during the time of segregation. As a child, she always wondered why she, her mother, her grandmother, her father, her brother, and all other black people didn’t get the privileges of the white people. What had they done to make whites think they weren’t equal human beings? Melba was determined to change the way white people thought. March Forward, Girl makes you want to read until the end, and you learn so much about equality along with Melba. I would recommend this book to anyone, especially girls, ages 10-14. I loved this book!! I give it a 5 star!

-Review by Nidhi, age 10


Just Like Jackie Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062652911
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperCollins - January 2nd, 2018

This is a meaning full story that touches the heart! Robinson is not like anyone else, her name is not even close to anyone else. Yet she is still a proud and confident girl that would do anything for her grandpa. Even though Robinson grandpa is not the same color as her, he still is her world and she is his. When Grandpa starts forgetting the smallest things Robinson is hit hard. She has to pick up all the work and act like everything is fine, everything is not fine. As her Grandpa gets worse Robinson starts to worry. She has no clue about anyone else in her family and only Grandpa knows! When a family tree school project comes up Robinson is mad! The school guidance counselor puts together a group to finish the project Robinson comes to realize that not everything is as it seems! This book really touches close to the heart. I did not want to put it down. The detail makes the story even better than before. I give this book a 4 1/2 stars out of 5. I rate this book for kids 9-13 for it's detail and message.

review by Kathleen


Love Sugar Magic: A Dash of Trouble Cover Image
By Anna Meriano, Mirelle Ortega (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062498465
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Walden Pond Press - January 2nd, 2018

Love Sugar Magic is a fantasy book written by Anna Meriano. It is about girl named Leo whose parents own a spanish bakery. All 4 of her older sisters are also allowed to work at the bakery, and Leo is sick of being left out. The day before a big festival, Leo spies on the bakery. While she is there, she learns something special: her sisters and Mama are Mexican witches, brujas. She knows that she has powers too. When her best friend is having some troubles, she tries to use magic to fix them, but things go terribly wrong. I would recommend this book to girls ages 7-11 who like magic. This magical world has a very different vibe than most witchcraft and wizardry books, but you can feel what Leo is feeling. I give this book 5 stars!

-Review by Nidhi, age 10


The Lost Frost Girl Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062671486
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - November 7th, 2017

The Lost Frost Girl has made it into my top three favorite books! It's a book with elementals, the mystical realms of nature, and a magical tween named Owl. As the story progresses, Owl tries to control her powers and take after her father, Jack Frost. When it becomes too much, her friend Avery, who is the son of the Earl of October and has autumn controlling powers, takes her to Jack Frost's winter realm to try to get him to help her to obtain both her human and magical sides equally. I loved this story because it had fantasy but also seemed very realistic in describing everyday life. It has suspense, magic, nature's seasons, and a literally magical family. Anybody who likes stories about family, difference, the natural magic in the world, loyal friendship, and a whole lot of conflict would love this book. I hope they make a sequel!     

-Review by Katherine , Age 10


Timeless: Diego and the Rangers of the Vastlantic Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780062402363
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - October 10th, 2017

This book was AMAZING!!! I finished it in less than two days because I didn't want to put it down. There are robots and people who can fix anything perfectly. I liked the huge battle because there were torpedoes and bombs and fighter jets. The story started with a small fight because they discovered a new species of dinosaurs.

-Review by Brenden, age 8


Kid Authors: True Tales of Childhood from Famous Writers Cover Image
By David Stabler, Doogie Horner (Illustrator)
$13.95
ISBN: 9781594749872
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Quirk Books - October 10th, 2017

Have you ever wondered what your favorite authors were like as a kid? Well, Kid Authors takes you on great adventures through all of your favorite authors childhood stories. This book started out with JRR Tolkien and ended with Jeff Kinney, with so many great, classy, super cool, awesome, incredible stories in between.  My favorite author was Lucy Maud Montgomery.  The reason I liked her childhood story was because she had two half brothers and they had such a merry time telling ghost stories.  One night they even saw one and it was pretty incredible! After Kid Authors I cannot wait to get into the series.

-Review by River, Age 10


The Audition Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781481486361
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Aladdin Paperbacks - October 31st, 2017

I just read the book The Audition, and I thought it was fabulous! The book is about a girl named Harper who try's out for some select team and gets on the team. She is soon faced with challenges like bullying, difficult dances, and a viral video that could ruin her ego fast. I really enjoyed this book because I thought that it taught young girls like me some important life lessons, and Harper is such an inspiration. This book is good for ages 9-12

-review by Jordan age 11


The Princess Imposter Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781338121476
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Press - October 10th, 2017

  I loved this book! It was fantasy, with both kind and selfish characters.  There were two main characters, Princess Gabriella and Phleg the woodland fairy. At the beginning of the story Gabriella wakes up on a pile of straw in a strange room, much unlike her own huge bedroom with a feather bed at her father's palace (Phleg takes her place as a changeling). Gabriella does not freak out like I would, instead she slowly sits up and asks who the 11 fairy children are and where she is. I cannot believe how calm she is! What I liked best about this story were its magic elements, fairy families, intriguing princess ways, tales of the fairy and human cultures, and last but not least.... its fantastic characters. Anyone who loves stories about the magical realms of the world would enjoy this book.
 

-Review by Katherine, Age 10


The Chocopocalypse Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781524719159
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Delacorte Press - October 10th, 2017

 I thought the book The Chocopocalypse was unbelievably good. This book reminded me a lot of the book Demon Dentist because the illustrations are just as whimsical and the story line was very similar. I enjoyed the book because it taught younger girls to stand up for what you believe. Jelly Wellington is an outstanding role model for girls around the ages of 7-9. I loved this book. This is a very clever novel and I can't believe this author hasn't written anymore novels before this. I would recommend this book for ages 7-9.

review by Jordan, age 11


Wishtree Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250043221
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Feiwel & Friends - September 26th, 2017

I thought Wishtree was such a heart-warming book. In some spots, I was on the verge of tears. This book is different than other books because instead of centering around a human or animal, it centers around a tree. This tree is named Red, and most people don't know that this tree has been in her neighborhood for centuries. The reason its been here so long is it's not the usual neighborhood tree. People ever year on the first of May will tie a wish on each of Red's branches and hope that it comes true. This year though, there's some drama going on. A girl named Samar, who is Muslim, moves into a house right next to Red. Red's happy she's there, but not everyone is. I thought this book was original, and Katherine Applegate did an amazing job. If I wanted to, I could read this book a million times and not get tired of it. It makes a lot of twist and turns and one moment you're happy, the next you're sad. I loved this book!

--Review by Jordan, age 11