Kid's Advisory Board Reviews

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Last Battle Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780803740969
Availability: Not Yet Published
Published: Dial Books - April 10th, 2018

This is a superhero graphic novel, but with a twist: these brothers got their super powers by buying items at a yard sale that turned out to be magical. Meanwhile, this supervillain, Trench, came out of the explosion that wrecked the house where all the magical stuff came from. They thought he had gone away, but instead, Trench has been slowly trying to pit the whole town against the brothers to make it seem like they were the bad ones.
In this third book in the series, the brothers put together a team of people who all bought things from the yard sale. These secondhand superheroes work together to defeat Trench. It's very exciting and packed with action and plot. I would recommend this book to people who like superheroes, reluctant heroes and graphic novels. There is a strong girl character too so I think it's good for both girls and boys.
 
- Review by Michael, age 9. 


The Phoenix Colossal Comics Collection: Volume One Cover Image
By Various
$14.99
ISBN: 9781338206791
Availability: Not Yet Published
Published: David Fickling Books - March 27th, 2018

 
I just finished Vol. #1 and I want to read Vol. #2 RIGHT AWAY! This graphic novel contains a lot of different comics ranging from action/adventure to silly and funny, with all different styles of drawing. My favorite was "Trailblazers," which has lots of action. The characters live in an empire in space, on Nova 2, a heavily populated planet in deep space. They get into a lot of dangerous situations and have lots of high-tech weapons. This also has my favorite art. My second favorite was "Bunny vs. Monkey," which was silly but had more of a story to it. The book also had "Evil Emperor Penguin," octopuses and lots more. I'd recommend it for readers age 8-12 who live graphic novels. It has something for everyone.
 
- Review by Michael, age 9.


The Truth as Told by Mason Buttle Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062491435
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - January 23rd, 2018

Bing, Bang, Boom.  That’s what Mason’s uncle said when he had three major losses in his life.  Mason lives with his Uncle Drum, his Grandma, and this crude girl that took over Mason’s room. Mason is in seventh grade and he is constantly being picked on by two boys.  Mason has a lot of old sadness, and sadness and anxiety in his current life.  A favorite teacher of Mason’s comes up with an idea to change his life- a program called the Dragon that allows Mason to speak into the computer and it journals for him.  This changes everything for Mason. Mason, who is dyslexic wasn’t able to journal before; the paper would blur up in his face.  Now that he talks to the Dragon everyday Mason is changing. His life seems more important to himself and the reader. Maybe Mason’s life is turning around. 
 
-River, Age 10


Just Like Jackie Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062652911
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: HarperCollins - January 2nd, 2018

This is a meaning full story that touches the heart! Robinson is not like anyone else, her name is not even close to anyone else. Yet she is still a proud and confident girl that would do anything for her grandpa. Even though Robinson grandpa is not the same color as her, he still is her world and she is his. When Grandpa starts forgetting the smallest things Robinson is hit hard. She has to pick up all the work and act like everything is fine, everything is not fine. As her Grandpa gets worse Robinson starts to worry. She has no clue about anyone else in her family and only Grandpa knows! When a family tree school project comes up Robinson is mad! The school guidance counselor puts together a group to finish the project Robinson comes to realize that not everything is as it seems! This book really touches close to the heart. I did not want to put it down. The detail makes the story even better than before. I give this book a 4 1/2 stars out of 5. I rate this book for kids 9-13 for it's detail and message.

review by Kathleen


The Lost Frost Girl Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062671486
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - November 7th, 2017

 

   The Lost Frost Girl has made it into my top three favorite books! It's a book with elementals, the mystical realms of nature, and a magical tween named Owl. As the story progresses, Owl tries to control her powers and take after her father, Jack Frost. When it becomes too much, her friend Avery, who is the son of the Earl of October and has autumn controlling powers, takes her to Jack Frost's winter realm to try to get him to help her to obtain both her human and magical sides equally. I loved this story because it had fantasy but also seemed very realistic in describing everyday life. It has suspense, magic, nature's seasons, and a literally magical family. Anybody who likes stories about family, difference, the natural magic in the world, loyal friendship, and a whole lot of conflict would love this book. I hope they make a sequel!     

-Review by Katherine , Age 10


The Witch Boy Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781338089516
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graphix - October 31st, 2017

Have you ever imagined that magic was real and people could do sorcery? Well, The Witch Boy is a wonderful story about a boy named Astor. Astor's family has magic passed down for generations.  The magic is separated between the boys and the girls; girls are witches and boys are shape shifters.  But Astor cannot find an animal that will give him its power.  So instead, he does witchery and has to save his cousins from the demons that lurk in the woods.  The Witch Boy is very intense, similar to The Brothers Grimm.  Therefore, I would recommend this book to ages 10 and up.

-Reveiw by River, age 10


Timeless: Diego and the Rangers of the Vastlantic Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780062402363
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - October 10th, 2017

This book was AMAZING!!! I finished it in less than two days because I didn't want to put it down. There are robots and people who can fix anything perfectly. I liked the huge battle because there were torpedoes and bombs and fighter jets. The story started with a small fight because they discovered a new species of dinosaurs.

-Review by Brenden, age 8


Kid Authors: True Tales of Childhood from Famous Writers Cover Image
By David Stabler, Doogie Horner (Illustrator)
$13.95
ISBN: 9781594749872
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Quirk Books - October 10th, 2017

Have you ever wondered what your favorite authors were like as a kid? Well, Kid Authors takes you on great adventures through all of your favorite authors childhood stories. This book started out with JRR Tolkien and ended with Jeff Kinney, with so many great, classy, super cool, awesome, incredible stories in between.  My favorite author was Lucy Maud Montgomery.  The reason I liked her childhood story was because she had two half brothers and they had such a merry time telling ghost stories.  One night they even saw one and it was pretty incredible! After Kid Authors I cannot wait to get into the series.

-Review by River, Age 10


The Audition Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781481486361
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Aladdin Paperbacks - October 31st, 2017

I just read the book The Audition, and I thought it was fabulous! The book is about a girl named Harper who try's out for some select team and gets on the team. She is soon faced with challenges like bullying, difficult dances, and a viral video that could ruin her ego fast. I really enjoyed this book because I thought that it taught young girls like me some important life lessons, and Harper is such an inspiration. This book is good for ages 9-12

-review by Jordan age 11


Team Bff: Race to the Finish! #2 Cover Image
By Stacia Deutsch, Reshma Saujani (Foreword by)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780399542527
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Workshop - October 31st, 2017

I like the lesson of trust your friends and teammates that Sophia taught us.  The girls had great ideas for the Code-A-Thon.  And the ending was really funny. 

 

review by Elli, 9 years old


The Princess Imposter Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781338121476
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Press - October 10th, 2017

  I loved this book! It was fantasy, with both kind and selfish characters.  There were two main characters, Princess Gabriella and Phleg the woodland fairy. At the beginning of the story Gabriella wakes up on a pile of straw in a strange room, much unlike her own huge bedroom with a feather bed at her father's palace (Phleg takes her place as a changeling). Gabriella does not freak out like I would, instead she slowly sits up and asks who the 11 fairy children are and where she is. I cannot believe how calm she is! What I liked best about this story were its magic elements, fairy families, intriguing princess ways, tales of the fairy and human cultures, and last but not least.... its fantastic characters. Anyone who loves stories about the magical realms of the world would enjoy this book.
 

-Review by Katherine, Age 10


The Chocopocalypse Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781524719159
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Delacorte Press - October 10th, 2017

 I thought the book The Chocopocalypse was unbelievably good. This book reminded me a lot of the book Demon Dentist because the illustrations are just as whimsical and the story line was very similar. I enjoyed the book because it taught younger girls to stand up for what you believe. Jelly Wellington is an outstanding role model for girls around the ages of 7-9. I loved this book. This is a very clever novel and I can't believe this author hasn't written anymore novels before this. I would recommend this book for ages 7-9.

review by Jordan, age 11


I'm Just No Good at Rhyming: And Other Nonsense for Mischievous Kids and Immature Grown-Ups Cover Image
By Chris Harris, Lane Smith (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9780316266574
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - September 26th, 2017

This book was surprisingly good. A lot of it was silly, but parts of it also made me think. The poems are about stuff people don't usually write poems about, from the number 8 to an argument between kids who keep finishing each-other's sentences. I loved "The Valleys Shape the Mountains" the best. It's actually really meaningful, and it also has a really good rhythm. I made it into a song so I could memorize it and recorded it for my grandpa. I also loved "Nothing is Impossible," which is really funny, a paradox in words. The unfair riddles were also really funny and the whole thing was very creative. I would recommend this to people who love poetry, or even for people who don't think they do. It's best for elementary schoolers but there's something there for everyone.

- Review by Michael, age 9.


Wishtree Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250043221
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Feiwel & Friends - September 26th, 2017

I thought Wishtree was such a heart-warming book. In some spots, I was on the verge of tears. This book is different than other books because instead of centering around a human or animal, it centers around a tree. This tree is named Red, and most people don't know that this tree has been in her neighborhood for centuries. The reason its been here so long is it's not the usual neighborhood tree. People ever year on the first of May will tie a wish on each of Red's branches and hope that it comes true. This year though, there's some drama going on. A girl named Samar, who is Muslim, moves into a house right next to Red. Red's happy she's there, but not everyone is. I thought this book was original, and Katherine Applegate did an amazing job. If I wanted to, I could read this book a million times and not get tired of it. It makes a lot of twist and turns and one moment you're happy, the next you're sad. I loved this book!

--Review by Jordan, age 11


The Care and Feeding of a Pet Black Hole Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780399539138
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dial Books - September 12th, 2017

At first I was unsure about how much I'd like this book, but it got pretty interesting. It wasn't just some metaphoric title. Stellas's dad is dead and she's trying to persuade NASA to send a recording of her dad's laugh into space. She doesn't convince them, but a black hole follows her home. At first, she has second thoughts and then she goes out and tries to save the little guy. It's a really small black hole. It does have a problem, though. It keeps absorbing things. That can be good because she can put bad things inside, but when it accidentally swallows her dog, she has to go in to save the dog. I would recommend this book to readers age 9-12 who like books which are a combination of serious and silly, as well as science fiction fans.

- Review by Michael, age 9.


Chasing Augustus Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780385754019
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers - September 19th, 2017

Rosie has a hard time being nice to those who are not nice to her.  She doesn’t understand sticks and stones.  The lesson of the story is to keep trying.  4th and 5th graders would both like this book, maybe even 3rd graders.  Rosie has a very nice attachment to her dog.

Review by Elli, 9 years old


The Dreadful Tale of Prosper Redding Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781484778173
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Disney-Hyperion - September 5th, 2017

This book was really great. I read it in two days and I can't wait for the next one! The story mixes hilarious middle school humor with suspense and magic, featuring dark witches of the Salem variety and other supernaturals. Prosper comes from an old, well-established family. Recently, he found out why his family is so prosperous: his ancestor made a pact with a demon, and broke the pact. Now, 300 years later, the bill has come due and Prosper has to pay it. The demon inhabits his body and simultaneously tries to get him to enter into a new pact. Meanwhile, Prosper's family thinks he is beyond saving and is plotting to kill him to rid themselves of the demon. I would recommend this story for readers age 10 and up, especially fans of dark fantasy.

- Review by Colleen, age 12


Absolutely Alfie and the Furry, Purry Secret Cover Image
By Sally Warner, Shearry Malone (Illustrator)
$5.99
ISBN: 9781101999882
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Puffin Books - August 29th, 2017

I like the lesson taught in this book, ask permission before you do things.  I also like the main character Alfie because of her personality.  She is a very brave and loyal person.  Siblings, while annoying, can be very helpful and Alfie’s brother helps her realize the lesson in this book.  The ending was very surprising.

-Review by Elli, age 9


Ruby Starr Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781492645771
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Sourcebooks Jabberwocky - August 1st, 2017

I think that this book is very good because Ruby learns a big lesson. The lesson is don’t judge a person, or book, by its cover.  Ruby loves books but when a new girl comes to town she gets a little jealous.  Ruby has a large imagination and uses it to solve some of her problems. Deborah makes me feel like I am there with Ruby.  Ruby is a very determined person.

-Review by Elli, age 9


Lucky Broken Girl Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780399546440
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Nancy Paulsen Books - April 11th, 2017

This was probably my one of my favorite books I ever read. It was about a girl named Ruthie who just moved to Queens, in New York City, from Cuba. Ruthie and her family had many new things to get used to. For example, new jobs, new school, and especially new language. On the way home from her Baba's house her dad gets in an accident. This book is about how Ruthie and her family push through this situation. Ruthie is a brave, confident girl. I recommend this book for girls age 8 to 10 and to girls who need help pushing through a hard situation.

-Review by Andie