Kid's Advisory Board Reviews

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

What Not to Do If You Turn Invisible Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780399551529
Availability: Not Yet Published
Published: Schwartz & Wade Books - October 9th, 2018

I loved Ross Welford's Time Traveling with a Hamster and couldn't wait for his next book. What Not to Do If You Turn Invisible was just as good as the previous book. It was really interesting and deep: it made you think. It starts with Ethel waking up invisible, then goes back to explain all of the events that led up to it. Ethel had really bad acne and was teased about it at school, so she bought this weird "Skin So Clear" medicine online and took it every day. It has an unexpected side effect, though - not only does her acne disappear, but so does she! Her clothes remain visible, so if she wants to sneak around, she has to take them off. The effect is only temporary - until one day it's not. Ethel's mom is dead and she has to deal with that, and her dad is somewhere far away, like New Zealand. Meanwhile, Ethel meets this guy Elliot Boyd. He's loud and bumptious and big and he gets teased at school too. His nickname is "Smelliot." He gets involved in the story too, but I probably shouldn't give away too much of the plot. I would recommend this to readers age 9 and up, not just science fiction fans but general fiction fans as well.

 

- Review by Michael, age 10.


Case Closed: Mystery in the Mansion Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062676276
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - August 14th, 2018

This was a really great book, more complicated than I expected. It's like an old-fashioned choose-your-own adventure, with added clues, puzzles and riddles to figure out as you try to solve the mystery. It's fun to go through all of the different paths and see what happened in all the different scenarios. The plot starts out with the main character, Carlos, living in kind of bad conditions with his mom, who runs a failing detective agency. They're not getting any cases and not getting any money coming in. They finally get a case, but his mom is sick and her partner is out on a different case, so Carlos takes over. The reader gets to choose the path that you take. Sometimes it leads to a dead end, so it's smart to mark your place so you can go back to where you were and figure it out from there. I would recommend this to mystery fans age 9 and up and people who like choose-your-own adventures.
 
- Review by Michael, age 10


Estranged Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062653864
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: HarperCollins - August 7th, 2018

This was a really great graphic novel with a fast-paced story and great art. It's about two changelings. The human was stolen by the fay and taken to live in their underground realm. The fay changeling is growing up in the regular human world. Both wind up wrapped up in an adventure in the fay world, along with their human sister, who learns the truth about her family and is willing to accept both of them as her brothers. It's a really good story and I would recommend it to people who like adventure graphic novels and books like The Spiderwick Chronicles by Holly Black.

- Review by Michael, age 10.


Courage Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062561657
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: HarperCollins - July 31st, 2018

Courage is a realistic fiction novel by Barbara Binns. T’Shawn, the main character, is shocked when his mother decides that his older brother, Lamont, who has been in jail for the past 3 years, should come home again. After his father’s death, Lamont ran away from the homeless shelter that he and his family lived in. T’Shawn was heartbroken, but knew it wasn’t right. Now, he’s a part of a worshipped diving team where everyone is scared of his brother. Now, he’s wondering whether or not he should trust the boy who he once looked up to. Readers of The Crossover and Wonder will love this spectacular story of love and family. Courage is a MUST READ!

- Review by Nidhi, age 10


Fly to the Rescue (Tiny Geniuses #1) (Pocket Geniuses #1) Cover Image
$4.99
ISBN: 9780545909518
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Scholastic Paperbacks - July 31st, 2018

 
This was a very interesting book. The main character keeps getting bad grades and his mom is threatening to pull him out of baseball. If he gets a good grade on his science project, though, he can stay in baseball. So he tries very hard, but it isn't going well. Then he visits the school's "lucky wishing well." It's known if you give it your most prized possession, you'll get a wish. The main character gives up something - not his most prized possession but something special nonetheless - his aunt's present to him: Heroes of History action figures. He wishes for better grades, and everything goes haywire. He ends up with "Pocket Geniuses" instead. It was an easy, fast read. I'd recommend it to readers 7-10.
 
Review by Michael, age 10


To Pluto and Beyond Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781101997017
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - July 17th, 2018

This book had a lot of informational on an interesting topic: the spacecraft that's going to travel to Pluto and on out of our solar system. There are lots of people who want to know about outer space, so this should be interesting to many readers. The book includes information on the spacecraft itself, the people who made it and how it was made, and then it also includes information on Pluto itself. I thought it was pretty cool.
I would recommend it to fans of space, future astronauts and people who want to know the latest news about space exploration, ages 9 and up.
 
Review by Michael, age 10. 


The Strays Like Us Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781338043006
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Scholastic Press - June 26th, 2018

Fred was having a normal day until she had to leave school early. She had to go to some place where she was going to be told something that happened involving her mom. Turns out, her mom’s in jail, which means that Fred has to stay with a strong-looking woman named Margery. While staying with Margery, Fred notices a dog that is tied to a pole with no food or water. Toby only has half of one of his ears, and his howls of sadness speak to Fred. Suddenly, there’s an accident involving the man who owns Toby, and Fred’s life changes dramatically. I enjoyed this book thoroughly, and I recommend it to anyone who wants a story of family and friendship. Everyone will be able to relate to Fred’s story. I give this book 5 stars!

- Review by Nidhi, age 10


Mr. Wolf's Class Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781338047684
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Graphix - June 26th, 2018

I read this whole graphic novel in one sitting. It was funny and fast-paced. It's about the first day of school in a normal fourth-grade classroom - except that all of the students and the teacher are animals. Also, they're not very well-behaved. They're a lot less responsible than the kids in my school. Otherwise, it's pretty realistic, with lots of real-life humor. Technically, the main character is Mr. Wolf, but everybody has their part to play. I liked the art and the story and am glad to find out there's goiing to be another book. I'd recommend this for general interest readers age 7-10.
 
- Review by Michael, age 10


Otis and Will Discover the Deep: The Record-Setting Dive of the Bathysphere Cover Image
By Barb Rosenstock, Katherine Roy (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780316393829
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - June 5th, 2018

This was a very interesting true story about the invention and the first trial run of the bathysphere, which allowed humans to go deep into the ocean and see all of the life down there. Otis and Will were working on the idea separately, and one of them figured out the original design, a long tube, wouldn't work because the water pressure was so high down there. He came up with the idea of a spherical chamber. Eventually they wound up working together. I had no idea about the problems they faced, like leaks, sparks and tangled cords - or even the difficulty they had squeezing two six-foot guys into a tiny sphere. This picture book is written for young kids, but I think people of all ages could learn something from it. And the illustrations are magnificent.
 
- Review by Michael, age 10.


Wild Rescuers: Guardians of the Taiga Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062796370
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: HarperCollins - June 5th, 2018

This book was wonderful because it was just the type of story that I love.  Both adventurous and dramatic.  I enjoyed all of the animals in the story.  I would recommend it for 3rd through 6th grade.

 

Review By Elli, 10 years old


Heartseeker Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781524740009
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - June 5th, 2018

Heartseeker is a fantasy story written by Melinda Beatty. Only Fallow has always lived in a small rural area with her Non, Mama, Papa, and her brothers Jon and Ether. She knows that she has a special talent, a ‘cunning.’ Only can see lies, beautiful as a kaleidoscope. But telling lies is harmful to her, almost deadly. When the King finds out about her talent, Only is whisked away from her home in the small quiet orchard to go work for him in the bustling village of Bellskeep. Her favorite brother, Jon, has run away with an army that is attacking Bellskeep. Now, Only has to either risk her own life to stop Jon and get him home, or she has to let the King destroy the army, and along with it, Jon. This book gave me the chills at times, but also made me smile. Heartseeker is a great book for any reader wanting a story of love, family, and friendship, since there are both strong male and strong female characters. I love this book, and I think you will too!

-Review by Nidhi, age 10


Bites Back #2 (Project: Terra #2) Cover Image
By Landry Q. Walker, Keith Zoo (Illustrator)
$13.99
ISBN: 9780515157949
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Penguin Workshop - June 5th, 2018

This book was fantastic, even better than the first book in the series. Elara, the main character, heads back to school for her second year and expects to return to the beautiful planet where she went to school before, but instead her old school is closed for some unknown reason and she's sent to a huge spaceship.Then weird things keep happening, like plants growing in her room when she wakes up. None of her friends believes her, and everything is controlled by a mysterious watchman who never takes his mask off. Elara has to figure out how all these things fit together.The series is very creative, different than anything else I've ever read, and it also has some great humor. I'd recommend it to science fiction fans age 9 and up, especially people who liked the first book.
 
- Review by Michael, age 10.


Confusion Is Nothing New Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781338209990
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Scholastic Press - May 29th, 2018

Ellie has never talked to or even met her mom, Wilma ‘Korkie’ Korkenderfer. Ellie never knew anything about her mom, since her dad refused to talk about Wilma whenever the subject was brought up. Now, Ellie finds out that her mother is dead, and she is determined to find out more about her mother, and she needs help from her friends. Along with that, she ended up throwing her expensive glockenspiel at her band teacher, ending up with an online video and a new band teacher. This is a story that was full of love and of course, confusion, but Ellie always made you laugh at her attitude about all the different scenarios she goes through. Whether it’s about knocking over a statue in a graveyard, or finding that her old band teacher wasn’t who she thought he was, this book will make you smile.

-Review by Nidhi, age 10


Annie's Life in Lists Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781524765095
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers - May 29th, 2018

Annie’s Life in Lists is about a girl named Annie who moves to a tiny town called Clover Gap. She makes some friends, but she misses life in Brooklyn. The whole book really is just lists Annie makes about her life. That makes it fun to read because it is different than most books. It took me two nights to read about all of Annie’s funny and insightful lists. I would recommend this book to 8-10 year olds who like quirky characters and a peek at someone’s life how they live it.

-Review by Elliot


Float Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062803764
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: HarperCollins - May 29th, 2018

In this book there are kids with RISK factors.  That means they can do really weird stuff. (Reoccurring Incidents of the Strange Kind) I think it is important that Emerson floats because it leads to the chain of events that happen.  I enjoyed this book because of a lot of cool adventures and strange things that they do. 

-Review by Elli, 10 years old


Two Dogs in a Trench Coat Go to School, Book 1 Cover Image
By Julie Falatko, Colin Jack (Illustrator)
$9.99
ISBN: 9781338189513
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Scholastic Inc. - May 29th, 2018

This book was okay.  I enjoyed the funny parts and how it was from the dogs perspective. I especially liked the parts when Waldo and Sassy got completely distracted by squirrels.  The author used a lot of detail and it was hilarious.

 

Review By Elli, 10 years old


The Penderwicks at Last Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780385755665
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers - May 15th, 2018

This is the 5th book in The Penderwicks series. In book one, the young Penderwicks travel to an extraordinary place called Arundel. They make a new friend, and also a new enemy. Now, the Penderwicks are grown up and have 2 more siblings. They are back at Arundel, but this time, it’s for a wedding! This story is seen from the youngest Penderwick’s eyes, Lydia. Read this book and go on fun adventures with Lydia and her new friend Alice! This book is an exciting novel with a message. You will be thrilled to learn who’s wedding they are going for, and learn more about the Penderwick family that we love.

-Review by Nidhi, age 10


Calling All Minds: How to Think and Create Like an Inventor Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781524738204
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Philomel Books - May 15th, 2018

This book was very scientific, but very interesting. It included lots of stories about people in history who created inventions that are used today. It also included 25 experiments for kids to do. It's a nice mix, I'd say. I liked the experiments the best.Out of the stories, I liked Temple Grandin's own story the best. It was really cool. I would recommend this book for kids who really like science and want to know how inventions work.
 
-Review by Michael, age 10


Al Capone Throws Me a Curve (Tales from Alcatraz) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781101938133
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Wendy Lamb Books - May 8th, 2018

Al Capone Throws Me a Curve is about a boy named Moose who lives on Alcatraz Island in 1936. Moose is a (somewhat) happy kid who lives with his mom, dad, and his sister Natalie.  Natalie has classic autism.  Things are hard for Moose’s family, especially for Moose.  He has been assigned a task to take care of the warden’s daughter; she is untrustworthy and is going to ruin his summer.  Moose only has a few days of school left before summer break. He takes the ferry across San Francisco Bay to High School, where he is a freshman. He really wants to play on the school Baseball team, but the captain won’t let him. Unless.. Moose can get a picture of himself with Al Capone.
 
-Review by River, Age 10


Endling: The Last Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062335524
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: HarperCollins - May 1st, 2018

The Last Endling is a fantasy novel written by Katherine Applegate. Byx, the smallest Dairne in her troop, is wandering alone in the woods when she sees a small Wobbyk being harmed. She runs to save the Wobbyk, whom she learns, goes by the name Tobble. She and Tobble are now lost together, but Byx finds her family just in time to see a terrible tragedy. Byx meets Khara, a woman disguised as a man, who helps Byx and Tobble in any way possible. This book was charming and I can see many readers enjoying it.

-Review by Nidhi, age 10


The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781524767570
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - May 1st, 2018

Ever since she was struck by lightning, Lightning Girl, a.k.a. Lucy, has college level math skills at age 12. She has been home schooled ever since then but now Lucy's grandmother insists that she has to go to middle school for 1 year and make 1 friend. This book made me cry happy tears and sad tears. Once you read this book you will realize that her life was definitely not a piece of pi. 

-Review by Avry, age 11 


Positively Izzy Cover Image
By Terri Libenson, Terri Libenson (Illustrator)
$10.99
ISBN: 9780062484963
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Balzer & Bray/Harperteen - May 1st, 2018

Positively Izzy is a realistic fiction book by Terri Libenson. It is about two girls named Izzy and Bri. Bri is known as “The Brain.” Izzy is “The Dreamer.” When Bri’s mom makes her do a scene of a play for the talent show, she feels like it’s the end of the world. Izzy, on the other hand, is meant for the stage. But when Izzy’s grades become worse than ever, she has to make some choices that she does not like. Positively Izzy keeps you on the edge of your seat. You always want to know what happens next, and the story is immensely creative. I would recommend this book to girls ages 8-12 who are fans of Dork Diaries and Diary of a Wimpy Kid. I rate this book a 4.5 star!

-Review by Nidhi, age 10


Ghost Boys Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316262286
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - April 17th, 2018

The book Ghost Boys was really good. I personally liked it because the author really brought out my emotions in certain parts. The story’s about an African American boy named Jerome who is wrongly shot by a police officer, and becomes a ghost. From there, he’s able to see the world react around his death. I also liked how the story was laid out.  It skips around in time from before and after he was killed, offering more details surrounding his death.  In one chapter, he’s alive and the next he’s dead. It kind of goes like this until it gets to the part where he’s dead in the present, and in the past. I would recommend this novel to people who want to learn more about racism and how it’s affecting the way we view things and treat people.

-Review by Jacoby, age 11


The Last Battle (Secondhand Heroes #3) Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780803740969
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dial Books - April 10th, 2018

This is a superhero graphic novel, but with a twist: these brothers got their super powers by buying items at a yard sale that turned out to be magical. Meanwhile, this supervillain, Trench, came out of the explosion that wrecked the house where all the magical stuff came from. They thought he had gone away, but instead, Trench has been slowly trying to pit the whole town against the brothers to make it seem like they were the bad ones.
In this third book in the series, the brothers put together a team of people who all bought things from the yard sale. These secondhand superheroes work together to defeat Trench. It's very exciting and packed with action and plot. I would recommend this book to people who like superheroes, reluctant heroes and graphic novels. There is a strong girl character too so I think it's good for both girls and boys.
 
- Review by Michael, age 10 


Maggie & Abby's Neverending Pillow Fort Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062644312
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperCollins - April 3rd, 2018

 Maggie has waited all summer for Abby to come back from Sleepaway Camp, but now that she is back, she wants to talk about is camp, camp and camp! But when they find out Maggie’s pillow fort is actuallya portal to other forts that have items from her house, they go on many adventures. I can see other readers enjoying this tale of magic.

 

-Review by Nidhi, age 10 


The Disappearing Spoon: And Other True Tales of Rivalry, Adventure, and the History of the World from the Periodic Table of the Elements Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316388283
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - April 3rd, 2018

I'd give this book a high thumbs up. It described a lot of really interesting elements and included some crazy stories about science that most people would find quite amazing. It also had a lot of history on different elements, like how different countries battled it out to be the first to discover a certain element. I enjoyed reading about how these atoms work and the things that happen due to the physics of the elements. The book spectacularly relayed a lot of interesting stories about science. It's complicated but fascinating. I would recommend this book for people who are into learning the details behind science - it's perfect for motivated readers age 9 and up.
 
- Review by Michael, age 10.


Rebound Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780544868137
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Houghton Mifflin - April 2nd, 2018

Rebound is the prequel to the book The Crossover. Charlie is upset. One day, his father suddenly passed away, leaving him and his mother alone. Charlie starts becoming angry, and his mother decides that she should send him to Washington D.C., where he can stay with his grandparents for the summer. So next thing he knows, he is forced to leave his friends and go to a place where he hasn’t visited for a long time. There, he meets an annoying cousin, runs into his best friend, and makes a mistake that lands him in jail. Rebound kept me on the edge of my seat the whole time. Even if you have never read The Crossover or Booked, this story will captivate you. I would definitely recommend this book to any fans of The Crossover or Booked, but also to any readers looking for a suspenseful story of family, friendship, and basketball.

- Review by Nidhi, age 10


Lights, Camera, Disaster Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781338134087
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Arthur A. Levine Books - March 27th, 2018

Lights, Camera, Disaster is a realistic fiction novel by Erin M. Dionne. In this book, Hester Green, a middle school student with an Executive Function Disorder, is failing Language Arts. She gets one last chance to save her grades, but she could lose her friends and her beloved camera in the process. With parts written in script form and with Pause/Rewind/Play moments, this hilarious story will make the reader go through a series of different emotions. I give this book a 5-star!

-Review by Nidhi, age 10


Elementals: Ice Wolves Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062457981
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperCollins - March 27th, 2018

Ice Wolves is about Anders, an orphan who live with his sister Rayna. Everyone in the city where Anders and Rayna live shape-shifts into either an Ice Wolf or a Scorch Dragon, but families turn into the same thing. When Rayna turns into a Dragon and Anders to a Wolf, Rayna flies away. Anders enrolls at this boarding school called Ulfar Academy, hoping he will learn what he needs to find Rayna and save her. But Anders gets captured by the Dragons and starts a whole new war between the Wolves and the Dragons. I liked Ice Wolves so much I read it 3 times. I loved the words and the way they were used and how I really got to know the characters. I think that this book is so amazing because Anders has to be brave and figure out who he really is, and not just who he thinks he is. I would not change anything about this book because it was so beautifully written.

-Review by Elliot


The Phoenix Colossal Comics Collection, Volume One Cover Image
By Various
$14.99
ISBN: 9781338206791
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: David Fickling Books - March 27th, 2018

I just finished Vol. #1 and I want to read Vol. #2 RIGHT AWAY! This graphic novel contains a lot of different comics ranging from action/adventure to silly and funny, with all different styles of drawing. My favorite was "Trailblazers," which has lots of action. The characters live in an empire in space, on Nova 2, a heavily populated planet in deep space. They get into a lot of dangerous situations and have lots of high-tech weapons. This also has my favorite art. My second favorite was "Bunny vs. Monkey," which was silly but had more of a story to it. The book also had "Evil Emperor Penguin," octopuses and lots more. I'd recommend it for readers age 8-12 who live graphic novels. It has something for everyone.
 
- Review by Michael, age 10.


The Elephant Thief Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781338188431
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Chicken House - March 27th, 2018

LOVE this book!  The adventure that Danny has is very emotional.  It goes from happy to sad and back again.  Then it gets to scary.  Overall though this is a wonderful book.  I recommend it to 3rd grade through 5th grade.

Review By Elli, 10 years old


The Creativity Project: An Awesometastic Story Collection Cover Image
By Colby Sharp (Editor)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316507813
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - March 13th, 2018

This was a really cool book featuring a lot of good authors, illustrators and comic artists. It's like those books that give you story prompts you can use to build on. Except, this time, it's famous authors who wrote the prompts, then another one had to finish the story. It includes lots of famous names like Sherman Alexie, Kate diCamillo, Chris Grabenstein, Dav Pilkey, Dan Santat and Lemony Snicket. The result is a whole bunch of really different stories, comics and pictures. My favorite (spoiler alert!) is probably one where a man hears a dead person's voice telling him to go to the graveyard. He packs everything he needs, even chapstick - which he winds up giving to the dead person. Then when he comes back his house has burned down - the ghost has essentially saved him. I would recommend this book to middle readers, creative people and people who are interested in writing themselves. Writers will like the story prompts they can work on at the end.
 
- Review by Colleen, age 13.


The Mad Wolf's Daughter Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780735229266
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Kathy Dawson Books - March 6th, 2018

I REALLY loved this book because of the characters personality and how the author pieced together the story.  I also love this book because of the time setting it was in.  It is a must read for book worms like me!

 

Review by Elli, 10 years old


The Science of Breakable Things Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781524715663
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - March 6th, 2018

The Science of Breakable Things is a realistic novel by Tae Keller. The main character, Natalie, is having a rough life. Her mom was recently diagnosed with depression, and Natalie misses the happy, chirpy mother that she used to be. When Natalie’s teacher suggests that she enters an egg drop contest, Natalie and her best friend, Twig, are determined to win the 200 dollar prize, and maybe help Natalie’s mom see the beauty of the world she lives in again. Fans of Wonder and Out of My Mind will love Natalie’s story. There are some moments where you feel like you want to cry forever, and others where you grin and laugh. I rate this book 5 stars!

-Review by Nidhi, age 10

 


The Serpent's Secret (Kiranmala and the Kingdom Beyond #1) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338185706
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Press - February 27th, 2018

I liked how the author lead the story along, weaving the parts together.  This book seemed extremely real. The author had me on the edge of my seat! Kiran went on a journey through the land beyond 7 oceans and 13 rivers, and met some rakkosh demons (not that she wanted to!).

-Review by Elli, age 10.       


The Book of Boy Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062686206
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Greenwillow Books - February 6th, 2018

This book was pretty good, and very well written. It's set in the 1300s when relics of the saints were considered to be pretty much magic. "Boy," the main character, is a hunchback and he's bullied. Animals like him, though, and he can even talk to them. But that's not all that's special about him. (It's a secret!) Then a cranky old pilgrim takes Boy off on a journey to find relics of St. Peter, to save a damned soul. It's a little bit like Avi's Crispin and the Cross of Lead. I would recommend this to readers age 10-13 who like historical fiction.
 
- Review by Michael, age 10.


The Thrifty Guide to Ancient Rome (Handbook for Time Travelers #1) Cover Image
$13.99
ISBN: 9780451479600
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - January 30th, 2018

 
This book was funny and exciting at the same time, with all kinds of facts about history. It made it fun to read about history.
It's written from the perspective of a future time traveler voyaging to Ancient Rome. There's lots of cool stuff included, like people to have lunch with and how to prevent yourself from being assassinated. It's also full of general history and amazing facts about the people, customs and life back then. I like how the Overlord of Time Corp. had letters interspersed in with the actual history in the book. It was hilarious. I would recommend this book for readers age 11 and up who enjoy history and humor.
 
-Review by Michael, age 10.


The Truth as Told by Mason Buttle Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062491435
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - January 23rd, 2018

Bing, Bang, Boom.  That’s what Mason’s uncle said when he had three major losses in his life.  Mason lives with his Uncle Drum, his Grandma, and this crude girl that took over Mason’s room. Mason is in seventh grade and he is constantly being picked on by two boys.  Mason has a lot of old sadness, and sadness and anxiety in his current life.  A favorite teacher of Mason’s comes up with an idea to change his life- a program called the Dragon that allows Mason to speak into the computer and it journals for him.  This changes everything for Mason. Mason, who is dyslexic wasn’t able to journal before; the paper would blur up in his face.  Now that he talks to the Dragon everyday Mason is changing. His life seems more important to himself and the reader. Maybe Mason’s life is turning around. 
 
-River, Age 10


The Last Girl on Earth Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780399552274
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Delacorte Press - January 23rd, 2018

This was a great book, with lots of suspense. It was very descriptive, with an amazing plot and believable characters, even the aliens.The story starts with a human girl, Li, who has to hide among humanoid aliens who have taken over the Earth because humans were about to destroy it. They look just like us, but they have gills. She has fake gills.One day she has to take a test to determine her future, and she gets ranked in the top percentage to be in the Abdolorean (Earth's conquerors) forces. There, she meets a guy named Ryn, an alien of course, and they have a relationship that could expose her as a human.I would recommend this story for readers age 12 and up, fans of science fiction and especially girls.
 
Review by Michael, age 10.


The Uncanny Express (the Unintentional Adventures of the Bland Sisters Book 2) Cover Image
By Kara LaReau, Jen Hill (Illustrator)
$14.99
ISBN: 9781419725685
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Amulet Books - January 9th, 2018

This is a fast-paced, interesting and fun second book in the Bland Sisters series.The two sisters, Jaundice and Kale, are more boring than you could possibly imagine, but they keep going on unexpected adventures and they learn to like excitement despite themselves In this book, they're asked to meet their aunt, who is arriving by train. She sweeps them into investigating the mystery of a disappearing magician. Then there's the continuing mystery of their parents, whom they've never met.
I'd recommend this book to readers age 9-12, especially fans of the first book.
 
- Review by Michael, age 10


The Last Gargoyle Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781524700201
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Crown Books for Young Readers - January 9th, 2018

This is a great story, exciting and suspenseful, with a whole bunch of very individual and believable characters. Penhallow, a stone grotesque – don't call him a gargoyle – protects the living from Netherkin, undead people who have not moved on to The Next Place. There are some big surprises as the book goes on, and it really keeps you reading. I'd recommend the book for readers age 10 and up who enjoy fantasy, especially the Bartimaeus books by Jonathan Stroud.

Review by Michael, age 10.


The Lost Rainforest: Mez's Magic Cover Image
By Eliot Schrefer, Emilia Dziubak (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062491077
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - January 2nd, 2018

This book is a wonderful start to a series. I enjoyed this book because the author pieced the story together like a puzzle. I especially liked it because I am a fan of animal characters. I am looking forward to his next book! 

By Elli, 10 years old


Supergifted Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062563842
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Balzer & Bray/Harperteen - January 2nd, 2018

Supergifted is the sequel to Gordon Korman's book, Ungifted. Ungifted is about a kid named Donovan Curtis who is mistakenly chosen to go to an academy for gifted kids. He learns more about himself, and what it takes to be gifted. Meanwhile, Noah Youkillis, one of the top students at the Academy, wishes that he could be an average student with average grades. He realizes that Donovan could be the ticket to being normal. Supergifted is about Noah’s time at Hardcastle Middle School. He runs into some social problems, and Donovan is always by his side. While going to a bully’s house to fight back, Noah and Donovan notice an out-of-control truck. Donovan saves the house that the truck was about to crash into, but Noah ends up being the famous ‘Superkid’ who saved the house and the people in it. Along with this, the Academy Robotics team robot goes haywire and messes up in front of the governor. Supergifted is full of suspense, and always keeps you on the edge of your seat. I would recommend this book to all kids ages 8-12 who love realistic fiction. I give it a 4.5 star!

- Nidhi, age 10


March Forward, Girl: From Young Warrior to Little Rock Nine Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781328882127
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Houghton Mifflin - January 2nd, 2018

March Forward, Girl Is an autobiography of Melba Pattillo Beals, an African American child during the time of segregation. As a child, she always wondered why she, her mother, her grandmother, her father, her brother, and all other black people didn’t get the privileges of the white people. What had they done to make whites think they weren’t equal human beings? Melba was determined to change the way white people thought. March Forward, Girl makes you want to read until the end, and you learn so much about equality along with Melba. I would recommend this book to anyone, especially girls, ages 10-14. I loved this book!! I give it a 5 star!

-Review by Nidhi, age 10


Just Like Jackie Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062652911
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperCollins - January 2nd, 2018

This is a meaning full story that touches the heart! Robinson is not like anyone else, her name is not even close to anyone else. Yet she is still a proud and confident girl that would do anything for her grandpa. Even though Robinson grandpa is not the same color as her, he still is her world and she is his. When Grandpa starts forgetting the smallest things Robinson is hit hard. She has to pick up all the work and act like everything is fine, everything is not fine. As her Grandpa gets worse Robinson starts to worry. She has no clue about anyone else in her family and only Grandpa knows! When a family tree school project comes up Robinson is mad! The school guidance counselor puts together a group to finish the project Robinson comes to realize that not everything is as it seems! This book really touches close to the heart. I did not want to put it down. The detail makes the story even better than before. I give this book a 4 1/2 stars out of 5. I rate this book for kids 9-13 for it's detail and message.

review by Kathleen


Into the Nightfell Wood Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062398604
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - April 3rd, 2018

This book was absolutely positively amazing!  Although some parts were a little bit gruesome.  I enjoyed how the author switched character perspective throughout the story.  I would recommend this book to 3rd through 5th graders. 

 

Review By Elli, 10 years old


Love Sugar Magic: A Dash of Trouble Cover Image
By Anna Meriano, Mirelle Ortega (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062498465
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Walden Pond Press - January 2nd, 2018

Love Sugar Magic is a fantasy book written by Anna Meriano. It is about girl named Leo whose parents own a spanish bakery. All 4 of her older sisters are also allowed to work at the bakery, and Leo is sick of being left out. The day before a big festival, Leo spies on the bakery. While she is there, she learns something special: her sisters and Mama are Mexican witches, brujas. She knows that she has powers too. When her best friend is having some troubles, she tries to use magic to fix them, but things go terribly wrong. I would recommend this book to girls ages 7-11 who like magic. This magical world has a very different vibe than most witchcraft and wizardry books, but you can feel what Leo is feeling. I give this book 5 stars!

-Review by Nidhi, age 10