Teen Advisory Board Reviews

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sanctuary Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781534405332
Availability: Not Yet Published
Published: Simon Pulse - July 24th, 2018

This book was super-good, suspenseful and well-thought-out, with diverse characters and an interesting setting. It's set in the distant future. Fifty years before the story opens, alien probes came to the Earth. Then, a generation later, kids started having superpowers. This scared the general population, so they imprisoned the kids and microchipped their arms to negate their powers. This story happens in "Sanctuary," a prison for these teens which is orbiting the Earth. The main character, Kenzie, is a junior guard, a position for which she's trained all her life. She's totally loyal to the Omnistellar Corporation and believes all of the prisoners are criminals and should be locked up. Then she's accidentally locked in with the prisoners, which proves to be an eye-opening experience. Meanwhile, aliens come and start attacking, and the plot thickens. There will be a second book, which I am already eager to read. I'd recommend this book to readers age 14 and up who like science fiction.
 
Review by Colleen, age 13.


Contagion Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062574145
Availability: Not Yet Published
Published: Harper Teen - July 24th, 2018

I powered through this in less than a day - just over four hours, to be exact. It was so compelling I couldn't put it down. The story is set in the distant future where space travel is much more advanced. Thea, the main character, has taken an intern research position for her summer job. Then her organization gets a distress call from another planet.  She and others go to the other plant to investigate, and they encounter unexpected danger. The story is really scary and complex. It was really interesting to figure things out as the keys to the mystery were revealed bit by bit. I would recommend this book to readers age 13 and up, especially fans of Unearthed.
 
Review by Colleen, age 13.


Onyx & Ivory Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062652669
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Balzer & Bray/Harperteen - May 15th, 2018

This book ended up being very good. The main character, Kate, is 17. Her father was accused of trying to kill the king and he was executed, and she has been branded a traitor and exiled. No one really knows what happened that day, though. Kate thought her dad and the king were friends. So now she's working as a horse racer far away. Also, she is a wilder. There are two types of magic in this world. Magists are considered to be fine. They have to use stones to store their magic. Wilders, however, are outlawed. They usually have a gift with an element, but Kate has one of the rarest gifts. She can read animals' minds, and it turns out it works with humans too. Randomly, she runs into her old boyfriend, the king's younger son, who is being attacked by flightless dragons called Nightdrakes. They usually fly at night, but this time it's day. Anyhow, she has to save him, and then things get weird. I will be looking for this book when it comes out and its sequel as well. I would recommend it to teen readers who liked The Traitor's Game.
 
- Review by Colleen, age 13.


The Diminished Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781335016416
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Harlequin Teen - April 10th, 2018

This was a really good book with a lot of good fantasy elements. It had a complex plot with dual main characters who switched back and forth from chapter to chapter. Almost everyone in this land is a twin. One of the main characters, Vi, is "diminished." Her twin died when she was a baby. She has to work for this temple, for this god she doesn't believe in - she's essentially a slave. The other main character, Bo, is "singleborn." With no twin, he's heir to the throne. He doesn't feel like he fits in. He is being forced into marriage to a girl named Penelope. However, he's in love with Penelope's male twin. Then both Penelope and her twin die. Eventually, Vi and Bo cross paths. There are some shocking twists as the story comes to a close. I would recommend this book for teen readers in general - it has a broad range of appeal.
 
- Review by Colleen, age 13. 


Dread Nation Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062570604
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Balzer & Bray/Harperteen - April 3rd, 2018

I don't usually read zombie books, but this one is actually really good. Basically, this is an alternative history, in which the Civil War didn't end because one of the sides won. Rather, they agreed to stop fighting so they could deal with the greater danger - zombie apocalypse! So they freed the slaves to create an army to fight the zombies. The book is set 17 years later, when this young black girl, Jane, is attending a "finishing school." She's not doing very well at turning into a proper young lady, but she is succeeding at the secret curriculum - learning to fight zombies. It's a very compelling, fast read, an interesting book that should be very appealing for readers age 12 and up.
 
- Review by Colleen, age 13.


Orphan Monster Spy Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780451478733
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - March 20th, 2018

The Amazing book Orphan Monster Spy by Matt Killeen is about a girl who is a Jew during world war II. Her mom dies, and she is left to fend for herself, often remembering about how it was before her mom died. She meets a man, who helps her survive, by making her pass as Christian, and sending her to a boarding school. This great story has many ups and downs, and can be violent at times. Oveall this a a great novel, with an amazing, and important story to share with readers of all ages. 
 
- Review by Gretchen age 13


The Price Guide to the Occult Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780763691103
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Candlewick Press (MA) - March 13th, 2018

This book was really weird, but I liked it. Basically, the main character Nor comes from a long line of witches who always have daughters. They've lived on an archipelago off Washington for eight generations. The first witch, Rhoda Blackburn, set a curse on the family. Now they only have one "gift" each. Nor, the ninth generation, lives with her grandma, who has a healing talent. She pulls pain out of people like it is a physical thing. Nor's mom, Fern, is greedy. Her natural talent is mind control, so she has become famous and goes on all kinds of talk shows. She has gained all kinds of followers who have tattooed ferns on their arms in her honor. Fern can use other talents too, besides her own, but every time she does, she has to kill someone. To increase her power even more, Fern wants to make Nor into a blood sacrifice. It looks like there's going to be a sequel, and I want to keep reading. I would recommend this book to readers of dark fantasy, ages 14 and up because it gets pretty gory.
 
 
REVIEW BY COLLEEN, AGE 13
 


Tempests and Slaughter (the Numair Chronicles, Book One) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780375847110
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - February 6th, 2018

This book is clearly the start of a new series, and it has definite potential. Arram, the main character, is the youngest student at a magic academy, the Imperial University of Carthak, and one of the most naturally gifted students there. Generally looked at as odd, he's befriended by another unlikely pair of young students who are studying at high levels. Varice, who's developing a talent as a kitchen witch, has a knack for smoothing things over and bringing people together. Ozorne, known as the "leftover prince" because there's a number of heirs between him and the throne, is also very talented, though in different directions, and they become instant friends. As time goes on, Ozorne trains in war and politics, while Arram develops a rare talent as a healer. His experience in the field brings him face-to-face with some uncomfortable aspects of the empire, like slavery, the arena fights-to-the-death done for people's entertainment, and an attitude of eagerness to go to war as a power play. Meanwhile, as Ozorne gets closer and closer to the throne, some troubling things come out about his personality too. I liked this book and want to know what happens next to these characters.

- Review by Colleen, age 13. 


Before I Let Go Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781492642282
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Sourcebooks Fire - January 2nd, 2018

Before I Let Go by Manieke Nijkamp is an amazing book told with depth and thought. This wonderful book is about a girl who used to live in Lost Creek Alaska, but moved and she had to leave her best friend behind. They mailed letters to each other, to keep in touch, but one day her best friend died. I recommend this book for ages 13+. This book is amazing, with all of the plot twists, the depth, and the heartwarming sadness in this novel.

 

-review by Gretchen


The Cruel Prince Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780316310277
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - January 2nd, 2018

This book is set in the same universe as Holly Black's previous teen books, Tithe, Valiant, and Ironside, but with totally different characters. (A couple do make extremely small cameo appearances.) This is a very good story, with a lot of surprises, and it really makes you care about the characters, but after making you care about these people (fairie and otherwise) the plot leaves them at a precarious point, so readers will have to wait at least another year to learn what happens! Maddening! I would recommend this to readers age 14 and 15 or up who like dark fantasy and faerie tales.
 
Review by Colleen, age 13. 


Reign the Earth Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781681191119
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bloomsbury UK - January 30th, 2018

I really like this book. It has a powerful female protagonist who doesn't let men do everything for her, even though her world is set up that way. The main character, Shalia, 17, is forced into an arranged marriage with a king of another country. He wants to kill all of the "Elementae," people who can control the elements. He does not know she is one of them. The plot involves her dealing with an abusive husband while keeping her secret and trying to convince him to work for peace instead of just killing people. It has a diverse group of characters, and a very good, well-thought-out story. I hope there's a sequel. I'd recommend this book to readers age 14 and up, especially people who liked Rebel of the Sands and The Last Namsara.
 
-Review by Colleen, age 13


American Heart Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062694102
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Teen - January 30th, 2018

The great book American Heart by Laura Moriarty is a wonderful book about an America  that keeps Muslims in a camp like one in World War II.  One Muslim girl is trying to get away form that and is trying to get to Canada, where it is safe. She meets a brother and a sister, and the brother makes the sister promise to help her. I recommend this novel from ages 12+. It is a wonderful adventure that almost anyone could pick up and enjoy. 

 

Review by Gretchen


Rosemarked Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781484788554
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Disney-Hyperion - November 7th, 2017

This book is really good, suspenseful and much better than a lot of books I've read for teens.
The main character, Zivah, lives in a conquered country. She's a very good healer and does all she can to help her people, but she gets the rose plague from tending victims. When you get this plague, one of three things happen:
1. You die.
2. You get rosemarked (which means you're still contagious but the disease is in remission) and at some point the dsease will return and you'll die.
3. You get "umber-touched," which means you emerge immune to the disease.
Zivah is rosemarked, so she can't come into contact with anyone who hasn't had the plague. While attending soldiers, she meets an umber-touched rebel soldier, Dineas, who has gone through a lot of torture.
They team up to try to break the empire from inside. They're trying to get information from the rosemarked compound. With her knowledge of medicines, she gives him a potion that temporarily wipes his memory so he can pose as someone else. She can also take him out of this state. In the meantime, he becomes a soldier for the empire.
The book is a fast read and very compelling. I'd recommend it to fans of Ash Princess, The Last Namsara, the Rebel of the Sands series and other books like that.
 
Review by Colleen, age 13.


Otherworld Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781101939321
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Delacorte Press - October 31st, 2017

This story is set around 20 years in the future in New Jersey. The main character Simon, 18, plays a virtual reality game called "Otherworld," which is really advanced. With his new headset and gloves, which he charged to his mom's credit card without her knowledge, you can even feel the environment in the game as if it were really there. Then they find out about his $3,000 unauthorized purchase, his parents smash it up with a golf club. Later, Simon returns to the town where he grew up. He's at a party at an abandoned warehouse when it mysteriously collapses. Four people die and the rest are all paralyzed except for him. He's confused about how it collapsed, which seems pretty mysterious. Meanwhile, the company that makes Otherworld, called "The Company" releases a new, updated version of the game that allows paralyzed people to engage all five senses in Otherworld, and Simon's community becomes the Beta test ground for the new game.  Simon goes into the game trying to find his friend Kat, and what he discovers is very, very weird, causing The Company to turn against him, and the Otherworld as well. I enjoyed this book. I'd recommend this book to readers age 14 and up, especially guys.

 - Review by Colleen, age 13.


An Enchantment of Ravens Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481497589
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Margaret K. McElderry Books - September 26th, 2017

This book was really good, fast-paced and exciting. I finished it in two days. I totally think there should be a sequel. It really has a classic fairy tale feel. Isobel is an artist, painting portraits, but not of humans. She paints the Fair Folk. These aren't tiny pixies with wings, but immortal beings, tall and exotic and not at all like us. They can't do creative work like writing, painting or cooking, so they like getting paintings done of them. They're pretty vain too. Isobel works not for money but for enchantments like the one that keeps her chickens laying well. Then one day the Autumn Prince (one of the Fair Folk, of course) comes to the town where she lives, Whimsy, where he hasn't been for 300 years. She accidentally paints him with human emotion. Apparently that's bad, because any sign of weakness could lead other Fair Folk to kill him. So he kidnaps her to take her to the fairy court to go on trial for her crime. Except they never get there. Chased by Fair Folk from other realms, they must flee elsewhere. Eventually, they begin falling in love, although that too is against the law. This book would be really good for artists and writers and readers who like fantasy, ages 13-17.

- Review by Colleen, age 13


When I Am Through with You Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781101994733
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dutton Books for Young Readers - August 1st, 2017

I wasn't sure what to expect when I picked this book up, but I was delightfully surprised. The story was a mix of mystery and survival with a sprinkle of suspense to top it off. I loved trying to piece the events together to figure out how the main character, Ben Gibson ended up in jail and where it all went wrong. There were just enough compelling plot twists to keep me turning the pages. In fact, I ended up finishing it in a day because I just couldn't put it down. 

-Review by Anonymous 


Changes in Latitudes Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780062380173
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harper Teen - July 25th, 2017

Changes in latitudes was the perfect summer read. A book about a girl named Cass struggling to accept her parents’ divorce while a new romance and learning more about herself give her a whole new adventure. This book was easy for me to pick up and enjoy the plot but also heavy enough for me to be completely entertained. The main characters growth made me love the story, as the topic is real, relatable and something I really connected with. Changes in latitudes by Jen Malone is my perfect summer read.

-Review by Rebecca, age 15


The Last Magician Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781481432078
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Simon Pulse - July 18th, 2017

This book was magnificent, very well-written and suspenseful. I loved the structure of it - it kept me on the edge of my seat and I just couldn't stop reading it. It also had a lot of twists, turns and surprises I didn't see coming. Esta is a magus living in the present day. Her affinity is time, so she can slow time, even go back in time by using a weird artifact. She's given the task of going back in time to retrieve an even more powerful artifact, but the artifact she is using breaks and she finds herself stuck in 1901. In that time, she discovers things that change her view of the present, and meanwhile her appearance there might change the present itself. I can't wait for more from this author, ideally a sequel. I'd recommend this book for readers age 13 and up, especially lovers of fantasy and all types of speculative fiction.
 
- Review by Colleen, age 13.


If Birds Fly Back Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062563965
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harper Teen - June 27th, 2017

If Birds Fly Back by Carlie Sorosiak is a great summer read. This book had me laughing along with the easy humor and insane situations the whole way through. The characters were relatable and I really enjoyed them. This is the perfect book for anyone to read and love. If Birds Fly Back  is easily one of my summer favorites.

- Review by Rebecca


Words in Deep Blue Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781101937648
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers - June 6th, 2017

This book was so good and I just couldn't put it down. I'm in love with the letter library and I wanted one immediatly. The characters are humerous despite some of the heavy topics and you can't help but be emotionally involved with each person. 

-Review by anonymous