Teen Advisory Board Reviews

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dread Nation Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062570604
Availability: Not Yet Published
Published: Balzer & Bray/Harperteen - April 3rd, 2018

I don't usually read zombie books, but this one is actually really good. Basically, this is an alternative history, in which the Civil War didn't end because one of the sides won. Rather, they agreed to stop fighting so they could deal with the greater danger - zombie apocalypse! So they freed the slaves to create an army to fight the zombies. The book is set 17 years later, when this young black girl, Jane, is attending a "finishing school." She's not doing very well at turning into a proper young lady, but she is succeeding at the secret curriculum - learning to fight zombies. It's a very compelling, fast read, an interesting book that should be very appealing for readers age 12 and up.
 
- Review by Colleen, age 13.


Tempests and Slaughter (the Numair Chronicles, Book One) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780375847110
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - February 6th, 2018

This book is clearly the start of a new series, and it has definite potential. Arram, the main character, is the youngest student at a magic academy, the Imperial University of Carthak, and one of the most naturally gifted students there. Generally looked at as odd, he's befriended by another unlikely pair of young students who are studying at high levels. Varice, who's developing a talent as a kitchen witch, has a knack for smoothing things over and bringing people together. Ozorne, known as the "leftover prince" because there's a number of heirs between him and the throne, is also very talented, though in different directions, and they become instant friends. As time goes on, Ozorne trains in war and politics, while Arram develops a rare talent as a healer. His experience in the field brings him face-to-face with some uncomfortable aspects of the empire, like slavery, the arena fights-to-the-death done for people's entertainment, and an attitude of eagerness to go to war as a power play. Meanwhile, as Ozorne gets closer and closer to the throne, some troubling things come out about his personality too. I liked this book and want to know what happens next to these characters.

- Review by Colleen, age 13. 


Before I Let Go Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781492642282
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Sourcebooks Fire - January 2nd, 2018

Before I Let Go by Manieke Nihkamp is an amazing book told with depth and thought. This wonderful book is about a girl who used to live in Lost Creek Alaska, but moved and she had to leave her best friend behind. They mailed letters to each other, to keep in touch, but one day her best friend died. I recommend this book for ages 13+. This book is amazing, with all of the plot twists, the depth, and the heartwarming sadness in this novel.

 

-review by Gretchen


American Heart Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062694102
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Harper Teen - January 30th, 2018

The great book American Heart by Laura Moriarty is a wonderful book about an America  that keeps Muslims in a camp like one in World War II.  One Muslim girl is trying to get away form that and is trying to get to Canada, where it is safe. She meets a brother and a sister, and the brother makes the sister promise to help her. I recommend this novel from ages 12+. It is a wonderful adventure that almost anyone could pick up and enjoy. 

 

Review by Gretchen


Otherworld Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781101939321
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Delacorte Press - October 31st, 2017

This story is set around 20 years in the future in New Jersey. The main character Simon, 18, plays a virtual reality game called "Otherworld," which is really advanced. With his new headset and gloves, which he charged to his mom's credit card without her knowledge, you can even feel the environment in the game as if it were really there. Then they find out about his $3,000 unauthorized purchase, his parents smash it up with a golf club. Later, Simon returns to the town where he grew up. He's at a party at an abandoned warehouse when it mysteriously collapses. Four people die and the rest are all paralyzed except for him. He's confused about how it collapsed, which seems pretty mysterious. Meanwhile, the company that makes Otherworld, called "The Company" releases a new, updated version of the game that allows paralyzed people to engage all five senses in Otherworld, and Simon's community becomes the Beta test ground for the new game.  Simon goes into the game trying to find his friend Kat, and what he discovers is very, very weird, causing The Company to turn against him, and the Otherworld as well. I enjoyed this book. I'd recommend this book to readers age 14 and up, especially guys.

 - Review by Colleen, age 13.


An Enchantment of Ravens Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481497589
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Margaret K. McElderry Books - September 26th, 2017

This book was really good, fast-paced and exciting. I finished it in two days. I totally think there should be a sequel. It really has a classic fairy tale feel. Isobel is an artist, painting portraits, but not of humans. She paints the Fair Folk. These aren't tiny pixies with wings, but immortal beings, tall and exotic and not at all like us. They can't do creative work like writing, painting or cooking, so they like getting paintings done of them. They're pretty vain too. Isobel works not for money but for enchantments like the one that keeps her chickens laying well. Then one day the Autumn Prince (one of the Fair Folk, of course) comes to the town where she lives, Whimsy, where he hasn't been for 300 years. She accidentally paints him with human emotion. Apparently that's bad, because any sign of weakness could lead other Fair Folk to kill him. So he kidnaps her to take her to the fairy court to go on trial for her crime. Except they never get there. Chased by Fair Folk from other realms, they must flee elsewhere. Eventually, they begin falling in love, although that too is against the law. This book would be really good for artists and writers and readers who like fantasy, ages 13-17.

- Review by Colleen, age 13


When I Am Through with You Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781101994733
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dutton Books for Young Readers - August 1st, 2017

I wasn't sure what to expect when I picked this book up, but I was delightfully surprised. The story was a mix of mystery and survival with a sprinkle of suspense to top it off. I loved trying to piece the events together to figure out how the main character, Ben Gibson ended up in jail and where it all went wrong. There were just enough compelling plot twists to keep me turning the pages. In fact, I ended up finishing it in a day because I just couldn't put it down. 

-Review by Anonymous 


Changes in Latitudes Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780062380173
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harper Teen - July 25th, 2017

Changes in latitudes was the perfect summer read. A book about a girl named Cass struggling to accept her parents’ divorce while a new romance and learning more about herself give her a whole new adventure. This book was easy for me to pick up and enjoy the plot but also heavy enough for me to be completely entertained. The main characters growth made me love the story, as the topic is real, relatable and something I really connected with. Changes in latitudes by Jen Malone is my perfect summer read.

-Review by Rebecca, age 15


If Birds Fly Back Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062563965
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harper Teen - June 27th, 2017

If Birds Fly Back by Carlie Sorosiak is a great summer read. This book had me laughing along with the easy humor and insane situations the whole way through. The characters were relatable and I really enjoyed them. This is the perfect book for anyone to read and love. If Birds Fly Back  is easily one of my summer favorites.

- Review by Rebecca


Words in Deep Blue Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781101937648
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers - June 6th, 2017

This book was so good and I just couldn't put it down. I'm in love with the letter library and I wanted one immediatly. The characters are humerous despite some of the heavy topics and you can't help but be emotionally involved with each person. 

-Review by anonymous


We Are Okay Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780525425892
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dutton Books for Young Readers - February 14th, 2017

We Are Okay by Nina LaCour was such a good book. By the time I finished, I wished it hadn't ended. The author captured the main character's emotions so well and you felt for every character. This was truly a work of art. 

- Review by anonymous