Shadow School #1: Archimancy (Hardcover)

Shadow School #1: Archimancy Cover Image
$16.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


From the acclaimed author of Nightbooks and The Thickety comes a spooky series, perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman, Adam Gidwitz, and Stranger Things!

Cordelia Liu knew Shadow School was going to be different. Still, she didn’t expect the school grounds to be filled with ghosts.

Cordelia soon realizes she’s not the only one who can see the ghosts; her new friend Benji can too. Together with super-smart Agnes, the trio are determined to find out why the ghosts are there, and whether there’s a way to set them free.

But the school was created with more sinister intentions, and someone is willing to go to extreme lengths to ensure that the ghosts remain trapped forever.

Check out the book that School Library Journal called a “delightful blend of friendship, suspense, and spectral sightings [that] belongs on most shelves!”

About the Author


J. A. White is the author of The Thickety: A Path Begins. He lives in New Jersey with his wife, three sons, and a hamster named Ophelia that doesn't like him very much. When he's not making up stories, he teaches a bunch of kids how to make up stories (along with math and science and other important stuff). He wishes dragons were real because it would be a much cooler way to get to work.

Praise For…


“Just the right balance of humor, mystery, and scariness for a preteen audience. A fun addition to the growing genre of scary books for middle graders; readers will be eager to see more of this smart and spunky trio in further spooky adventures.”
— Kirkus Reviews

“The story balances the spookier elements with the humorous and/or difficult going-ons of middle school. Heart and humor elevate the formulaic tropes, making this as easy quick pic for a just creepy enough read.”
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“White opens the Shadow School trilogy with a well-paced thriller of a new-kid-at-school narrative. Tension builds to a crescendo when an overnight rescue attempt goes awry, and the ending promises more adventures to come for Cordelia and her friends.”
— ALA Booklist

“The preteens’ friendship is realistic and appealing. The suspense is engaging and consistent throughout, and there’s a perfect mix of scares and mystery that will entice even the most fainthearted of readers. VERDICT This delightful blend of friendship, suspense, and spectral sightings belongs on most shelves.”
— School Library Journal

Praise for Nightbooks: “Fans of gloomy fare such as Lemony Snicket, Adam Gidwitz, or Neil Gaiman will find an equally twisting and terrifying tale here.”  
— School Library Journal (starred review)

“Despite the dark premise, the narrative never crosses the line into horror, making it a safe bet for younger readers.”
— Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“A thrilling tale of magic that is just scary enough.”
— Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Praise for the Thickety series: “Darkly bewitching. Readers will devour each twist and turn of the plot, right up to the startling conclusion.”
— School Library Journal

“The twisted plot is perfectly matched by the twisted atmosphere. . . . Spine-tingling.”
— Booklist (starred review)
Product Details
ISBN: 9780062838285
ISBN-10: 0062838288
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Publication Date: August 27th, 2019
Pages: 304
Language: English
Series: Shadow School