Parked (Hardcover)

Parked Cover Image
$17.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


For fans of Rebecca Stead and Joan Bauer comes a scrappy, poignant, uplifting debut about family, friendship, and the importance of learning both how to offer help and how to accept it.

"A big-hearted novel with characters I wish were my friends in real life." --Gennifer Choldenko, author of the Al Capone at Alcatraz series


Jeanne Ann is smart, stubborn, living in an orange van, and determined to find a permanent address before the start of seventh grade.

Cal is tall, sensitive, living in a humongous house across the street, and determined to save her.

Jeanne Ann is roughly as enthusiastic about his help as she is about living in a van.

As the two form a tentative friendship that grows deeper over alternating chapters, they're buoyed by a cast of complex, oddball characters, who let them down, lift them up, and leave you cheering. Debut novelist Danielle Svetcov shines a light on a big problem without a ready answer, nailing heartbreak and hope, and pulling it off with a humor and warmth that make the funny parts of Jeanne Ann and Cal's story cathartic and the difficult parts all the more moving.

"Insightful, touching...and timely...Not to be missed" --Karen Cushman, author of The Midwife's Apprentice
"Absorbing and warmhearted...Readers will be transported" --Annie Barrows, author of the Ivy & Bean series
"Pertinent....Honest...Uplifting...Fresh" --PW
"Utterly of this moment" --Jack Cheng, author of See You in the Cosmos

About the Author


An impatient chef once told author Danielle Svetcov, "You talk too much, you move too slow!" when she was peeling onions in his restaurant kitchen. He was right. So she doubled down on writing, which rewards thinking (and talking) and going slow. Danielle wrote for The New York Times, U.S. News & World Report, The Chicago Tribune Magazine, and others before becoming a literary agent and, now, an author. With her debut novel, Parked, she writes her way back to her first loves--food and friendship. You can find Danielle across the Golden Gate Bridge from San Francisco with her salami-loving family.

Praise For…


Pertinent . . . Honest . . . Uplifting . . . Fresh.” —Publishers Weekly

“A big-hearted novel with characters I wish were my friends in real life.” —Gennifer Choldenko, author of the Al Capone at Alcatraz series

“A rich, warm story about family, friendship, and community. Insightful, touching, compelling, and timely, Parked is a terrific book—not to be missed.” —Karen Cushman, Newbery Award-winning author of The Midwife’s Apprentice

"An absorbing and warm-hearted read that explores what happens when homelessness and helpfulness collide. Readers will be transported while parked. —Annie Barrows, author of the Ivy & Bean series

"Svetcov explores homelessness without it feeling purposeful. Her characters develop gradually, gaining strength in the process. She presents San Francisco as the dichotomy it is—beautiful and expensive, but with its share of societal issues. Quiet, yet absorbing." —Booklist

“Danielle Svetcov has written a novel that's utterly of this moment. It's a book about generosity—not just toward others, but toward oneself. Parked is a reminder that we don’t have to feel alone in the world, because we’re not.” —Jack Cheng, Golden Kite Award-winning author of See You in the Cosmos
Product Details
ISBN: 9780399539039
ISBN-10: 0399539034
Publisher: Dial Books
Publication Date: February 4th, 2020
Pages: 400