The Firebird Song (Hardcover)

The Firebird Song Cover Image
$16.99
Not On Our Shelves Now--Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


Debut author Arnée Flores spins an exciting and original tale about hope in even the darkest of places, perfect for fans of Shannon Hale.

The Kingdom of Lyrica
was once warm and thriving, kept safe by the Firebird, whose feather and song was a blessing of peace and prosperity. But the Firebird disappeared, and Lyrica is now terrorized by the evil Spectress who wields her powers from within a volcano. All that remains is a mysterious message scrawled on the castle wall in the Queen's own hand: Wind. Woman. Thief.

Young Prewitt has only known time without the Firebird, a life of constant cold, as his village is afraid to tempt the volcano monsters with even the feeblest fire. But he has heard whispers that the kingdom's princess survived the attack . . . and he is certain that if he can find her, together they can save Lyrica.

Princess Calliope has no memories beyond living on her barge on the underground lake. But as she nears her twelfth birthday, she is certain there is more to life than the walls of a cave. When Prewitt finds her, he realizes that she is the missing princess: the only hope for Lyrica. Determined to decipher the meaning of her mother's strange message and find the Firebird, Calliope and Prewitt set off on a quest that puts them in more danger than either of them ever anticipated.

About the Author


Arnée Flores is a Vietnamese-American transracial adoptee. She has been a classical pianist, a Montessori preschool teacher, a waitress, and a student. She currently lives in Seattle with her family. This is her debut novel.
www.arneeflores.com
@arneedflores (Instagram)

Praise For…


“A fast-paced, heart-squeezing adventure, perfect for fans of intricate fantasy worlds and memorable characters.” —Booklist, starred review

“Finding hope, true friendship, and bravery lies at the hearts of their journeys. . . . A fantastical adventure full of hope.” —Kirkus Reviews

Product Details
ISBN: 9781547605125
ISBN-10: 154760512X
Publisher: Bloomsbury Children's Books
Publication Date: June 8th, 2021
Pages: 304
Language: English