HOLLY GOLDBERG SLOAN- Virtual Author Event- Readings from Oconomowaukee

Virtual Author Event-
Readings From Oconomowaukee

HOLLY GOLDBERG SLOAN  

In conversation with
Daniel Goldin and
Lisa Baudoin

Wednesday, May 24th
2:00 p.m.
Books & Company- 

Registration required 

 

 

 

 

Readings from Oconomowaukee presents an afternoon with Holly Goldberg Sloan, author of Pieces of Blue- a compelling and heartfelt novel for fans of Maria Semple and Emma Straub about a family trying to restore a ramshackle beachside motel--and their own lives. In conversation with Lisa Baudoin of Books & Company and Daniel Goldin of Boswell.

 

 

What good was thinking the future only held cloudy skies? Wasn't the reality that pieces of blue were always there, waiting to break through?

When Paul Hill drowns in a surfing accident, his broken-hearted wife, Lindsey, and their three children are left in huge financial trouble. Once Paul's life insurance finally comes through, Lindsey impulsively uses the money to buy a charmingly ramshackle motel in Hawai'i, hoping for a fresh start. Teenage Olivia quickly develops a crush on a handsome but monosyllabic skateboarder. Twelve-year-old Carlos reinvents himself as a popular kid named Carl. And Sena, the youngest, will do whatever it takes to protect her beloved motel chickens.

But while the kids adjust, Lindsey is flailing, trying to pretend she knows how to bring a motel--and herself--back to life. Then a handsome stranger rolls into the motel parking lot, and she's surprised to feel a long-dormant part of herself stirring. She accepts his offer to help, unaware that he may have secrets of his own. And all the while, out in the Pacific, the trade winds are fiercely blowing.

Funny and tender, full of twists and turns and heart, Pieces of Blue is a portrait of an irresistible family learning to start over.

 

Holly Goldberg Sloan is the author of seven books for young readers, which have been translated into twenty-seven languages. Her novel Counting By 7s was an E.B. White Honor book and has sold over a million copies. Also a noted feature film writer, Holly wrote the Disney blockbuster Angels in the Outfield, and she was the first woman to direct a live action film for Disney when she wrote and directed The Big Green. The mother of two sons, Holly lives with her husband in Santa Monica, California. Pieces of Blue is her debut novel for adults.

Event date: 
Wednesday, May 24, 2023 - 2:00pm
Event address: 
WI
Pieces of Blue: A Novel By Holly Goldberg Sloan Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9781250847300
Availability: Not On Our Shelves Now--Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Flatiron Books - May 9th, 2023

Counting by 7s By Holly Goldberg Sloan Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780142422861
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Rocky Pond Books - September 16th, 2014

The Elephant in the Room By Holly Goldberg Sloan Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780735229952
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Rocky Pond Books - March 1st, 2022

To Night Owl From Dogfish By Holly Goldberg Sloan, Meg Wolitzer Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780525553243
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Rocky Pond Books - April 28th, 2020

Short By Holly Goldberg Sloan Cover Image
$17.99
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9780399186219
Published: Rocky Pond Books - January 31st, 2017

Just Call My Name By Holly Goldberg Sloan Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780316122825
Availability: Not On Our Shelves Now--Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - January 5th, 2016

Appleblossom the Possum By Holly Goldberg Sloan, Gary Rosen (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Holly Goldberg Sloan, Gary Rosen (Illustrator)
$8.99
ISBN: 9780147512802
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Rocky Pond Books - August 2nd, 2016