SUSIE LUO- Virtual Author Event- Readings From Oconomowaukee

Virtual Author Event-
Readings From Oconomowaukee

SUSIE LUO 

In conversation with
Daniel Goldin and
Lisa Baudoin

Wednesday, June 21st
2:00 p.m.
Via Zoom 

Registration required 

Join us for our June edition of Readings from Oconomowaukee. This month will feature author Susie Luo in conversation with Daniel Goldin and Lisa Baudoin for Luo's novel Paper Names- an unforgettable story about the long shadows of our parents, the ripple effect of our decisions and the ways in which our love transcends difference.

 

About the book: 
An unexpected act of violence brings together a Chinese-American family and a wealthy white lawyer in this propulsive and sweeping story of family, identity and the American experience--for fans of Jean Kwok, Mary Beth Keane and Naima Coster. 
Set in New York and China over three decadesPaper Names explores what it means to be American from three different perspectives. There's Tony, a Chinese-born engineer turned Manhattan doorman, who immigrated to the United States to give his family a better life. His daughter, Tammy, who we meet at age nine and follow through adulthood, and who grapples with the expectations of a first generation American and her own personal desires. Finally, there's Oliver, a handsome white lawyer with a dark family secret and who lives in the building where Tony works. A violent attack causes their lives to intertwine in ways that will change them forever. Taut, panoramic and powerful.

 

About the author: 
Susie Luo is a writer based in New York. She graduated from the University of Pennsylvania and Cornell Law School. She wrote at night while working as an investment banker at Goldman Sachs. Paper Names is her first book.

Event date: 
Wednesday, June 21, 2023 - 2:00pm
Event address: 
WI
Paper Names By Susie Luo Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781335426888
Availability: Not On Our Shelves Now--Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Hanover Square Press - May 2nd, 2023