Katrina

"I lived in books more than I lived anywhere else."
--Neil Gaiman, The Ocean at the End of the Lane

 

Staff Pick Badge
Hollow Kingdom Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781538745823
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Grand Central Publishing - August 6th, 2019

I absolutely adored this novel. It was thrilling, funny, and full of emotion. It made me laugh, gasp, cry, and then laugh some more- all out loud, no matter where I was reading. Besides a page-turning plot, the writing was phenomenal and the characters really struck a chord with me, despite (or maybe because of) almost all of them being animals. When all the humans in the world start succumbing to a disease that turns them into zombie-like creatures, S.T. the crow(who thinks he should have been born human) and his faithful Bloodhound must go on a quest to free the pets of the world from the confines of the houses they are locked in. S.T. is such a plucky, genuine narrator and unlike any I've read before- I loved him so much. From page 1 this book drew me in and I couldn't stop reading it or thinking about it. I want to sit down and read it all over again. 


Staff Pick Badge
Magic for Liars: A Novel Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9781250174611
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Books - June 4th, 2019

Magic For Liars was a fantastic read! Full of mystery, magic, intrigue, twists, and just enough drama to keep pages turning. Oh, and there's even a Chosen One Prophecy. A strange death (murder or suicide?) at a school for mages brings P.I. Ivy Gamble to Osthorne Academy- a place where she doesn't feel like she fits in because she has no magic powers even though her sister, a teacher there, does. Ivy is a relatable and deep character, with both flaws and strengths. I absolutely loved this book and think it's perfect for readers of mystery, fantasy, and those who just want a great story. 


Staff Pick Badge
The Girl in Red Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780451492289
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Berkley - June 18th, 2019

 Christina Henry is a master of the mixed up, dark fairy tale. She takes elements you know from classic stories and twists them into their darkest shape. With The Girl in Red, she has done it again. Red is walking to grandmother's house, however it's not grandma who's sick- it's the rest of the world.  Red is a strong, badass female character who is smart, capable and has no qualms about protecting herself in this brutal world.  This is Little Red Riding Hood set in a post apocalyptic world and it is unputdownable.


Staff Pick Badge
The Saturday Night Ghost Club: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780143133933
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - July 9th, 2019

What sounds like it could be a gruesome horror story is really a fresh coming of age story centered around one summer in 1980's Niagara Falls. With just enough spookiness, heart, and action, this was a fantastic read. It's a novel that takes you back to when you were a kid, running around on a summer's night, discovering secrets in the dark with your closest friends. Relatable, interesting characters and a twist ending are just the cherries on top. Perfect for fans of Netflix's Stranger Things, Edgar Cantero's Meddling Kids but also those who are more faint of heart and don't want full on horror, just the atmosphere of creepiness filled with tenderness too.


Staff Pick Badge
Machine: A Novel Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9781555978471
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graywolf Press - August 20th, 2019

I devoured this novel and it left me reeling. Steinberg has an utterly unique way of telling this story of blame, privilege, and dwindling innocence felt by a teenage girl when another girl drowns. Though it sounds like a plot done before, the style of writing is fresh and perfect for authentically telling this story. It's hypnotic and haunting; intense and thrilling; poetic and lyrical. A short book that packs a punch. Dark, yet somehow lovely. 


Staff Pick Badge
The Handmaid's Tale (Graphic Novel): A Novel Cover Image
By Margaret Atwood, Renee Nault (Illustrator)
$22.95
ISBN: 9780385539241
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Nan A. Talese - March 26th, 2019

This is a gorgeously illustrated adaptation! If you've never read the original, it's a great place to start. If you're already a fan, you'll love seeing the story come alive in a new way.


Staff Pick Badge
A Cosmology of Monsters: A Novel Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9781524747671
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Pantheon - September 17th, 2019

I loved Cosmology of Monsters! It went places I wasn't expecting and I enjoyed the unpredictability  From the title, I was expecting werewolves chasing people through the haunted house but there's really so much more to it than that. It's the story of a family who happen to be followed by monsters and decide to set up a haunted house called the Wandering Dark, not expecting it would connect them all so much. It was really well done and I thoroughly enjoyed my time in the Wandering Dark.


Staff Pick Badge
Someone Who Will Love You in All Your Damaged Glory: Stories Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9781524732011
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf - June 11th, 2019

This short story collection by the creator of Netflix's Bojack Horseman is full of the expected dark humor, but also insightful looks into relationships and life in general. From the personal relationships of superheroes to a dog's inner monologue to a wedding with some unusual traditions, this collection is a great read that goes to unexpected places. Completely original and entertaining. 


Staff Pick Badge
Invader ZIM Vol. 1 Cover Image
By Jhonen Vasquez, Eric Trueheart (Illustrator), Aaron Alexovich (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781620102930
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Oni Press - February 9th, 2016

Okay, so I've always loved Invader Zim and these graphic novels perfectly embody the TV show from the early 2000's. I can read them with the character voices in mind. I love them. So much fun! 


Staff Pick Badge
Invader ZIM Vol. 2 Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781620103364
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Oni Press - August 9th, 2016

Okay, so I've always loved Invader Zim and these graphic novels perfectly embody the TV show from the early 2000's. I can read them with the character voices in mind. I love them. So much fun! 


Staff Pick Badge
Invader ZIM Vol. 3 Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781620103715
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Oni Press - December 27th, 2016

Okay, so I've always loved Invader Zim and these graphic novels perfectly embody the TV show from the early 2000's. I can read them with the character voices in mind. I love them. So much fun! 


Staff Pick Badge
Invader ZIM Vol. 4 Cover Image
By Jhonen Vasquez, Aaron Alexovich (Illustrator), Warren Wucinich (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781620104286
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Oni Press - August 15th, 2017

Okay, so I've always loved Invader Zim and these graphic novels perfectly embody the TV show from the early 2000's. I can read them with the character voices in mind. I love them. So much fun! 


Staff Pick Badge
Invader ZIM Vol. 5 Cover Image
By Eric Trueheart, Dave Crosland, Jhonen Vasquez (Created by), Warren Wucinich (Illustrator), Dave Crosland (Illustrator), Fred C. Stresing (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781620104781
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Oni Press - March 6th, 2018

Okay, so I've always loved Invader Zim and these graphic novels perfectly embody the TV show from the early 2000's. I can read them with the character voices in mind. I love them. So much fun! 


Staff Pick Badge
Invader ZIM Vol. 6 Cover Image
By Eric Trueheart, Sarah Graley, Sam Logan, Maddie C. (Illustrator), Mady G. (Illustrator), Fred C. Stresing (Illustrator), Sarah Graley (Illustrator), Sarah Stern (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781620105368
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Oni Press - September 4th, 2018

Okay, so I've always loved Invader Zim and these graphic novels perfectly embody the TV show from the early 2000's. I can read them with the character voices in mind. I love them. So much fun! 


Staff Pick Badge
Invader ZIM Vol. 7 Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781620105764
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Oni Press - April 23rd, 2019

New Invader Zim! YAY!!!


Staff Pick Badge
Dark Days: A Memoir Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780306825095
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Da Capo Press - July 12th, 2016

This memoir from the vocalist of metal band Lamb of God explains the story of how he was imprisoned in Prague following the accidental death of a fan. So well written and full of voice and character!