Katrina

"We are all stardust and stories."
--Erin Morgenstern, The Starless Sea

 

 

Staff Pick Badge
Hollow Kingdom Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781538745830
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Grand Central Publishing - July 7th, 2020

I absolutely adored this novel. It was thrilling, funny, and full of emotion. It made me laugh, gasp, cry, and then laugh some more- all out loud, no matter where I was reading. Besides a page-turning plot, the writing was phenomenal and the characters really struck a chord with me, despite (or maybe because of) almost all of them being animals. When all the humans in the world start succumbing to a disease that turns them into zombie-like creatures, S.T. the crow(who thinks he should have been born human) and his faithful Bloodhound must go on a quest to free the pets of the world from the confines of the houses they are locked in. S.T. is such a plucky, genuine narrator and unlike any I've read before- I loved him so much. From page 1 this book drew me in and I couldn't stop reading it or thinking about it. I want to sit down and read it all over again. 


Staff Pick Badge
The Memory Theater: A Novel Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9781524748333
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Pantheon - February 16th, 2021

The Gardens are a fantastical place: time doesn't pass for the lords and ladies and every day is the same full of feasts, violent games, and brutal consequences for child servants who grow up. Thistle, a servant, and Dora, a one of a kind outcast, are each others' only comfort. When they escape the Gardens, they are thrust into the crossroads of the multiverse and are taken in by the Memory Theater, a troupe that shows us how important sharing memories are to our personal stories. This dark and dreamy fairy tale is Tidbeck's best work yet- I absolutely devoured it and am longing for more.


Staff Pick Badge
Dark Archives: A Librarian's Investigation into the Science and History of Books Bound in Human Skin Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780374134709
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - October 20th, 2020

Let your morbid curiosity get the better of you and enter the dark and strange world of Anthropodermic Bibliopegy- or the craft of binding books in human skin. Filled with the history of medicine, book binding, collecting, consent, and other fascinating tidbits of the strange and dark. Perfect for fans of Caitlin Doughty or Mary Roach. 


Staff Pick Badge
In the Company of Men Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781635420951
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Other Press - February 23rd, 2021

This short book packs a gut punch of emotion. Terrifyingly relevant to today's times, there is so much to be learned from this story. Told from different perspectives of those affected by Ebola in West Africa, this is a fully formed look at human nature during a crisis, good and bad. From the doctors and nurses, the patients, the volunteer gravediggers to the ancient Baobob tree and even the virus itself- Tadjo writes in a way reminiscent of African folktales to tell us the brutal truth of how diseases can unravel us. 


Staff Pick Badge
Piranesi Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781635575637
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - September 15th, 2020

Piranesi is a mythical and mysterious novel. We follow a young man, Piranesi, around a labyrinth of great halls that are never-ending and sometimes filled with the tides of a sea. We are reading his journals of his time spent in the halls categorizing and listing all of the statues he comes across, each unique to the hall that they are in. We are sucked into a mystery of where he really is and why. I loved this book! This is definitely one that I will reread!


Staff Pick Badge
The Bad Muslim Discount: A Novel Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9780385545259
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Doubleday - February 2nd, 2021

From the first page the voice of one of the main characters, Anvar, instantly hooked me with his wit and honesty. Both main characters, Anvar and Azza, are so engaging and full of humanity. Their journeys, though very different, bring them together in an important way. Following each of their stories in alternating chapters, this look into the lives of these two young Muslim immigrants and their families from 1995-2016 is a heartfelt and humorous look at family, faith, culture, love- and how to be an individual encompassed by all of those things


Staff Pick Badge
Dearly: New Poems Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780063032491
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ecco - November 10th, 2020

To me, Atwood's writing is all poetry. Passages that are marked in my books; so beautiful, so true that I have to come back to them again and again.  Every poem in this collection holds that potential as well. Just begging to be read out loud, the reader falls into the natural cadences of these poems. This is a perfect collection for anyone: Atwood fans, poetry readers and those new to both. Absolutely splendid. 


Staff Pick Badge
Oak Flat: A Fight for Sacred Land in the American West Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780399589720
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House - November 17th, 2020

This book is stunning and so full of color, spirit, and emotion. It tells the tale of the revered Oak Flat and the Native American individuals, and their families, who have been fighting to save this sacred place for decades. It's unforgettable and important. 


Staff Pick Badge
The Starless Sea: A Novel Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781101971383
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Anchor - August 4th, 2020

This book is pure magic. I was completely enchanted with it and loved the stories within the story. Morgenstern writes poetically and it's impossible not to lose yourself in this novel. Full of secrets, intrigue, and the love of stories. You have to read it! 


Staff Pick Badge
Elegy for the Undead: A Novella Cover Image
$14.00
ISBN: 9781941360453
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Lanternfish Press - October 13th, 2020

Oh man. This is so, so much more than a zombie story. It's a story of a married couple coming to term's with a terminal illness one of them is suffering from. It is a story of a married couple, how they survive together, and then what happens after. It's beautiful and full of emotion, love, and devastation. My heart aches for Lyle and Jude. 


Staff Pick Badge
Hench: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062978578
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow - September 22nd, 2020

This is such a fun read! We all think of superheroes as doing good, but what about all of the damage they cause when saving the world? Anna works as a hench and she is compiling spreadsheets of the cost of all of the buildings, cars, and people effected by superheroes. This is a funny page-turner and I want to read more with these characters! 


Staff Pick Badge
The Art of Invader Zim Cover Image
By Chris McDonnell, Rebecca Sugar (Foreword by)
$35.00
ISBN: 9781419734601
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Abrams - July 28th, 2020

This book is amazing! A fantastic look inside the creation of the Invader Zim TV show and graphic novels. I will always love Invader Zim! 


Pre-Order Now Badge
Night Rooms: Essays Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781953387004
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Two Dollar Radio - March 23rd, 2021

Pre-Order Now Badge
Feral Creatures Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781538735244
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Grand Central Publishing - August 24th, 2021

I cannot contain the excitement and passion that pours out of me when talking about Hollow Kingdom, and now Feral Creatures. I have pushed it on all of my friends and have received only positive feedback. This book is superb- a second read proves it may be my favorite book ever. And the follow up, Feral Creatures, is simply perfect as well. Spectacularly written, funny, devastating, brutal, and unforgettable. I am absolutely obsessed with Kira Jane Buxton's books. S.T. is my very favorite and I will love him forever.