Katrina

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

"I lived in books more than I lived anywhere else."
--Neil Gaiman, The Ocean at the End of the Lane

Staff Pick Logo
Adjustment Day Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9780393652598
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - May 1st, 2018

Adjustment Day is the satirical masterpiece that we could only expect from Chuck Palahniuk-twisted, offensive, and unputdownable. It is a tale set in the not so distant future where the United States isn't so united and a new regime has taken over following the teachings of a mysterious blue-black book by a man named Talbott. Filled with his typical humor and biting sarcasm that no one is safe from, we see how a variety of people are affected by the life-changing event that is Adjustment Day. New Palahniuk fans will certainly be reeled in and cult followers will love the inside references made to his previous work. I was not disappointed!


Staff Pick Logo
Pizzeria Kamikaze Cover Image
By Asaf Hanuka (Illustrator), Etgar Keret
$24.99
ISBN: 9781684151196
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Archaia - March 6th, 2018

The graphic novel version of one of my very favorite short stories Kneller's Happy Campers.  I love, love love it!


Staff Pick Logo
Blackfish City: A Novel Cover Image
$22.99
ISBN: 9780062684820
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ecco - April 17th, 2018

Set in the floating city of Qaanaaq in a future world when most main lands are uninhabitable, this is an intriguing novel of survival, family, and revenge. Following four main characters all unknowingly connected, we see the city through their eyes. When a woman comes to Qaanaaq on a small boat with an orca and a polar bear with her, all of their lives are changed forever. A fast-paced unique story complete with criminal political factions, new technology, and people with the ability to bond with animals and control them. My only qualm was that it wasn't longer, I would love to read more about the world of Qaanaaq and it's inhabitants!


Staff Pick Logo
The Rending and the Nest Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781632869722
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bloomsbury UK - February 20th, 2018

The Rending and the Nest is more than just another post apocalyptic novel- it is a meaningful story about friendship, motherhood, and the importance of having your own story. Set in a world where 95% of the population has disappeared with no rhyme or reason, small communities have been organized, such as Zion, and a sense of normalcy is returning. When the women start giving birth to inanimate objects, that normalcy is shattered. A traveler comes from a neighboring community and furthers changes the residents lives. This novel, perfect for fans of Emily St John Mandel's Station Eleven or Megan Hunter's The End We Start From, stuck with me for weeks after I finished it.


Staff Pick Logo
The Virginia State Colony for Epileptics and Feebleminded: Poems Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780892554782
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Persea Books - March 7th, 2017

Wow! These poems are haunting and unforgettable!


Staff Pick Logo
The Hazel Wood Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250147905
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Flatiron Books - January 30th, 2018

The Hazel Wood had exactly what I wanted: a strong female main character, brutal fairy tales, and a trip into a magical land. I devoured this book and immediately wanted more of the thrilling, eerie, and darkly magical story. Alice and her mother Ella have been on the run for as long as Alice can remember, trying to stay away from the bad luck that always seems to follow them. They are estranged from Ella's mother, a famous but reclusive author of dark fairy tales who lives on an estate called The Hazel Wood. When Ella goes missing after they receive a letter saying her mother died, Alice must find The Hazel Wood with the help Ellery Finch, a fan of her grandmother's cult classic book. The idea of the power of stories to come alive is quite literal in this unique fantasy that teens and adults alike will fall for.


Staff Pick Logo
Meddling Kids Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781101974445
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Anchor Books - May 29th, 2018

A Scooby Doo-like gang of young adults(and one intuitive dog) must band together after a decade apart to resolve their last case. Hilarious, genuinely creepy, and full of pop culture references, this is a highly entertaining mystery with dark twists and turns. These meddling kids are up against a real monster, not just a man in a giant salamander suit and I thoroughly enjoyed their story of second chances, friendship and demon fighting!


Staff Pick Logo
A Field Guide to the North American Family: An Illustrated Novella Cover Image
$22.00
ISBN: 9781101874950
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf Publishing Group - October 31st, 2017

I absolutely loved this quirky illustrated novella. The story of two families and how they survive after the father of one dies. With stunning photographs throughout we get a small look into thier world and emotions.


Staff Pick Logo
Ink Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338196993
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Press - January 2nd, 2018

In a world where everyone has tattoos to tell their life stories and people who have no tattoos are called "blanks" and are a danger to society, Leora must question everything she knows and believes in after her father passes away and his secret past comes to light. A unique and thought provoking storyline grabbed me at once and I loved it.


Staff Pick Logo
Dark Days: A Memoir Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780306825095
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Da Capo Press - July 12th, 2016

This memoir from the vocalist of metal band Lamb of God explains the story of how he was imprisoned in Prague following the accidental death of a fan. So well written and full of voice and character!


Staff Pick Logo
Invader Zim Vol. 1 Cover Image
By Jhonen Vasquez, Eric Trueheart (Illustrator), Aaron Alexovich (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781620102930
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Oni Press - February 9th, 2016

Staff Pick Logo
Invader Zim, Volume 2 Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781620103364
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Oni Press - August 9th, 2016

Staff Pick Logo
Invader Zim Vol. 3 Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781620103715
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Oni Press - January 3rd, 2017

Staff Pick Logo
Invader Zim Vol. 4 Cover Image
By Jhonen Vasquez, Aaron Alexovich (Illustrator), Warren Wucinich (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781620104286
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Oni Press - August 15th, 2017

Staff Pick Logo
Invader Zim Vol. 5 Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781620104781
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Oni Press - March 6th, 2018

Staff Pick Logo
Nothing Is Okay Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781943735303
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Button Poetry - February 20th, 2018

This book of poetry is so readable and relatable!


Staff Pick Logo
My Absolute Darling Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780735211186
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - June 26th, 2018

Such an intense novel! You will root for Turtle as she realizes her abusive father is not the whole world. Fantastic writing! The last few chapters were some of the most gripping I've ever read- I could not put the book down!


Staff Pick Logo
My Boyfriend Is a Bear Cover Image
By Pamela Ribon, Cat Farris (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781620104873
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Oni Press - April 10th, 2018

This graphic novel is silly and sweet, hilarious yet touching.  


Staff Pick Logo
Cats on Catnip Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780762463671
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Running Press Adult - June 19th, 2018

You have to look at this book! I dare you not to laugh! It is so adorable!


The Electric Woman: A Memoir in Death-Defying Acts Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780374158378
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Farrar Straus and Giroux - May 1st, 2018