Katrina

"We are all stardust and stories."
--Erin Morgenstern, The Starless Sea

 

 

Staff Pick Badge
The Queen in the Cave Cover Image
By Júlia Sardà, Júlia Sardà (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781536220544
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Candlewick Studio - May 24th, 2022

This book has such amazing, quirky illustrations and every time you look at a page you'll discover something new. 


Staff Pick Badge
The Sign for Home: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781982175955
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atria/Emily Bestler Books - April 5th, 2022

The Sign for Home does exactly what books and stories are supposed to do: offers a new perspective and gives insight into another's life that you aren't familiar with. I learned so much about ASL, tactile ASL, and the life of someone who cannot rely on all of their senses. I absolutely loved the characters. They are all so genuine and full of humanity, heart, and soul. They jump right off the page and into your heart. I highly recommend this novel- it's a much needed, refreshing read! 


Staff Pick Badge
Sea of Tranquility: A novel Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9780593321447
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf - April 5th, 2022

As soon as I started reading this novel, I knew it would end too soon. I wanted to linger with it, yet couldn't stop turning the pages. Emily St John Mandel is a master storyteller, interweaving plots with exquisite writing and small details that tie all of the storylines together. She expertly writes about humanity, even as it spans centuries and planets. I absolutely adore this novel! 


Staff Pick Badge
Jelly Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781419745577
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Amulet Paperbacks - March 1st, 2022

This is one of the strangest books I've ever read (and strange books are my favorite)! It's such a fun read. I LOVED IT! 


Staff Pick Badge
Woman, Eating: A Literary Vampire Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780063140882
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperVia - April 12th, 2022

A brand new take on the vampire novel is extremely relatable as Lydia tries to deal with things that many young adults face: aging parents, depression, new job, crushes, fitting in and finding herself. But on top of that, she also has the immense hunger of being a vampire and trying to find food that isn't human. I loved this novel and the fact that it's actually so relatable. Perfect for readers of Ottessa Moshfegh.


Staff Pick Badge
Reptile Memoirs Cover Image
By Silje Ulstein, Alison McCullough (Translator)
$27.00
ISBN: 9780802158864
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Grove Press - March 15th, 2022

This dark, twisty novel will snake into your thoughts and not let go. Multiple storylines ebb and flow, coming together to reveal shocking secrets that will change your perspective. This debut thriller set in Norway is not one to miss!


Staff Pick Badge
How High We Go in the Dark: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780063072640
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow - January 18th, 2022

I loved, loved, loved this stunning collection of interconnected stories. It's so imaginative, intelligent, and unique. What may seem like a dark book is actually quite comforting and full of hope. This is one that is going to linger with me for a long time to come. 


Staff Pick Badge
Memphis: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780593230480
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: The Dial Press - April 5th, 2022

This novel, well written and captivating from page one, follows the women in a Southern Black family through the generations in Memphis. These strong female characters hooked me and surprised me, making me keep turning the pages. They deal with racism and violence with strength, bravery, and grace. The writing is rich with emotion and family, but also wit and humor.


Staff Pick Badge
Little Foxes Took Up Matches Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9781953534026
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tin House Books - April 5th, 2022

Mitya's coming of age story in late 1980's Russia is sometimes harsh and brutal, but also enchanting with a touch of fairy tale elements. Very well done! 


Staff Pick Badge
Medusa Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781547607594
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bloomsbury YA - January 11th, 2022

A lyrical retelling of Medusa's story- from a girl who is unfairly punished by the Gods and Goddesses to a woman who knows her true self. I absolutely loved this book. It's full of love and longing, hope and betrayal, strength and power. A completely dazzling book that should not be missed! 


Staff Pick Badge
Things We Lost in the Fire: Stories Cover Image
$24.00
ISBN: 9780451495112
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Hogarth - February 21st, 2017

These short stories are dark and disturbing. But they're so intriguing that you can't stop reading. They get under your skin and you can't stop thinking about them.


Pre-Order Now Badge
Feral Creatures Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781538735251
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Grand Central Publishing - June 28th, 2022

I cannot contain the excitement and passion that pours out of me when talking about Hollow Kingdom, and now Feral Creatures. I have pushed it on all of my friends and have received only positive feedback. This book is superb- a second read proves it may be my favorite book ever. And the follow up, Feral Creatures, is simply perfect as well. Spectacularly written, funny, devastating, brutal, and unforgettable. I am absolutely obsessed with Kira Jane Buxton's books. S.T. is my very favorite and I will love him forever. 


Staff Pick Badge
Hollow Kingdom Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781538745830
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Grand Central Publishing - July 7th, 2020

I absolutely adored this novel. It was thrilling, funny, and full of emotion. It made me laugh, gasp, cry, and then laugh some more- all out loud, no matter where I was reading. Besides a page-turning plot, the writing was phenomenal and the characters really struck a chord with me, despite (or maybe because of) almost all of them being animals. When all the humans in the world start succumbing to a disease that turns them into zombie-like creatures, S.T. the crow(who thinks he should have been born human) and his faithful Bloodhound must go on a quest to free the pets of the world from the confines of the houses they are locked in. S.T. is such a plucky, genuine narrator and unlike any I've read before- I loved him so much. From page 1 this book drew me in and I couldn't stop reading it or thinking about it. I want to sit down and read it all over again.   (After a second read, it still holds up!) 


Staff Pick Badge
Did You Hear What Eddie Gein Done? Cover Image
$29.99
ISBN: 9781949889048
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Albatross Funnybooks - August 24th, 2021

This intense, fascinating graphic novel tells the life story of Ed Gein- from growing up under the thumb of his domineering, extremely religious mother to his breakdown after her death that led to the disturbing activity that mad him infamous. Clearly well researched.