Katrina

"We are all stardust and stories."
--Erin Morgenstern, The Starless Sea

 

 

Pre-Order Now Badge
Stone Blind: A Novel By Natalie Haynes Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780063258396
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Harper - February 7th, 2023

Medusa was not always the snake-haired "monster" that turns living creatures to stone with one glance. She was once a young girl: taken advantage of, punished unfairly, and then hunted down. This compulsively readable novel, told by many voices, begs the questions: Who really is the monster in the stories and what made them that way? This book will make you question what you think you know about Greek mythology.


Pre-Order Now Badge
The Golden Spoon: A Novel By Jessa Maxwell Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781668008003
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Atria Books - March 7th, 2023

This comparison says it all: this book is exactly like The Great British Baking show mixed with Agatha Christie. A new season of Bake Week is being filmed. Some contestants may have ulterior motives for being there, but that could also be said of the judges and crew. Baking mishaps ensue and escalate- are they really just accidents or is something more devious going on behind the scenes? Deliciously charming and twisty, you will not be able to put it down. 


Pre-Order Now Badge
Walking Practice: A Novel By Dolki Min, Victoria Caudle (Translated by) Cover Image
By Dolki Min, Victoria Caudle (Translated by)
$26.99
ISBN: 9780063258617
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: HarperVia - March 14th, 2023

This slim but brutal and intense novel is centered around an alien who is just trying to survive on Earth- and that happens to be by eating humans. However, the social anxiety attached to hunting and blending in with humans is extremely relatable. The story touches on humanity, morality, gender, culture, and society. Perfect for fans of Tender is the Flesh by Agustina Bazterrica. 


Staff Pick Badge
The Stars Did Wander Darkling By Colin Meloy Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780063015517
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Balzer + Bray - September 13th, 2022

This is a fun horror novel that is perfect for fans of Stranger Things! Set in 1980's Oregon, Archie and his friends start to notice weird things happening and it's up to them to save the town. Great characters, sense of setting, and lots of twists make this creepy story come to life! 


Staff Pick Badge
The Penelopiad (Canons) By Margaret Atwood Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781786892485
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Canongate Books - February 22nd, 2022

We all know Odysseus' side of the story, but what about his wife? In The Penelopiad, Atwood tells us Penelope's side of the story with acerbic wit and sly humor. 


Staff Pick Badge
Cursed Bunny: Stories By Bora Chung, Anton Hur (Translated by) Cover Image
By Bora Chung, Anton Hur (Translated by)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781643753607
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Algonquin Books - December 6th, 2022

This curious collection is filled with unnerving and disturbing stories that you won't be able to forget.


Staff Pick Badge
Vampire Weekend By Mike Chen Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780778386964
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Mira Books - January 31st, 2023

I had such a fun time with this book! It revolves around vampires, family, belonging, and punk rock- but really it's so much more. Louise is probably one of the most relatable vampires I've come across. She leads a pretty low-key life with her corgi, playing punk rock music and working night shifts. Chen's descriptions of a love for music, live shows, and the music scene are spot on and make you want to find a local show to go to. 


Staff Pick Badge
How High We Go in the Dark: A Novel By Sequoia Nagamatsu Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780063072657
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - January 10th, 2023

I loved, loved, loved this stunning collection of interconnected stories. It's so imaginative, intelligent, and unique. What may seem like a dark book is actually quite comforting and full of hope. This is one that is going to linger with me for a long time to come. 


Staff Pick Badge
Motherthing By Ainslie Hogarth Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780593467022
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - September 27th, 2022

I absolutely loved the voice in this novel- it instantly hooked me. Ainslie Hogarth's novel is filled with such dark, offbeat humor. It's seriously so witty and funny, but still deals with tough topics like depression, grief, and trauma. It begs the question: are ghosts real, imaginary, or something in between? This story of domestic "un-bliss" is perfect for fans of Otessa Moshfegh or Clare Kohda. 


Staff Pick Badge
We Spread By Iain Reid Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781982169350
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Gallery/Scout Press - September 27th, 2022

Sparse prose tells us a captivating story steeped in a rising feeling of dread. It's about aging, the cost of remembering and the cost of forgetting- and which one is higher. I couldn't put this book down and had to stop myself from reading ahead. I can't wait to share this book with others so we can talk about that ending! 


Staff Pick Badge
Slenderman: Online Obsession, Mental Illness, and the Violent Crime of Two Midwestern Girls By Kathleen Hale Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780802159809
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Grove Press - August 16th, 2022

I just couldn't stop reading this book. The first full account of the Slenderman case, we see how mental illness spiraled into horror. The author is from Waukesha, WI and provides inside insight into the culture of the Midwest. More than just a rundown of violence that occurred, this book also tells of how mental illness and incarceration is dealt with in Wisconsin- especially for youth. Very well done. 


Staff Pick Badge
Tender Is the Flesh By Agustina Bazterrica, Sarah Moses (Translated by) Cover Image
By Agustina Bazterrica, Sarah Moses (Translated by)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781982150921
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scribner - August 4th, 2020

This is an EXTREMELY dark and disturbing dystopian novel that I could not stop reading. It's intense, thought provoking, and impossible to forget. 


Staff Pick Badge
Dirtbag, Massachusetts: A Confessional By Isaac Fitzgerald Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781635573978
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - July 19th, 2022

Reading this book feels like sitting in a dive bar with a new friend who feels like he's an old friend, swapping stories and reminiscing. Not afraid to be gritty yet tender, hilarious but heartfelt, Fitzgerald tells his story with honesty and personality shining through the entire book.


Staff Pick Badge
The Mermaid of Black Conch: A novel By Monique Roffey Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780593534205
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf - July 12th, 2022

This is a mesmerizing and evocative novel set in the Caribbean that gives you a sense of the ancient wisdom of the culture. It's about loneliness, love, freedom, curses and what makes us human-especially a human woman. I was absolutely enthralled by this story of the mermaid Aycayia and the fisherman David who fell in love with her.


Staff Pick Badge
How to Be Eaten: A Novel By Maria Adelmann Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780316450843
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown and Company - May 31st, 2022

I absolutely adored this novel. It subverts how fairy tales are told, letting the "damsel in distress" tell her own side of the story. In a support group setting, we learn how these women are dealing (or not dealing) with the trauma of surviving what happened to them. Not every story has a happily ever after. 


Staff Pick Badge
The Sign for Home: A Novel By Blair Fell Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781982175955
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atria/Emily Bestler Books - April 5th, 2022

The Sign for Home does exactly what books and stories are supposed to do: offers a new perspective and gives insight into another's life that you aren't familiar with. I learned so much about ASL, tactile ASL, and the life of someone who cannot rely on all of their senses. I absolutely loved the characters. They are all so genuine and full of humanity, heart, and soul. They jump right off the page and into your heart. I highly recommend this novel- it's a much needed, refreshing read! 


Staff Pick Badge
Coraline By Neil Gaiman Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780063088238
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - September 21st, 2021

I absolutely adore Coraline! She's a great heroine- smart, brave, and spunky. If you've never read it before- you've got to pick it up now! 


Staff Pick Badge
Medusa By Jessie Burton, Olivia Lomenech Gill (Illustrator) Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781547607594
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bloomsbury YA - January 11th, 2022

A lyrical retelling of Medusa's story- from a girl who is unfairly punished by the Gods and Goddesses to a woman who knows her true self. I absolutely loved this book. It's full of love and longing, hope and betrayal, strength and power. A completely dazzling book that should not be missed! 


Staff Pick Badge
Feral Creatures By Kira Jane Buxton Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781538735251
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Grand Central Publishing - June 28th, 2022

I cannot contain the excitement and passion that pours out of me when talking about Hollow Kingdom, and now Feral Creatures. I have pushed it on all of my friends and have received only positive feedback. This book is superb- a second read proves it may be my favorite book ever. And the follow up, Feral Creatures, is simply perfect as well. Spectacularly written, funny, devastating, brutal, and unforgettable. I am absolutely obsessed with Kira Jane Buxton's books. S.T. is my very favorite and I will love him forever. 


Staff Pick Badge
Hollow Kingdom By Kira Jane Buxton Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781538745830
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Grand Central Publishing - July 7th, 2020

I absolutely adored this novel. It was thrilling, funny, and full of emotion. It made me laugh, gasp, cry, and then laugh some more- all out loud, no matter where I was reading. Besides a page-turning plot, the writing was phenomenal and the characters really struck a chord with me, despite (or maybe because of) almost all of them being animals. When all the humans in the world start succumbing to a disease that turns them into zombie-like creatures, S.T. the crow(who thinks he should have been born human) and his faithful Bloodhound must go on a quest to free the pets of the world from the confines of the houses they are locked in. S.T. is such a plucky, genuine narrator and unlike any I've read before- I loved him so much. From page 1 this book drew me in and I couldn't stop reading it or thinking about it. I want to sit down and read it all over again.   (After a second read, it still holds up!)