Katrina

"We are all stardust and stories."
--Erin Morgenstern, The Starless Sea

 

 

Staff Pick Badge
Brat: A Novel By Gabriel Smith Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593656877
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Press - June 4th, 2024

I couldn't stop reading this novel. It's disturbing and quietly creepy in the best way. It's about the stories told surrounding family secrets, ghosts (real and/or imaginary), and how grief can exacerbate the uneasiness of those things. This book will make the hairs on the back of your neck stand up as though you were the one being haunted. I will be thinking about this book for a long time. Perfect for fans of Iain Reid and Ottessa Moshfegh.


Staff Pick Badge
All Friends Are Necessary: A Novel By Tomas Moniz Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781643755816
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Algonquin Books - June 11th, 2024

I loved this novel! It's about the tenderness of true friendship and the importance of connection, acceptance, kindness, and understanding. It's funny, relatable, and makes you appreciate the little things in life that bring happiness and contentment. It makes me want to hug my best friends and not let go. 


Staff Pick Badge
Brittle Joints By Maria Sweeney Cover Image
$20.99
ISBN: 9781951491260
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Street Noise Books - June 25th, 2024

What a powerful graphic memoir. Maria is living with a rare condition that makes her bones very brittle and causes her immense pain. She takes us through her life living as an ambulatory wheelchair user, how she deals with so much chronic pain, fighting with the US healthcare system, and the judgement of others. Through this however she sees much beauty and joy in the world, in the quiet moments of sunsets, time with friends, and love. This is a beautiful and important book.


Staff Pick Badge
Kittentits By Holly Wilson Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781638931089
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Zando - Gillian Flynn Books - May 21st, 2024

Molly is a rambunctious, foul mouthed ten year old who can see ghosts that tells us her utterly unique story in a darkly hilarious tone. It's a gritty, in your face, wild ride that you won't be able to look away from. 


Staff Pick Badge
Olivetti By Allie Millington Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250326935
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Feiwel & Friends - March 26th, 2024

I adore Olivetti. I was immediately swept away by this beautiful, charming story. It's the perfect heartbreaking and heartwarming mix that I love in the best middle grade books. Olivetti makes me want to bring a typewriter into my family. Perfect for fans of Wishtree. 


Staff Pick Badge
Calypso By Oliver K. Langmead Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781803365336
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Titan Books - April 2nd, 2024

Calypso is a most unique and beautifully written sci-fi poetic epic. It's mind-bending, all consuming, and unputdownable. It's strange, beautiful, and thoughtful. I've never read anything like this and I won't soon forget it. I loved it. 


Staff Pick Badge
It Lasts Forever and Then It's Over By Anne de Marcken Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780811237857
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: New Directions - March 5th, 2024

I love this little novel. It's unique, funny, and thoughtful. My very favorite kind of zombie story. From the first page, I knew it was going to be a book that I want to start rereading as soon as I finish. 


Staff Pick Badge
You'd Look Better as a Ghost: A Novel By Joanna Wallace Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780143136170
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - March 26th, 2024

Claire may be a serial killer but she's also grieving the death of her father. When she joins a grief support group, she realizes that she may not have been as careful as she thought she was with her hobby and that someone knows her secrets. Full of dark, biting humor, wit and snark- this novel is perfect for fans of Maeve Fly by CJ Leede or My Sister the Serial Killer by Oyinkan Braithwaite.


Staff Pick Badge
This Thing Between Us: A Novel By Gus Moreno Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780374539238
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: MCD x FSG Originals - October 12th, 2021

A fascinating horror novel that grows more eerie and disturbing the more you read. Dealing with grief and loneliness, but with a humorous voice that offsets the quietly building terror. You won't be able to put it down! 


Staff Pick Badge
Fifty Beasts to Break Your Heart: And Other Stories By GennaRose Nethercott Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780593314180
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - February 6th, 2024

Full of strange and beautiful fairy tales that have a slightly sinister, yet magical feel. I love everything about this book: the writing, the stories, the illustrations, the cover, the characters, the concept, the feelings. I cannot praise it highly enough! 


Staff Pick Badge
Oryx and Crake (The MaddAddam Trilogy #1) By Margaret Atwood Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780385721677
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - March 30th, 2004

The first in Margaret Atwood's Maddaddam triloly, Oryx and Crake is absolutely spectacular. If you haven't read it yet, you must! I could not put it down! 


Staff Pick Badge
The Year of the Flood (The MaddAddam Trilogy #2) By Margaret Atwood Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780307455475
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - July 27th, 2010

I still can't stop thinking about this series! 

 


MaddAddam (The MaddAddam Trilogy #3) By Margaret Atwood Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780307455482
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Anchor - August 12th, 2014

What a finale! I could read thousands of pages of this series. I adore it. 


Staff Pick Badge
Blood and Lightning: On Becoming a Tattooer By Dustin Kiskaddon Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781503635609
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Stanford University Press - February 27th, 2024

This is a fascinating look inside the world of tattooing. Kiskaddon digs deep into the culture of tattooing, touching on race, gender, consent, morals, ethics, and so much more. This should be required reading for tattoo artists. 


Staff Pick Badge
The Melancholy Death of Oyster Boy: and Other Stories By Tim Burton Cover Image
$22.99
ISBN: 9780688156817
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dey Street Books - October 22nd, 1997

I love this little book so much. It's so weird and wonderful and wonderfully weird. Perfect for anyone who loves Tim Burton.


Staff Pick Badge
The Low, Low Woods (Hill House Comics) By Carmen Maria Machado, Dani Strips (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Carmen Maria Machado, Dani Strips (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781779513120
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: DC Comics - September 21st, 2021

I loved this eerie graphic novel! The story is great, the art and colors are fantastic. I couldn't put it down! 


Staff Pick Badge
How High We Go in the Dark: A Novel By Sequoia Nagamatsu Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780063072657
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - January 10th, 2023

I loved, loved, loved this stunning collection of interconnected stories. It's so imaginative, intelligent, and unique. What may seem like a dark book is actually quite comforting and full of hope. This is one that is going to linger with me for a long time to come. 


Staff Pick Badge
Slenderman: Online Obsession, Mental Illness, and the Violent Crime of Two Midwestern Girls By Kathleen Hale Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780802161826
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Grove Press - June 20th, 2023

I just couldn't stop reading this book. The first full account of the Slenderman case, we see how mental illness spiraled into horror. The author is from Waukesha, WI and provides inside insight into the culture of the Midwest. More than just a rundown of violence that occurred, this book also tells of how mental illness and incarceration is dealt with in Wisconsin- especially for youth. Very well done. 


Staff Pick Badge
Feral Creatures By Kira Jane Buxton Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781538735251
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Grand Central Publishing - June 28th, 2022

I cannot contain the excitement and passion that pours out of me when talking about Hollow Kingdom, and now Feral Creatures. I have pushed it on all of my friends and have received only positive feedback. This book is superb- a second read proves it may be my favorite book ever. And the follow up, Feral Creatures, is simply perfect as well. Spectacularly written, funny, devastating, brutal, and unforgettable. I am absolutely obsessed with Kira Jane Buxton's books. S.T. is my very favorite and I will love him forever. 


Staff Pick Badge
Hollow Kingdom By Kira Jane Buxton Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781538745830
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Grand Central Publishing - July 7th, 2020

I absolutely adored this novel. It was thrilling, funny, and full of emotion. It made me laugh, gasp, cry, and then laugh some more- all out loud, no matter where I was reading. Besides a page-turning plot, the writing was phenomenal and the characters really struck a chord with me, despite (or maybe because of) almost all of them being animals. When all the humans in the world start succumbing to a disease that turns them into zombie-like creatures, S.T. the crow(who thinks he should have been born human) and his faithful Bloodhound must go on a quest to free the pets of the world from the confines of the houses they are locked in. S.T. is such a plucky, genuine narrator and unlike any I've read before- I loved him so much. From page 1 this book drew me in and I couldn't stop reading it or thinking about it. I want to sit down and read it all over again.   (After a second read, it still holds up!) 


Staff Pick Badge
It's Lonely at the Centre of the Earth By Zoe Thorogood, Zoe Thorogood (By (artist)) Cover Image
By Zoe Thorogood, Zoe Thorogood (By (artist))
$12.99
ISBN: 9781534323865
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Image Comics - November 15th, 2022

I loved this autobiographic novel. The varying art styles are captivating and the story is so relatable as Zoe deals with depression and anxiety. Definitely a must read!