Katrina

"I lived in books more than I lived anywhere else."
--Neil Gaiman, The Ocean at the End of the Lane

 

Staff Pick Badge
Hollow Kingdom Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781538745823
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Grand Central Publishing - August 6th, 2019

I absolutely adored this novel. It was thrilling, funny, and full of emotion. It made me laugh, gasp, cry, and then laugh some more- all out loud, no matter where I was reading. Besides a page-turning plot, the writing was phenomenal and the characters really struck a chord with me, despite (or maybe because of) almost all of them being animals. When all the humans in the world start succumbing to a disease that turns them into zombie-like creatures, S.T. the crow(who thinks he should have been born human) and his faithful Bloodhound must go on a quest to free the pets of the world from the confines of the houses they are locked in. S.T. is such a plucky, genuine narrator and unlike any I've read before- I loved him so much. From page 1 this book drew me in and I couldn't stop reading it or thinking about it. I want to sit down and read it all over again. 


Staff Pick Badge
Strange Planet Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9780062970701
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Morrow Gift - November 19th, 2019

I love these cartoons! They are hilarious and relatable! 


Staff Pick Badge
Snow & Rose Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780553538212
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Yearling - October 1st, 2019

A perfect fairy tale! Complete with charming illustrations, this is a wonderful and delightful book! 


Staff Pick Badge
Things We Didn't Talk About When I Was a Girl: A Memoir Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9781947793453
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tin House Books - October 1st, 2019

Wow. This memoir is fascinating. Jeannie Vanasco is an incredible writer and the unique style of storytelling and transcribing phone calls makes this a page turner. Such an important book that will no doubt open up a space for conversations that desperately need to happen. Read it! 


Staff Pick Badge
Magic for Liars: A Novel Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9781250174611
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Books - June 4th, 2019

Magic For Liars was a fantastic read! Full of mystery, magic, intrigue, twists, and just enough drama to keep pages turning. Oh, and there's even a Chosen One Prophecy. A strange death (murder or suicide?) at a school for mages brings P.I. Ivy Gamble to Osthorne Academy- a place where she doesn't feel like she fits in because she has no magic powers even though her sister, a teacher there, does. Ivy is a relatable and deep character, with both flaws and strengths. I absolutely loved this book and think it's perfect for readers of mystery, fantasy, and those who just want a great story. 


Staff Pick Badge
The Saturday Night Ghost Club: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780143133933
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - July 9th, 2019

What sounds like it could be a gruesome horror story is really a fresh coming of age story centered around one summer in 1980's Niagara Falls. With just enough spookiness, heart, and action, this was a fantastic read. It's a novel that takes you back to when you were a kid, running around on a summer's night, discovering secrets in the dark with your closest friends. Relatable, interesting characters and a twist ending are just the cherries on top. Perfect for fans of Netflix's Stranger Things, Edgar Cantero's Meddling Kids but also those who are more faint of heart and don't want full on horror, just the atmosphere of creepiness filled with tenderness too.


Staff Pick Badge
Machine: A Novel Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9781555978471
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graywolf Press - August 20th, 2019

I devoured this novel and it left me reeling. Steinberg has an utterly unique way of telling this story of blame, privilege, and dwindling innocence felt by a teenage girl when another girl drowns. Though it sounds like a plot done before, the style of writing is fresh and perfect for authentically telling this story. It's hypnotic and haunting; intense and thrilling; poetic and lyrical. A short book that packs a punch. Dark, yet somehow lovely. 


Staff Pick Badge
A Cosmology of Monsters: A Novel Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9781524747671
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Pantheon - September 17th, 2019

I loved Cosmology of Monsters! It went places I wasn't expecting and I enjoyed the unpredictability  From the title, I was expecting werewolves chasing people through the haunted house but there's really so much more to it than that. It's the story of a family who happen to be followed by monsters and decide to set up a haunted house called the Wandering Dark, not expecting it would connect them all so much. It was really well done and I thoroughly enjoyed my time in the Wandering Dark.


Staff Pick Badge
Someone Who Will Love You in All Your Damaged Glory: Stories Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9781524732011
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf - June 11th, 2019

This short story collection by the creator of Netflix's Bojack Horseman is full of the expected dark humor, but also insightful looks into relationships and life in general. From the personal relationships of superheroes to a dog's inner monologue to a wedding with some unusual traditions, this collection is a great read that goes to unexpected places. It was very unique and had the Bojack humor mixed with touching moments that I love. You're laughing at something and then the next moment realize your heartstrings are being pulled. Completely original and entertaining. 


Staff Pick Badge
This Was Our Pact Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781626720534
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: First Second - June 11th, 2019

“The pact is simple: keep going down the river to see where the lanterns go. No one turns for home and no one looks back. This is a refreshing adventure story featuring two boys who follow lanterns along the river, lit by their town on the autumn equinox, to see where they end up. The myth says they turn into stars, but Ben and Nathaniel are the only two who make the journey to actually find out. The illustrations and color palate helped tell the story, which was in parts sweet, funny, magical, and touching. Also, there’s a dashing talking bear. This is a great story for readers of all ages!


Staff Pick Badge
Dark Days: A Memoir Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780306825095
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Da Capo Press - July 12th, 2016

This memoir from the vocalist of metal band Lamb of God explains the story of how he was imprisoned in Prague following the accidental death of a fan. So well written and full of voice and character!