Katrina

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

"I lived in books more than I lived anywhere else."
--Neil Gaiman, The Ocean at the End of the Lane

Staff Pick Logo
Adjustment Day Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9780393652598
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - May 1st, 2018

Adjustment Day is the satirical masterpiece that we could only expect from Chuck Palahniuk-twisted, offensive, and unputdownable. It is a tale set in the not so distant future where the United States isn't so united and a new regime has taken over following the teachings of a mysterious blue-black book by a man named Talbott. Filled with his typical humor and biting sarcasm that no one is safe from, we see how a variety of people are affected by the life-changing event that is Adjustment Day. New Palahniuk fans will certainly be reeled in and cult followers will love the inside references made to his previous work. I was not disappointed!


Staff Pick Logo
Pizzeria Kamikaze Cover Image
By Asaf Hanuka (Illustrator), Etgar Keret
$24.99
ISBN: 9781684151196
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Archaia - March 6th, 2018

The graphic novel version of one of my very favorite short stories Kneller's Happy Campers.  I love, love love it!


Staff Pick Logo
Blackfish City: A Novel Cover Image
$22.99
ISBN: 9780062684820
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ecco - April 17th, 2018

Set in the floating city of Qaanaaq in a future world when most main lands are uninhabitable, this is an intriguing novel of survival, family, and revenge. Following four main characters all unknowingly connected, we see the city through their eyes. When a woman comes to Qaanaaq on a small boat with an orca and a polar bear with her, all of their lives are changed forever. A fast-paced unique story complete with criminal political factions, new technology, and people with the ability to bond with animals and control them. My only qualm was that it wasn't longer, I would love to read more about the world of Qaanaaq and it's inhabitants!


Staff Pick Logo
The Rending and the Nest Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781632869722
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bloomsbury UK - February 20th, 2018

The Rending and the Nest is more than just another post apocalyptic novel- it is a meaningful story about friendship, motherhood, and the importance of having your own story. Set in a world where 95% of the population has disappeared with no rhyme or reason, small communities have been organized, such as Zion, and a sense of normalcy is returning. When the women start giving birth to inanimate objects, that normalcy is shattered. A traveler comes from a neighboring community and furthers changes the residents lives. This novel, perfect for fans of Emily St John Mandel's Station Eleven or Megan Hunter's The End We Start From, stuck with me for weeks after I finished it.


Staff Pick Logo
The Virginia State Colony for Epileptics and Feebleminded: Poems Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780892554782
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Persea Books - March 7th, 2017

Wow! These poems are haunting and unforgettable!


Staff Pick Logo
The Hazel Wood Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250147905
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Flatiron Books - January 30th, 2018

The Hazel Wood had exactly what I wanted: a strong female main character, brutal fairy tales, and a trip into a magical land. I devoured this book and immediately wanted more of the thrilling, eerie, and darkly magical story. Alice and her mother Ella have been on the run for as long as Alice can remember, trying to stay away from the bad luck that always seems to follow them. They are estranged from Ella's mother, a famous but reclusive author of dark fairy tales who lives on an estate called The Hazel Wood. When Ella goes missing after they receive a letter saying her mother died, Alice must find The Hazel Wood with the help Ellery Finch, a fan of her grandmother's cult classic book. The idea of the power of stories to come alive is quite literal in this unique fantasy that teens and adults alike will fall for.


Staff Pick Logo
Meddling Kids Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9780385541992
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Doubleday Books - July 11th, 2017

A Scooby Doo-like gang of young adults(and one intuitive dog) must band together after a decade apart to resolve their last case. Hilarious, genuinely creepy, and full of pop culture references, this is a highly entertaining mystery with dark twists and turns. These meddling kids are up against a real monster, not just a man in a giant salamander suit and I thoroughly enjoyed their story of second chances, friendship and demon fighting!


Staff Pick Logo
A Field Guide to the North American Family: An Illustrated Novella Cover Image
$22.00
ISBN: 9781101874950
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf Publishing Group - October 31st, 2017

I absolutely loved this quirky illustrated novella. The story of two families and how they survive after the father of one dies. With stunning photographs throughout we get a small look into thier world and emotions.


Staff Pick Logo
The Little Book of Knowledge: Heavy Metal Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781684050697
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: IDW Publishing - November 28th, 2017

The history of metal in a handy, fun little book!


Staff Pick Logo
Ink Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338196993
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Press - January 2nd, 2018

In a world where everyone has tattoos to tell their life stories and people who have no tattoos are called "blanks" and are a danger to society, Leora must question everything she knows and believes in after her father passes away and his secret past comes to light. A unique and thought provoking storyline grabbed me at once and I loved it.


Staff Pick Logo
Dark Days: A Memoir Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780306825095
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Da Capo Press - July 12th, 2016

This memoir from the vocalist of metal band Lamb of God explains the story of how he was imprisoned in Prague following the accidental death of a fan. So well written and full of voice and character!


Staff Pick Logo
The Hike Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780399563874
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - July 4th, 2017

The Hike grabbed my attention from the first chapter and didn't let go! Fast-paced, funny and bizarre, with fairy tale themes throughout, it follows Ben as he goes for a hike around a small country hotel and ends up way off the path in a seemingly magical land. Is it all in his head; did he really go that far off the trail? You'll keep reading just to find out what happens next (you won't believe it!) and yet it's so entertaining that you don't want it to end. One of my favorite books of the year, The Hike has a little something for everyone. And don't forget to stay on the path!