Katrina

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

"I lived in books more than I lived anywhere else."
--Neil Gaiman, The Ocean at the End of the Lane

Staff Pick Logo
Adjustment Day Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9780393652598
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - May 1st, 2018

Adjustment Day is the satirical masterpiece that we could only expect from Chuck Palahniuk-twisted, offensive, and unputdownable. It is a tale set in the not so distant future where the United States isn't so united and a new regime has taken over following the teachings of a mysterious blue-black book by a man named Talbott. Filled with his typical humor and biting sarcasm that no one is safe from, we see how a variety of people are affected by the life-changing event that is Adjustment Day. New Palahniuk fans will certainly be reeled in and cult followers will love the inside references made to his previous work. I was not disappointed!


Staff Pick Logo
Pizzeria Kamikaze Cover Image
By Asaf Hanuka (Illustrator), Etgar Keret
$24.99
ISBN: 9781684151196
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Archaia - March 6th, 2018

The graphic novel version of one of my very favorite short stories Kneller's Happy Campers.  I love, love love it!


Staff Pick Logo
Blackfish City: A Novel Cover Image
$22.99
ISBN: 9780062684820
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ecco - April 17th, 2018

Set in the floating city of Qaanaaq in a future world when most main lands are uninhabitable, this is an intriguing novel of survival, family, and revenge. Following four main characters all unknowingly connected, we see the city through their eyes. When a woman comes to Qaanaaq on a small boat with an orca and a polar bear with her, all of their lives are changed forever. A fast-paced unique story complete with criminal political factions, new technology, and people with the ability to bond with animals and control them. My only qualm was that it wasn't longer, I would love to read more about the world of Qaanaaq and it's inhabitants!


Staff Pick Logo
The Rending and the Nest Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781632869722
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bloomsbury USA - February 20th, 2018

The Rending and the Nest is more than just another post apocalyptic novel- it is a meaningful story about friendship, motherhood, and the importance of having your own story. Set in a world where 95% of the population has disappeared with no rhyme or reason, small communities have been organized, such as Zion, and a sense of normalcy is returning. When the women start giving birth to inanimate objects, that normalcy is shattered. A traveler comes from a neighboring community and furthers changes the residents lives. This novel, perfect for fans of Emily St John Mandel's Station Eleven or Megan Hunter's The End We Start From, stuck with me for weeks after I finished it.


Staff Pick Logo
The Virginia State Colony for Epileptics and Feebleminded: Poems Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780892554782
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Persea Books - March 7th, 2017

Wow! These poems are haunting and unforgettable!


Staff Pick Logo
Vox Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780440000785
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Berkley - August 21st, 2018

This book is so compelling! It's fast- paced with short chapters that make it compulsively readable. This is definitely the next Handmaid's Tale. It is extremely timely and important. What would you say if you could only say 100 words a day? 


Staff Pick Logo
Dark Days: A Memoir Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780306825095
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Da Capo Press - July 12th, 2016

This memoir from the vocalist of metal band Lamb of God explains the story of how he was imprisoned in Prague following the accidental death of a fan. So well written and full of voice and character!


Staff Pick Logo
Invader Zim Vol. 1 Cover Image
By Jhonen Vasquez, Eric Trueheart (Illustrator), Aaron Alexovich (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781620102930
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Oni Press - February 9th, 2016

Staff Pick Logo
Invader Zim, Volume 2 Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781620103364
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Oni Press - August 9th, 2016

Staff Pick Logo
Invader Zim Vol. 3 Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781620103715
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Oni Press - January 3rd, 2017

Staff Pick Logo
Invader Zim Vol. 4 Cover Image
By Jhonen Vasquez, Aaron Alexovich (Illustrator), Warren Wucinich (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781620104286
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Oni Press - August 15th, 2017

Staff Pick Logo
Invader Zim Vol. 5 Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781620104781
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Oni Press - March 6th, 2018

Staff Pick Logo
Invader ZIM Vol. 6 Cover Image
By Eric Trueheart, Sarah Graley, Sam Logan, Maddie C. (Illustrator), Mady G. (Illustrator), Fred C. Stresing (Illustrator), Sarah Graley (Illustrator), Sarah Stern (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781620105368
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Oni Press - September 4th, 2018

Staff Pick Logo
My Absolute Darling: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780735211186
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - June 26th, 2018

Such an intense novel! You will root for Turtle as she realizes her abusive father is not the whole world. Fantastic writing! The last few chapters were some of the most gripping I've ever read- I could not put the book down!


Staff Pick Logo
Cats on Catnip Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780762463671
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Running Press Adult - June 19th, 2018

You have to look at this book! I dare you not to laugh! It is so adorable!


Staff Pick Logo
The Electric Woman: A Memoir in Death-Defying Acts Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780374158378
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - May 1st, 2018

You know the feeling you get when you read a book and it's like the author is the only one who has felt the same way you have? Well, this is that book for me. It's so compelling and made me feel deeply!