Kid's Advisory Board Reviews

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Escape This Book! Titanic Cover Image
By Bill Doyle, Sarah Sax (Illustrator)
$10.99
ISBN: 9780525644200
Availability: Not Yet Published
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - March 19th, 2019

I really liked this book - it was very interactive and fun. It's set up like you are a master escapologist apprentice and you're training by escaping from the Titanic in three different ways. In one scenario you are a stowaway. That brings many dangers but it's interesting to see things from that viewpoint. In the second scenario you are a crewmember, running errands for a rich family. And in the third you're a passenger, wandering freely - but you have to be careful where you go. To use this book, have a pencil ready. Along with the reading, you'll do small challenges, solve puzzles, create stuff, draw and play games as you work toward escape. I recommend this book to fans of Choose-Your-Own Adventures, people who liked the "Time Traveler's Guides" to history and anyone interested in learning about history in a fun way.

- Review by Michael, age 10


The Lost Rainforest #2: Gogi's Gambit Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062491114
Availability: Not Yet Published
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - February 5th, 2019

I read this book 3 times in a row it was so good.  The characters are all animals, which I really loved, and there are no humans around.  I would like to put this book in my own personal collection right next to the first book in the series.  I learned a lesson about revenge- that is stinks.

 

review by Elli, age 10


New Kid Cover Image
By Jerry Craft, Jerry Craft (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062691194
Availability: Not Yet Published
Published: HarperCollins - February 5th, 2019

This graphic novel was really good and really funny, with lots of true-to-life insights. It places in the ranks of the "Wimpy Kid" books in terms of relate-ability. The main character, Jordan, lives in the inner city in New York and he transfers to a private school in a really rich area. The school is predominantly white, with maybe three black kids, and he runs into all kinds of subtle racism, even from one of the teachers.Like for example, one teacher keeps calling him by the name of another black kid from the previous year who was a "real problem." At the same time, he's trying to adapt to a new school, new classes and deal with all of the normal adjustments of teenage years. The book is really great and I think there's something in it that everyone could appreciate, from readers in the upper elementary grades on up.

- Review by Colleen, age 13


Dragon Pearl Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781368013352
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Rick Riordan Presents - January 15th, 2019

This book was so incredibly good that I picked it up and read it, put it down and then picked it back up again.  I prefer a traditional happy ending but still wished it would never end.  I loved the space and time, the gadgets and the fantasy.

 

Review by  Elli, age 10


Max and the Midknights Cover Image
$13.99
ISBN: 9781101931080
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Crown Books for Young Readers - January 8th, 2019

This was a really good, hilarious book by the author of Big Nate, so it's sure to find a lot of fans. Actually, the author takes the fictional book that was from the Big Nate series, one that Nate did a book report on, and turns it into a real story. The main character is a troubadour, a traveling entertainer. Max travels to a kingdom where Max's uncle used to live. There used to be a nice, humble king there, but the old king has been replaced by his evil brother. Max decides to stop the evil king from ruling any longer and gets together a band of misfit knights to do that. Fans of the Big Nate and Wimpy Kid books should like this one, along with people who like humorous knightly adventures.

- Review by Michael, age 10


Caveboy Dave: Not So Faboo Cover Image
By Aaron Reynolds, Phil McAndrew (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780147516596
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - October 23rd, 2018

The second in a series, this was almost as good as Caveboy Dave #1, except it seems a little shorter. It starts with Caveboy Dave having invented a bunch of stuff, including watchtowers for their city. Using these watchtowers, they discover a giant flying bird they call "rippybeak" who caught a "pokeyhorn." They go to tell this news to their shaman, and discover the shaman is missing. It's up to Dave to come up with more new ideas. The story is funny, fast and humorously drawn, kind of in the style of Captain Underpants, except prehistoric. I would recommend it to fans of those kinds of silly illustrated books and graphic novel fans age 6 and up.
 
- Review by Michael, age 10


Monstrous Devices Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780451478580
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - October 16th, 2018

Monstrous Devices is a futuristic, sci-fi adventure story. It’s about a boy whose grandpa is always buying him toy robots. But this one is special. The boy falls asleep while doing homework, then wakes up to find the homework finished and ready. The grandpa immediately realized that the boy must come with him on his mission out of town. They end up having a creepy adventure.

- Review by Nidhi, age 10


Sanity & Tallulah Cover Image
By Molly Brooks, Molly Brooks (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9781368022804
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Disney-Hyperion - October 16th, 2018

With well-developed, realistic characters, a solid plot and good art, this graphic novel will appeal to a wide range of readers. The two main characters, best friends, bioengineer a three-headed cat. One day it gets loose from the lab on the spaceship where they live, and soon mysterious things start happening. The cat is blamed for the problems, but the girls suspect it's something else and begin investigating to clear their cat's name and save it from a possible death sentence. I'd recommend this book for readers age 7 and up, especially science fiction fans. It's particularly good for girls, but anyone should be able to enjoy it.

- Review by Michael, age 10


Forgotten City Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062696960
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: HarperCollins - October 9th, 2018

This book provoked lots of emotion, but it was also full of action as you piece together the story. Instead of providing a black vs. white, good vs. bad view of the world, you go back and forth several times trying to figure out who they "good guys" are. The story starts with the main character Kobi's dad being infected with a virus that had spread across the whole world. Basically, it's the apocalyse. It's called "The Waste" and it started 13 years ago.In this world, people have to stay away from The Waste, which has infected things and caused oddly mutated animals and rapidly growing poisonous plants. To save his dad, he decides to go out into the waste and do scientific research. There, he finds three kids, who tell him of a safe place called "Heal Home" and he finds he's not as alone as he seemed. But there's a lot of other things he finds out along the way. I would recommend this book to fast action fans age 8-12.
 
- Review by Michael, age 10


Kid Scientists: True Tales of Childhood from Science Superstars (Kid Legends #5) Cover Image
By David Stabler, Anoosha Syed (Illustrator)
$13.95
ISBN: 9781683690740
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Quirk Books - October 9th, 2018

This book is a great addition to the series that also includes Kid ArtistsKid AuthorsKid Athletes, and Kid Presidents. It includes short little stories on the early lives of scientists throughout the ages, with some information on what they did later in life. I found it really interesting, especially the stories of Albert Einstein, Stephen Hawking, Neil DeGrasse Tyson, Ben Franklin and Temple Grandin. I already knew some about these people, but there were lots of little details I didn't know. A lot of them had rocky starts and weren't always the best students until they found what they were good at. Or they had rare illnesses or difficult childhoods. I did want to know more about Vera Rubin, who discovered dark matter. This book should be of interest to all kids interested in science, as well as fans of the other books in this series.

- Review by Michael, age 10


Grenade Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338245691
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Scholastic Press - October 9th, 2018

For fans of REFUGEE comes the action packed GRENADE. This story is about two young men and their perspectives of involvement in World War ll; one is a Japanese student drafted into the military and the other is an American marine.  This takes place on the small island of Okinawa off the coast of Japan. Many people are killed, and bombs are dropped, but the two sides fight valiantly against each other. I would recommend this book to 6th grade and up, because of the language, and the brutal acts both sides preform.  

-Review by River age 11


The Extremely Inconvenient Adventures of Bronte Mettlestone Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338255843
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Arthur A. Levine Books - October 9th, 2018

An adventure story with a quality danger aspect.  The pressure of each very specific task being done perfectly was too high.  In my opinion, the amount of fancy manners in this story is a little too high because I am a casual girl. 

 

Review by Elli, age 10


What Not to Do If You Turn Invisible Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780399551529
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Schwartz & Wade - October 9th, 2018

I loved Ross Welford's Time Traveling with a Hamster and couldn't wait for his next book. What Not to Do If You Turn Invisible was just as good as the previous book. It was really interesting and deep: it made you think. It starts with Ethel waking up invisible, then goes back to explain all of the events that led up to it. Ethel had really bad acne and was teased about it at school, so she bought this weird "Skin So Clear" medicine online and took it every day. It has an unexpected side effect, though - not only does her acne disappear, but so does she! Her clothes remain visible, so if she wants to sneak around, she has to take them off. The effect is only temporary - until one day it's not. Ethel's mom is dead and she has to deal with that, and her dad is somewhere far away, like New Zealand. Meanwhile, Ethel meets this guy Elliot Boyd. He's loud and bumptious and big and he gets teased at school too. His nickname is "Smelliot." He gets involved in the story too, but I probably shouldn't give away too much of the plot. I would recommend this to readers age 9 and up, not just science fiction fans but general fiction fans as well.

 

- Review by Michael, age 10.


Edison Beaker, Creature Seeker: The Night Door Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780425291931
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - October 2nd, 2018

The start of a new series of adventurous graphic novels, this story starts with the main character as a young boy on the last day he saw his dad. The boy was afraid of the dark and the dad gave him his flashlight, saying it would protect him from the monsters. Four years later, Edison's sister calls for him to help find her hamster because he's really good at finding things. Then they get sent to spend time with their uncle, who works in pest control. They discover the pests he controls are not, like, bugs, but strange creatures who are mostly supposed to stay locked behind a magical gate. The gate is supposed to stay shut, but now it's open. The hamster escapes again, and in chasing it, they leave the safe van and venture through the gate into a different realm filled with spooky things. I would recommend this to fans of adventure and magic and graphic novels like "Amulet" or "Cleopatra in Space." I immediately want to read the second book in the series!
 
Review by Michael, age 10


The House With Chicken Legs Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781338209969
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Scholastic Press - September 25th, 2018

This book was very interesting. It’s about a girl named Marinka who is destined to follow in her Grandma’s footsteps and become a “Yaga” and guide the dead up to the stars. However, she doesn’t want to guide the dead, and dreams of living an average teenage life. Her “house with chicken legs” interacts with her; she meets new people and plays with her bird, Jack. Her house also has the ability to get up and run to a new location, making it almost impossible for Marinka to have any friends whatsoever. Read about Marinka and her troubles, adventures, and attempts to escape her destiny--being a yaga.  Recommended for ages 9-14.

-Review by Kendall age 11


Squirm Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780385752978
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - September 25th, 2018

This book was really well-written, right in line with all of the other books by Carl Hiaasen that I have read. The plot was enjoyable, and even if the story did get a bit far-fetched, the characters were totally realistic and believable. The main character, Billy, lives with his mom. His dad left his family when he was young. One day, he finds his dad's address on a check with a return address in Montana. He decides to go there and figure out the whole deal. In Montana, he successfully finds the address, and discovers his dad has a whole new family, including a new "stepmom" and "stepsister" who are actually really nice. But his dad turns out to have gone missing. As he investigates, Billy and his stepsister finds out about the dangerous, mysterious work that his dad does and starts to get wrapped up in it himself as he tries to figure out what the right thing is to do. This is a great book for fans of HootScatChomp, and Flush and for readers who love nature and slightly crazy humor, ages 10 and up.

- Review by Michael, age 10


The Assassination of Brangwain Spurge Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9780763698225
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Candlewick - September 25th, 2018

This sampler-book (just part of the full story that will be released in the fall) creates a fascinating, if very weird world, and intriguing possibilities for the rest of the story. I'm really interested in what will happen to the characters. The book actually opens with a series of illustrations, in an old-fashioned style like might have been done in the Middle Ages. Then later, we get chapters from the points of view of the two main characters.  Brangwain Spurge, an elf historian, has the responsibility of bringing a valuable gift to the goblins, which the elves have been at war with. No elf has returned alive from the goblin country in 100 years, so Brangwain doesn't know what to expect: violence? death? Actually, his host, a goblin archivist, is really welcoming and excited to have a foreign visitor. However, due to the difference in cultures, things begin to go wrong.
The story drops you right into this really different world and gets right into the action. I want to read the rest when the actual book comes out.  I'd recommend this to fantasy fans age 10 and up.
 
Review by Michael, age 10.


The Thrifty Guide to Ancient Greece: A Handbook for Time Travelers (The Thrifty Guides #3) Cover Image
$13.99
ISBN: 9780451480279
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - September 11th, 2018

This book was funny and exciting at the same time, with all kinds of facts about history. It made it fun to read about history. It's written from the perspective of a future time traveler voyaging to Ancient Greece, as if he had accidentally dropped his guide book during a side trip to 2018. There's lots of cool stuff included, like what famous people to have lunch with, and some of the top tourist spots. It's also full of general history and amazing facts about the people, customs and life back then. It was hilarious. I particularly liked the section on the Spartans and what it was like to grow up in that culture.I would recommend this book for readers age 11 and up who enjoy history and humor.

 

Review by Michael, age 10.


Someone Else's Shoes Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781580897495
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Charlesbridge - September 11th, 2018

 Izzy is a 12 yr old girl having a harder life than she expected. Her aunt just commited suicide, and now her Uncle Henderson and his son, Oliver, are staying at their house, causing Izzy’s divorced mother to basically forget about Izzy. To top it off, Izzy’s mother is dating Izzy’s dentist, whose son, Ben, is on of the most feared kids at school, and her stepmother is having a baby. But, when Uncle Henderson goes missing, Izzy, Ben, and Oliver all join forces to go on a dangerous mission to save him. This book is told from Izzy’s perspective, in a way that you know how she is feeling, what she is going through, and what she does to solve her problems. There were times during this book where I wanted to laugh, some that I wanted to cry, and others where I just smiled. Everything turns out okay in the end, and Izzy knows that. I give this book a 5 star!

- Review by Nidhi, age 11


No Fixed Address Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781524768348
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Wendy Lamb Books - September 11th, 2018

Felix Knutsson has a secret: he and his mom, Astrid, live in a van. And they have been for 6 months. Astrid promises it’s only temporary, and pleads Felix not to tell anyone. Felix feels the urge to tell his best friends, Winnie and Dylan, but doesn’t out of loyalty. Suddenly, there is an opportunity for Felix to be on a junior version of his favorite show, Who, What, Where, When, and a plan sparks for Felix to help himself and Astrid have a normal life. Nielsin ties together a lot of feelings throughout the book, making you laugh and cry along with Felix. Happy moments, sad moments, and surprising moments are all mixed in to the most important part of Felix’s life. I loved this book!
 

- Review by Nidhi, age 10


Voyage of the Dogs Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062686008
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperCollins - September 4th, 2018

Lopside, the main character, is a Barkonaut aboard his spaceship, the Laika. He helps his fellow keepers and friends by sniffing around for no-good smells. One day, he and the other 4 Barkonauts aboard the Laika wake up from hibernation and realize the lifepod from the ship is missing, and the human astronauts with it! Lopside’s and his friend’s quick thinking might be able to save the lifepod and their beloved keepers. This was an amazing story! It had the perfect mix of humor, intensity, and calmness. I read this book in one sitting. I was intrigued! I would definitely give this book 5 stars!

-Review by Nidhi, age 10


Knights Club: The Bands of Bravery: The Comic Book You Can Play (Comic Quests #2) Cover Image
By Shuky, Waltch (Illustrator), Novy (Illustrator)
$9.99
ISBN: 9781683690559
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Quirk Books - September 4th, 2018

This is advertised as a "comic book you can play," and I have to say it pretty much lived up to its name. It's a really cool idea, especially for kids who don't really pick up books on their own. It reads like a choose-your-own adventure, except with some added game elements. The situation is that there are these three kids who are bored with gardening and living with their parents. They're going to try to go to knight school, so they have to venture through the lands in search of bravery bracelets. Whoever gets the most wins. You play "yourself" in the book, so there's not as much of a story as with traditional books or graphic novels. It was still fun though, even though it could be a little confusing as you switched back and forth between pages. Some places are really easy to get lost in, too, like the maze and the swamp, and I kept getting stuck in these. I would recommend this for readers in third-grade and up, especially fans of Hocus and Pocus.
 
- Review by Michael, age 10


Hocus & Pocus: The Legend of Grimm's Woods: The Comic Book You Can Play (Comic Quests #1) Cover Image
By Manuro, Gorobei (Illustrator)
$9.99
ISBN: 9781683690573
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Quirk Books - September 4th, 2018

This graphic novel was written like a "choose-your-own adventure" book. It's great for younger readers and people who want to choose what happens in a story. I personally like to check out all of the storylines and see what would have happened if I'd chosen differently. The plot starts like this: two kids attend a school that teaches kids how to understand animals with special abilities. The boy and girl are told they have to help unravel a kidnapping in a dark forest. The various storylines include lots of fairy tale elements. I found this a little simple, but reluctant readers and beginning readers would probably like this a lot. I think it's ideal for kids in the second- and third-grade.

 

-Review by Michael, age 10


Wonderland: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780374310608
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) - August 28th, 2018

Mavis just moved into a “rich person neighborhood.” The problem is she’s not rich. Her mother is trying yet another new job working for the Tully’s. Rose Tully feels like an outsider. She doesn’t enjoy shopping sprees or sleepovers like the other girls. But when her closest friend, Mr. Duffy, is sad because his dog died, she knows she needs to help. That’s where Mavis comes in. Written by the author of Wish, Wonderland tells how two girl bond over a dog named Henry. This book is an amazing story of friendship, and I recommend it to anyone who wants a happy ending. This book is great!

- Review by Nidhi, age 11


Stealing the Sword: A Branches Book (Time Jumpers #1) Cover Image
By Wendy Mass, Oriol Vidal (Illustrator)
$4.99
ISBN: 9781338217360
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Inc. - August 28th, 2018

This story had a good plotline but it was a bit simplistic for me, as it's aimed at younger readers. The main characters are a brother and sister. They run across an old suitcase at a flea market and feel an odd tingle. They wind up being given the case for free, but they don't know there's a strange man trying to track it down. The suitcase accidentally opens and transports them back in time. I think this is a good book for second- and third-graders who like fantasy and science fiction but are at a lower level in reading.
 
Review by Michael, age 10


Monster Mayhem Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9780735231245
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dial Books - August 28th, 2018

This book is related to the author's previous graphic novel, Cosmic Commandos, because it has the same ring that grants powers - but you don't have to have read the first book to enjoy this one. The main character is a girl named Zoe who loves building robots and watching movies about robots and monsters. She's shy and has bad experiences with "friends" who hurt her feelings so she turned away. Now she tries to act like she doesn't need friends. One day, she finds a ring lying in the grass. A burst of light explodes from it when she tries it on. That night, she finds herself face-to-face with a monster like those from the movies she watches - and the monster wants to be her friend. But it turns out there's not just one monster. There's a lot of them, and they're not all friendly. I'd recommend this book for fans of Cosmic Commandos and other graphic novel adventures. It's for kids who like science fiction and action, probably ages 8-12.
 
- Review by Michael, age 10


The Story Collector: A New York Public Library Book Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250143808
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - August 28th, 2018

I enjoyed this story a lot. Set in the 1920s, it's about a girl, Viviani, who lives in the library and has a lot of fun on her own. Later, at school she meets a new girl, Merit, who's very sure of her facts. Viviani wants to be friends with this girl. After a humiliation at recess, Viviani promises she'll show Merit a ghost. If all goes perfectly, they'll be friends. If her plan doesn't work, she may never have friends. So they start exploring and even though Viviani thinks she knows every there is to know about the library, there are still surprises in store. I'd recommend this for mystery lovers ages 10-12.
 
- Review by Michael, age 10.


Case Closed #1: Mystery in the Mansion Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062676276
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - August 14th, 2018

This was a really great book, more complicated than I expected. It's like an old-fashioned choose-your-own adventure, with added clues, puzzles and riddles to figure out as you try to solve the mystery. It's fun to go through all of the different paths and see what happened in all the different scenarios. The plot starts out with the main character, Carlos, living in kind of bad conditions with his mom, who runs a failing detective agency. They're not getting any cases and not getting any money coming in. They finally get a case, but his mom is sick and her partner is out on a different case, so Carlos takes over. The reader gets to choose the path that you take. Sometimes it leads to a dead end, so it's smart to mark your place so you can go back to where you were and figure it out from there. I would recommend this to mystery fans age 9 and up and people who like choose-your-own adventures.
 
- Review by Michael, age 10


Estranged Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062653864
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperCollins - August 7th, 2018

This was a really great graphic novel with a fast-paced story and great art. It's about two changelings. The human was stolen by the fay and taken to live in their underground realm. The fay changeling is growing up in the regular human world. Both wind up wrapped up in an adventure in the fay world, along with their human sister, who learns the truth about her family and is willing to accept both of them as her brothers. It's a really good story and I would recommend it to people who like adventure graphic novels and books like The Spiderwick Chronicles by Holly Black.

- Review by Michael, age 10.


Toaff's Way Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781524765361
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - August 7th, 2018

As an animal lover it was a wonderful adventure story from the squirrels’ point of view.  Very interesting descriptions.  I also thought that it was cool how the different groups of squirrels had different beliefs in what protected them.

 

By Elli, 10 years old


Courage Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062561657
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperCollins - July 31st, 2018

COURAGE by Barbara Binns is an inspiring book. It teaches you that most people, even those with a criminal record, deserve a second chance in life.  This sounds quite easy, but for T’Shawn Rodgers this might just be the hardest thing he has ever done. T’Shawn must forgive Lamont Rodgers, his long-lost brother who had quite a rough past. He was sucked into the “Gang Life”, and you'll understand that this is not a very good way to live life.  COURAGE is a very emotional and heartwarming book, I would recommend it to anyone!!!

 

-Review by Charlotte


Courage Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062561657
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperCollins - July 31st, 2018

Courage is a realistic fiction novel by Barbara Binns. T’Shawn, the main character, is shocked when his mother decides that his older brother, Lamont, who has been in jail for the past 3 years, should come home again. After his father’s death, Lamont ran away from the homeless shelter that he and his family lived in. T’Shawn was heartbroken, but knew it wasn’t right. Now, he’s a part of a worshipped diving team where everyone is scared of his brother. Now, he’s wondering whether or not he should trust the boy who he once looked up to. Readers of The Crossover and Wonder will love this spectacular story of love and family. Courage is a MUST READ!

- Review by Nidhi, age 10


Fly to the Rescue (Tiny Geniuses #1) Cover Image
$5.99
ISBN: 9780545909518
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Paperbacks - July 31st, 2018

 
This was a very interesting book. The main character keeps getting bad grades and his mom is threatening to pull him out of baseball. If he gets a good grade on his science project, though, he can stay in baseball. So he tries very hard, but it isn't going well. Then he visits the school's "lucky wishing well." It's known if you give it your most prized possession, you'll get a wish. The main character gives up something - not his most prized possession but something special nonetheless - his aunt's present to him: Heroes of History action figures. He wishes for better grades, and everything goes haywire. He ends up with "Pocket Geniuses" instead. It was an easy, fast read. I'd recommend it to readers 7-10.
 
Review by Michael, age 10


To Pluto and Beyond Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781101997017
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - July 17th, 2018

This book had a lot of informational on an interesting topic: the spacecraft that's going to travel to Pluto and on out of our solar system. There are lots of people who want to know about outer space, so this should be interesting to many readers. The book includes information on the spacecraft itself, the people who made it and how it was made, and then it also includes information on Pluto itself. I thought it was pretty cool.
I would recommend it to fans of space, future astronauts and people who want to know the latest news about space exploration, ages 9 and up.
 
Review by Michael, age 10. 


The Jamie Drake Equation Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781524713614
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Delacorte Books for Young Readers - June 26th, 2018

This was a really good, really fast read with a great plot. It's about a kid, Jamie, whose dad is an astronaut and is working on a project to launch tiny spaceships across the galaxy to see if there is life on other planets. He's a minor celebrity and the whole school is talking about it. But Jamie gets kind of lonely - video chats are no substitute for really having his dad around. Then Jamie starts exploring around an old observatory, bypassing the "no trespassing" signs. He finds an astronomer there looking for alien life. As she checks her equipment, Jamie accidentally downloads information from the Hubble telescope onto his phone and weird stuff starts happening....I'd recommend this to anyone interested in science fiction or who liked Edge's other book, The Many Worlds of Albie Bright.

 

-Review by Michael, age 10


The Door to the Lost Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781101933169
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Delacorte Books for Young Readers - July 3rd, 2018

This book was totally wicked!  I loved it because I really enjoy stories centered around magic and this was a really wonderful one.  What else can I say.  This is just a wonderful book.

 

Review by Elli, 10 years old


Strays Like Us Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781338043006
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Press - June 26th, 2018

Fred was having a normal day until she had to leave school early. She had to go to some place where she was going to be told something that happened involving her mom. Turns out, her mom’s in jail, which means that Fred has to stay with a strong-looking woman named Margery. While staying with Margery, Fred notices a dog that is tied to a pole with no food or water. Toby only has half of one of his ears, and his howls of sadness speak to Fred. Suddenly, there’s an accident involving the man who owns Toby, and Fred’s life changes dramatically. I enjoyed this book thoroughly, and I recommend it to anyone who wants a story of family and friendship. Everyone will be able to relate to Fred’s story. I give this book 5 stars!

- Review by Nidhi, age 10


Mr. Wolf's Class Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781338047684
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graphix - June 26th, 2018

I read this whole graphic novel in one sitting. It was funny and fast-paced. It's about the first day of school in a normal fourth-grade classroom - except that all of the students and the teacher are animals. Also, they're not very well-behaved. They're a lot less responsible than the kids in my school. Otherwise, it's pretty realistic, with lots of real-life humor. Technically, the main character is Mr. Wolf, but everybody has their part to play. I liked the art and the story and am glad to find out there's goiing to be another book. I'd recommend this for general interest readers age 7-10.
 
- Review by Michael, age 10


See You On a Starry Night Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781338195743
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Press - June 26th, 2018

Juliet’s world has been turned upside down. Her parents have divorced, forcing Juliet, her mom, and her older sister to leave Bakersfield, the place they’ve always called home, along with their friends. On the first day of living in Mission Beach, Juliet meets Emma, and a friendship blooms over glass bottles. Emma and Juliet write messages in bottles, hoping that someone will see them and reply. What happens next involves a wish, a sleepover, and a sand sea turtle. Schroeder’s words made me want to read the book over and over again. This story of family and friendship will make you smile at times and cry at times. I recommend this book to anyone who wants to smile along with the characters. I loved See You on a Starry Night!

- Review by Nidhi, age 10


The Language of Spells Cover Image
By Garret Weyr, Katie Harnett (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781452159584
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Chronicle Books - June 26th, 2018

Grisha is a dragon with determination. After being taken by unicorn hunters, he gets turned into a teapot, then is released back into dragon form. He is given a job and a place to stay, but many other dragons are not as lucky. While working, he meets a human girl child named Maggie. They are an unlikely duo, and are now going on an unlikely quest. The Language of Spells warmed my heart, and brought out a series of different emotions. There were times where I was very sad, but also times where I smiled and laughed. I recommend it to any reader that wants a story of adventure and friendship. This is an amazing story!

-Review by  Nidhi, age 10


Two Truths and a Lie: Histories and Mysteries Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062418869
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Walden Pond Press - June 26th, 2018

I cannot decide if I should say this is an awesome book or this is a completely totally wonderful book!  I like how they made the reader have to think as they were reading.  I was “wowing” with a lot of it including the truths.

-Review by Elli, 10 years old


Everything Else in the Universe Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780399163944
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - June 12th, 2018

Lucia Mercedes Evangeline Rossi(Lucy) is anxiously waiting for the day her dad comes home from the war in Vietnam. When he does come home, nothing is as she expected. When Lucy sees his missing arm, she thinks it would be best if she helped him do everything. She soon realizes that it is best if she just leaves him alone. Then she meets Milo, a nice boy whose dad is still fighting in Vietnam. They quickly become friends and find a treasure in Lucy’s garden. I read the first nine chapters of this book and it did not appeal to me. The topic sounded interesting but the writing was too plain and it didn’t hook me in. I thought the book was going to be more about Lucy’s struggles to dealing with her dad’s missing arm but it seemed to be about Lucy and Milo’s adventure. I wanted to hear more about the actual war and the father-daughter relationship.  I would recommend this book to 8-10 year olds.
 

-Reveiw by Elliot


Otis and Will Discover the Deep: The Record-Setting Dive of the Bathysphere Cover Image
By Barb Rosenstock, Katherine Roy (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780316393829
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - June 5th, 2018

This was a very interesting true story about the invention and the first trial run of the bathysphere, which allowed humans to go deep into the ocean and see all of the life down there. Otis and Will were working on the idea separately, and one of them figured out the original design, a long tube, wouldn't work because the water pressure was so high down there. He came up with the idea of a spherical chamber. Eventually they wound up working together. I had no idea about the problems they faced, like leaks, sparks and tangled cords - or even the difficulty they had squeezing two six-foot guys into a tiny sphere. This picture book is written for young kids, but I think people of all ages could learn something from it. And the illustrations are magnificent.
 
- Review by Michael, age 10.


Wild Rescuers: Guardians of the Taiga Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062796370
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperCollins - June 5th, 2018

This book was wonderful because it was just the type of story that I love.  Both adventurous and dramatic.  I enjoyed all of the animals in the story.  I would recommend it for 3rd through 6th grade.

 

Review By Elli, 10 years old


Heartseeker Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781524740009
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - June 5th, 2018

Heartseeker is a fantasy story written by Melinda Beatty. Only Fallow has always lived in a small rural area with her Non, Mama, Papa, and her brothers Jon and Ether. She knows that she has a special talent, a ‘cunning.’ Only can see lies, beautiful as a kaleidoscope. But telling lies is harmful to her, almost deadly. When the King finds out about her talent, Only is whisked away from her home in the small quiet orchard to go work for him in the bustling village of Bellskeep. Her favorite brother, Jon, has run away with an army that is attacking Bellskeep. Now, Only has to either risk her own life to stop Jon and get him home, or she has to let the King destroy the army, and along with it, Jon. This book gave me the chills at times, but also made me smile. Heartseeker is a great book for any reader wanting a story of love, family, and friendship, since there are both strong male and strong female characters. I love this book, and I think you will too!

-Review by Nidhi, age 10


Daring Dreamers Club #1: Milla Takes Charge (Disney: Daring Dreamers Club) Cover Image
By Erin Soderberg, Anoosha Syed (Illustrator)
$13.99
ISBN: 9780736439244
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: RH/Disney - June 5th, 2018

Milla worked hard and kept her wits about her.  The author did a good job writing this story as they described how she was feeling with great detail.  I would rate this book for 3rd-5th grade readers.

 

By Elli, 10 years old             


Bites Back #2 (Project: Terra #2) Cover Image
By Landry Q. Walker, Keith Zoo (Illustrator)
$13.99
ISBN: 9780515157949
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Penguin Workshop - June 5th, 2018

This book was fantastic, even better than the first book in the series. Elara, the main character, heads back to school for her second year and expects to return to the beautiful planet where she went to school before, but instead her old school is closed for some unknown reason and she's sent to a huge spaceship.Then weird things keep happening, like plants growing in her room when she wakes up. None of her friends believes her, and everything is controlled by a mysterious watchman who never takes his mask off. Elara has to figure out how all these things fit together.The series is very creative, different than anything else I've ever read, and it also has some great humor. I'd recommend it to science fiction fans age 9 and up, especially people who liked the first book.
 
- Review by Michael, age 10.