Kid's Advisory Board Reviews

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

ADVISORY BOARD MEETINGS ARE BACK IN STORE! EMAIL CHLOE AT CHLOEPBKSCO@GMAIL.COM IF YOU ARE INTERESTED. 

These are reviews written by members of the Kids Advisory Board.

 

Click here for more information about the Advisory Boards. 

 

 

Invisible: A Graphic Novel By Christina Diaz Gonzalez, Gabriela Epstein (Illustrator) Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781338194548
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graphix - August 2nd, 2022

This realistic fiction graphic novel follows a group of Hispanic kids who are grouped together for a school community service project. The school has a tradition of every single student participating in community service, and none of them had signed up, so the principal put them together because they all speak Spanish, even though they're nothing alike. They're being overseen by Mrs. Grouser, who's really an awful person and doesn't help at all over. While out on their community service, the students find a little kid on the other side of the school fence. Asking the kid what they're doing here, they learn the kid and her mom live in a van because they're going through a tough time. The students want to help the kid, though Mrs. Grouser keeps throwing roadblocks up along the way.

I found the characters to be realistic and multifaceted. I prefer fantasy and science fiction myself, but for fans of realistic fiction, this is a good read.

 

-Review by Michael


Mapmakers and the Lost Magic: (A Graphic Novel) By Cameron Chittock, Amanda Castillo Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780593172865
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Graphic - April 26th, 2022

This graphic novel tells a very original story. I have never read anything like it. The main character, Alidade, lives in Alden, a nice but boring town. She has never known anyplace else. One day she goes to the city limits and is caught by the police force called The Night Coats. She is able to run away, but is now essentially exiled. On the run with a friend, Alidade finds a doorknob attached to a tree and in a tiny hidden cabin they find a map. When they open the map, a bird comes out. From the bird, Alidade learns there used to be these folks called Mapmakers, who had a magic that kept the world together and safe. The Night Coats apparently shut down the Mapmakers and now they and their magic are gone. Alidade decides she wants to revive the order. And that's just the beginning of a journey of revelation. I would recommend this book for readers who enjoy fantasy, adventure and the graphic novel format.

-Review by Michael, age 13


Realm of the Blue Mist: A Graphic Novel (The Rema Chronicles #1) By Amy Kim Kibuishi Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781338115130
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graphix - April 5th, 2022

This graphic novel was very original, combining elements of fantasy and science fiction with a touch of Norse mythology.  The main character, Tabby, lost her dad several years ago when he died mysteriously under a giant tree he had been researching, having apparently aged 200 years overnight. The tree and the woods around it have since been declared a biohazard and research has been halted on the blue mist that pours out of it. Though the forest is forbidden, of course Tabby goes there every day, to get closer to her dad's memory and try and figure out why and how he died. One day, she sees an unfamiliar guy with blue hair approach the tree and vanish through a previously unseen portal. While leaving, he drops a ring, and she picks it up and puts it on, following him through the portal as it closes. She finds herself in another world, connected to ours and others through what turns out to be Yggdrasil, the Norse "world tree." But she cannot get home again - the portal only opened one way for her. She's taken in by the blue-haired guy, who has the unlikely name of "Philip". The ring she picked up turns out to be a "traveler's ring," conferring understanding of both spoken and written language. So while hiding out in Philip's room, she reads some of their lore. She finds out he's a "geist," possessing forbidden powers. The plot only gets more involved from there. The art was very well done and the story entertaining, if a little hard to follow sometimes.

 

-Review by Michael, age 13


Pre-Order Now Badge
Sir Ladybug By Corey R. Tabor, Corey R. Tabor (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Corey R. Tabor, Corey R. Tabor (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9780063069077
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Balzer + Bray - March 28th, 2023

Sir Ladybug is a book about a Prince who comes across a mission for a "monster." But really it's just a bird looking for food. So Sir Ladybug has 2 assistants and they help him with the mission. One of them comes up with a plan that they should make a Lemon Merangue Cake. It's so good that the bird doesn't want to eat the bugs!

I liked it and I think it's suitable for kids 8 and up.

 

-Review by Mady, Age 8


Crab and Snail: The Invisible Whale By Beth Ferry, Jared Chapman (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Beth Ferry, Jared Chapman (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9780062962140
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperAlley - March 22nd, 2022

Crab & snail is a book about 2 friends, all of a sudden they are getting rained on and it won't stop. They find out that it is an invisible whale shooting water at them! They become friends with the whale and the whale sings goodnight to them. I think people who like books about friendship and caring would like this book.

 

-Review by Mady, age 8


Wingbearer By Marjorie Liu, Teny Issakhanian (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Marjorie Liu, Teny Issakhanian (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062741158
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Quill Tree Books - March 1st, 2022

This full color art in this graphic novel was unbelievable - fantastic design, lush detail. I can't wait to see the full book in its finished form. As to the story, it was original, compelling and fun, with diverse characters. The main character, a little Black girl, grew up as the only human in The Great Tree, where the souls of birds go before they're reborn. Each leaf eventually becomes a new bird. Then a day comes when new leaves grow on the tree but without souls. In the world outside, no new birds are hatching. The bird Little Red is sent out to investigate what's happening, but Little Red never comes back. So the main character is sent out, accompanied by an owl companion. Complicating their journey, time works differently in The Great Tree than in the outside world. A day in the tree can be weeks, even months in the world. The main character's travels take her to an ancient city where she meets a young goblin, Orion, who has wings but glides, like a flying squirrel, rather than like a bird. Adventure ensues. The book ends on a cliffhanger and a huge plot twist, so it's obviously setting up for a second book ... which I can't wait to read.

 

Review by Michael, age 13


The Legend of Brightblade By Ethan M. Aldridge, Ethan M. Aldridge (Illustrator) Cover Image
$13.99
ISBN: 9780062995520
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Quill Tree Books - March 1st, 2022

This colorful, fast-paced graphic novel combined music and magic with a classic coming-of-age story. The characters were realistic and their motivations made a lot of sense, even the "bad guys," which was refreshing. The art was good too. The main character, Alto, is a kind of floppy-eared elf living in a fantasy world that's also populated by trolls, dragons and more. His mom, Lady Brightblade, was part of an adventuring trio a generation ago who helped to defeat a dragon and bring about a new era of peace. Alto is growing up essentially as a prince but he's not a fan of etiquette, politics and affairs of state. Denied the music/magic training he really loves, he runs away instead. Soon, he meets up with an unusual self-taught Troll bard. Impressed with the troll's skills and initiative, Alto lies about his identity and background. As things progress, he has to keep changing his lie. He also meets a young woman who's working at an instrument repair shop whose music magic is particularly strong,  Meanwhile, he learns of a rogue group of bards who go by the name of "Discord" and who are using a music spell to make people fight, turning the nation against itself and destroy the peace that Ladyu Brightblade fought so hard for. The leader of Discord, Fell, has a mysterious past with Alto's mom and is driven by a desire for revenge. Through the course of the adventure, Alto learns a lot about his world and about himself. I'd recommend the book to lovers of fantasy and the graphic novel format.

-Review by Michael, age 13


Squire By Nadia Shammas, Sara Alfageeh (Illustrator), Sara Alfageeh Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9780062945846
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Quill Tree Books - March 8th, 2022

This was a well-drawn and comparatively complex graphic novel. The story stands on its own well enough, but I'd love to see a sequel if the author decides to write more. Aiza, a member of the Ornu tribe which is oppressed by the Empire, lives with her parents in poverty. One day, a group of knights come through town, recruiting "heroes" for the army.  Aiza wants to sign on as a squire. Her family is apprehensive but eventually agrees to let her go if that's what she really wants. In training with a motley band of young people from different backgrounds, Aiza works very hard training to go to the front lines. But as she learns more about the Empire and the role the military plays, the more there is to dislike. Meanwhile, Aiza has been hiding her ethnicity, wrapping her distinctive ethnic arm tattoo in bandages. One day, the bandages come unwound and her ethnic identity is discovered. The military higher-ups then ask her to fight against her own kind. It's a journey of discovery for Aiza and her companions as they find out about their role in the world and determine how far they're willing to go to take charge of their own lives.

-Review by Michael, age 13


Spy School the Graphic Novel By Stuart Gibbs, Anjan Sarkar (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Stuart Gibbs, Anjan Sarkar (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9781534455429
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - February 15th, 2022

I don't usually read spy stories, but I liked this one and read it in pretty much one sitting. Ben Ripley has played the CIA simulation hundreds of times, but it still comes as a surprise when the CIA comes to his door to recruit him for their "spy school" for kids. It's Ben's dream come to life, but he's a little confused because he thought the simulation was just a game. Plus, he's a little reluctant to leave his family and friends to attend spy school. Unable to pass up the opportunity, though, he accepts, and Agent Alexander Hale inducts him into the training program. As soon as he gets to the school, it's under attack and he has to fight off "the enemy." Things get even more complex from there, as Ben finds his way through an unfamiliar system where you don't even know who your friends are and there are many more secrets in store. The book would probably be a hit with fans of the regular novel, but it also stood on its own and I enjoyed it.

Review by Michael, age 13