Kid's Advisory Board Reviews

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

ALL ADVISORY BOARD MEETINGS WILL BE VIRTUAL VIA ZOOM. EMAIL CHLOE AT CHLOEPBKSCO@GMAIL.COM IF YOU ARE INTERESTED. 

These are reviews written by members of the Kids Advisory Board.

 

Click here for more information about the Advisory Boards. 

 

 

Pre-Order Now Badge
Violets Are Blue Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534469181
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Aladdin - September 28th, 2021

I liked this book for it's whimsical, yet real life view of things. I especially loved the fact that I could see this girl as my neighbor, the kid down the street, or even a stranger passing by. This book really captured some of the real life struggles kids have. It also made me feel what the characters felt. I highly recommend it for ages 9 & up, or anyone looking for a good book to pass the time.

-Review by Lella, Age 12


Pre-Order Now Badge
Great Power, No Responsibility (Spider-Ham Graphic Novel) Cover Image
By Steve Foxe, Steve Foxe, Shadia Amin (Illustrator), Shadia Amin (Illustrator)
$8.99
ISBN: 9781338734300
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Graphix - September 28th, 2021

SpiderHam is a book about SpiderHam. He gets a key but he's not supposed to take the key, but he does anyway. He just realizes that he lost it when he is home and out of his costume. So he goes on an adventure all around looking for the key. He goes to MaryJane Waterbuffalo, he goes to Black Catfish, and he goes to the Avengers. He finally gets to the Mayor's place where he finds out he lost it in a tree. The Mayor's Assistant was going to sell the key for money so she's very mad that SpiderHam found it. She got arrested and the Mayor thanked SpiderHam. I like this book and I think anyone would like it. It was a tale of knowing that when you lose things you have to take full responsibility and find them. 

 

-Review by Mady, age 8


Pre-Order Now Badge
The Graveyard Riddle: A Goldfish Boy Novel Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338679038
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Scholastic Press - August 3rd, 2021

This book is a mystery book by Lisa Thompson. The Graveyard Riddle is a rather interesting book. It follows a girl named Melody Bird, as she goes to the graveyard on a walk with her dog, only to find an abandoned old building in the corner of it. She finds a message on a door that reads “Lord have mercy upon us,” and a nice lady who lives nearby, named old Nina, explains that it used to be a plague house (a house that sick people stayed in during the plague). Melody and her friends later meet a boy named Hal who claims to be a spy and he is using the old plague house to investigate a criminal. He asks them to help, only for them to start questioning him, to see if he is telling the truth.  I really like the suspense of this story, as the mystery unravels about who this spy is.

 

-Review by Jack


Pre-Order Now Badge
The Accursed Vampire Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062954343
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Quill Tree Books - July 27th, 2021

This book stars three young vampires. By young, I mean, they're still children, even though they've been children for hundreds or even thousands of years. The main character, a non-binary vampire named Dragoslava, was born in 1460. They are drawn weirdly, like a cross between the stereotypical caped Dracula and Charlie Brown. Their friends, drawn much more realistically, are Eztli, born in 1597, and Quintus, the son of the (black) vampire queen, born 129 BCE. Centuries ago, Dragoslava was cursed by a witch and now has to do anything the witch asks. This time, the witch asks Dragoslava to retrieve a grimoire that was allegedly stolen from her a long time ago. Eztli and Quintus don't have to go along on this quest, but they want to help. Along the way, they learn more about this witch they've known for so many centuries, and find a way to change their destinies. I would recommend this book to fans of diverse, supernatural graphic novels like The Witch Boy

-Review by Michael, age 12


Pre-Order Now Badge
The Ghoul Next Door Cover Image
By Cullen Bunn, Cat Farris (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062896094
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: HarperCollins - July 13th, 2021

This story was very creative - I haven't read a book like this before. It takes a lot of elements that I have liked from other stories, like graveyards, underground cities and multiple races barely at peace with one another, and puts them together in a new way.

the story starts when the main character, Grey, picks up a 1919 penny which his friend says is unlucky. Grey decides to take a shortcut through the graveyard to get his diorama to school on time. But he drops the diorama into what appears to be an open grave, and a hand reaches out and grabs it. 

At school, he can't say what really happened, so he says he left his project at home. He stays up all night to remake it and it's stolen again - then he finds at his doorstep an amazingly complete model of the graveyard, which he turns in. The weird gifts don't stop there, though. Suddenly he's finding bone necklaces, tied-together bone keys, a doll that looks like him with real teeth sewn on.... Someone is apparently trying to be nice, but it creeps Grey out. Then he meets the gift-giver, Lavinia, who's a child ghoul. She explains her culture and why they're not supposed to reveal their presence to humans. Of course Grey winds up getting caught up in their culture nonetheless, and eventually embarks on an adventure in their underground realms that's equal parts fascinating and terrifying. The ghoul character is really fun - sincere and naive in terms of our culture, yet the holder of arcane secrets. Hideous, yet appealing. The other characters were well depicted too, rounded, realistic and believable.

-Review by Michael, age 12


Pre-Order Now Badge
Long Distance Cover Image
By Whitney Gardner, Whitney Gardner (Illustrator)
$14.99
ISBN: 9781534455658
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - June 29th, 2021

This graphic novel was not your typical "person goes to camp and makes friends" story. As the book opens "Long Distance" seems to refer to the separation the main character, Vega, is experiencing from her best friend after moving to Seattle. Then her dad sends Vega to the "Very Best Friends" camp. Vega doesn't initially want to open up one bit and make new friends. She's fine with staying in contact with her old friend by phone - but she learns her cell doesn't get a signal way out here. Then Vega starts discovering weird staff at the camp. For one, the camp counselors are really weird, annoying and snoopy, and there's this kid at the camp whose parents supposedly run it. He keeps changing his personality to get people to like him more. It turns out there's a lot more going on than just summer camping activities. Vega has to work with others to figure out what's going on and possibly make new connections, learning that despite vastly different backgrounds, she and those she meets aren't that different after all. The story is very original, with diverse and realistic characters. I would recommend it for fans of sci-fi, adventures and graphic novels.

-Review by Michael, age 12


Pre-Order Now Badge
Geraldine Pu and Her Lunch Box, Too!: Ready-to-Read Graphics Level 3 Cover Image
By Maggie P. Chang, Maggie P. Chang (Illustrator)
$6.99
ISBN: 9781534484689
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Simon Spotlight - June 29th, 2021

This book is about a girl named Geraldine who loves school.  She is bullied by a boy named Nico.  Nico makes fun of her Chinese food.  Other kids at her lunch table start to make fun of her too.  Because she was bullied, Geraldine wants to eat non-Chinese food even though she loves Chinese food. When she asks for a sandwich her amha makes her a bao bun.  I like this book because she eats different food and she stands up to bullying.

 

-Review by Payson, age 8


The Firebird Song Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781547605125
Availability: Not On Our Shelves Now--Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Bloomsbury Children's Books - June 8th, 2021

The Fire Bird Song is about a boy named Prewitt who lives in the kingdom of Lyrica and he is the bargemaster's son.  He hears a tale about the last princess of Lyrica calling back the firebird to defeat darkness throughout the kingdom. Using a song passed down from queen to queen. while holding a magical feather, the princess can defeat the darkness. But first she needs to find the firebird feather and can only sing the song when two halves of the moon come together. Prewitt goes to the queens barge on a quest to for the princess. He finds her and they set off to find the feather and save the kingdom. I recommend this book because it is a great fantasy adventure, that teaches you to think outside the box.

 

-Review by Maddie


From Nerd to Ninja! (Ninja Kid #1) Cover Image
$6.99
ISBN: 9781338305791
Availability: Not On Our Shelves Now--Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Paperbacks - May 18th, 2021

This book is about a nerd who wakes up one day and he finds a spider on his nose and trips over his blankets. So he's falling off his bed a lot. But this time he does a double backflip and lands perfectly on the ground instead of falling over! So he goes down and tells his mom about it, it's his birthday so she made him a cake. And he opens his presents and gets a space hoodie and when you put it down there are holes you can see through. And there's a giant spider attack on a school field trip. He fights the spider and wins and he finds out there are more spiders out in the world. His Grandma is an inventor so she gives him supplies to fight crime.  I really liked this book and I think other kids my age and up will like it too. 

-Review by Mady Age 8


Nightingale Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534465787
Availability: Not On Our Shelves Now--Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - April 20th, 2021

12 year old Lark is living at Mrs. Starvengers boarding house for girls. She is determined to leave but she needs coin to pay off  her debt to Mrs. Starvenger first. Her scheme is to steal gold from the royal museum. Unfortunately her heist goes wrong and she ends up with a magic sword that she soon discovers, has a mind of its own and also can make her fly. The sword has picked her to be the next nightingale. A nightingale is a hero who has to fight a great evil that is finally waking up after centuries, and Lark doesn’t think she can do it. But she learns that by working together with the help of her roomates anything is possible. This is a fantasy adventure book that I recommend about a girl all alone who comes to learn the importance of others.

-Review by Maddie


The Accidental Apprentice (Wilderlore #1) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534477568
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Margaret K. McElderry Books - March 30th, 2021

Barclay Thorne lives in a town that's basically made of thousands of rules that dictate residents' whole lives. The town also hates Lorekeepers, who bond with dangerous Beasts to do magic, as years before, the town was damaged by a giant beast. Barclay is an orphan and no one wants to take him on as an apprentice, but finally, he finds a position as a mushroom hunter. He's sent on a mission to find a rare mushroom which grows close to the forbidden woods. Barclay is working with another apprentice, who's not that good at the job and doesn't even like mushrooms. Scared by something, they run into the woods. There, they meet Viola, a girl who is trying to bond with the very Beast that destroyed Barclay's town. However, it turns out she didn't summon the Beast. The Beast is the one who did the summoning, and he didn't bond with Viola, but with Barclay. The story is full of action and plot twists, with interesting characters, even better than I thought it would be. I would recommend it to fans of creative books about magic.

 

-Review by Michael, age 12


Houdini and Me Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780823445158
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Holiday House - March 2nd, 2021

This is a review of a new book titled Houdini and Me.  Its about a kid named Harry who lives in the old house of Harry Houdini on West 113 Street in New York City.  One day he gets contacted by the ghost of Houdini and his ghost tells him the secrets of his tricks. By secrets, I mean how he did them. And Harry doesn’t believe him. But he goes back in time, switches places with Houdini and he does these tricks in the year 1921!?

 

This is a really good book! I find Houdini very cool! For those who don’t know, Houdini is a real person who was a famous illusionist. (or magician if you are confused) and he died in 1929. My favorite part of the book is when Harry tells Houdini about the history that has happened after his death and Houdini’s reactions to that. Now, I recommend this book to all ages so they can learn about the great Harry Houdini! 

-Review by Jack


Allergic: A Graphic Novel Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781338568905
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graphix - March 2nd, 2021

This was a good, fast read in an accessible graphic novel format. The main character Maggie was looking forward to getting a dog for her birthday, but when the animal arrives, she immediately begins having the worst allergic reaction, sneezing and breaking out in hives. She goes to an allergist for a series of very unpleasant tests, in which she's poked with lots of needles filled with substances she might be allergic to. It turns out she's allergic to everything with fur or feathers, so she resigns herself to getting a different kind of. The fish dies. The lizard is stolen by her brothers and she's disappointed to find out turtles spend half the year hibernating. And no, she doesn't want a tarantula. Meanwhile, she starts attending a new school and makes a good friend. Then that girl gets a dog, knowing Maggie has severe allergies, and Maggie feels betrayed. Maggie's still waiting for allergy shots to take effect, a several month process. Then Maggie wonders, what if she just got a little pet - like a mouse? Would that amount of fur be enough to bother her? And she sneaks the little animal into her room unbeknownst to her parents....
 

-Review by Michael, age 13


Unsolved Case Files: Escape at 10,000 Feet: D.B. Cooper and the Missing Money Cover Image
By Tom Sullivan, Tom Sullivan (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062991515
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Balzer + Bray - March 2nd, 2021

This exciting, fast-paced book/graphic novel tells the true story of a guy who hijacked a plane in 1971 and asked for a lot of money ($200,000)and four parachutes to escape with, then disappeared. It's really interesting, and for me it was a window on a whole different era when there wasn't as much security as there is now on planes. You could just carry a bomb right in and no one would know. The book walks readers through how the guy did it, the possible suspects - as law enforcement never learned who did it - and how he might have pulled it off. The story is told in a combination of comics, real documents, and photos from the scene. I would recommend it to readers who enjoy true crime and mystery. 

 

-Review by Michael, age 12


Cathedral of Bones Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062934796
Availability: Not On Our Shelves Now--Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - February 16th, 2021

This was a really great book, with believable, complex characters and an intriguing setting and plot. It opens in the perspective of Simon Frost, a boy who is not great at magic - which in his world is called animism. He works sorting mail for a big government foundation which regulates the known world. The foundation has been in place since a powerful magic user in the past made a big crater. This led people to lay down rules for magic. At least that's what people are taught. Simon keeps encountering differing information, however, first in newspapers that claim their queen is a giant lizard and other "questionable" news. Then, one day while he's working, a bird carries him a message with a cry for help from a far-off place. He has to decide whether to go or not. Along the way, he meets Alice, a human with tentacles who can change into a tentacled creature. At first they don't trust each other but later they learn to rely on each-other. Alice, meanwhile, only has memories of her last few months, and the duo has to unravel her history along with what;s going on in their world. One lesson that comes out of their adventures is not to take anything at face value.

-Review by Michael, age 12


The Coldfire Curse (Dragon Kingdom of Wrenly #1) Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781534475007
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little Simon - February 2nd, 2021

I liked that this book had a lot of potions, magic, and action.  There was a sneaky dragon, but none of the other dragons knew who it was.  Two of the dragons had to save Crestwood from a curse.  I really liked this exciting book!

- Review by Ani, age 9


Super Turbo Saves the Day! (Super Turbo: The Graphic Novel #1) Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781534474468
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little Simon - February 2nd, 2021

Super Turbo Saves the Day is a graphic novel about a hamster named Turbo, that is also a superhero living in a cage In classroom c (or as he calls it, his palace). Among the other classrooms are other super hero pets who band together on a snow day to keep the school safe. This is the first in a series of books. I recommend this book to younger readers who like excitement and humor. The art in the book is simple but colorful and overall the book is enjoyable.

-Review by Jack


The Year I Flew Away Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780358272755
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Versify - February 2nd, 2021

The Year I Flew Away is an incredible story,  It is filled with passion. This book is fantasy but some spots are realistic fiction but mostly fantasy. The main character's name is Gabrielle. Gabrielle really wants to be an american, but something comes her way so she regrets it.  

-Review by Lyv


Sydney and Taylor Explore the Whole Wide World Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9780358106319
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - February 2nd, 2021

The book was good because it showed how you can explore but you can always have someone by your side. I think the author did a good job because  she showed that everyone can have empathy and that sometimes ideas are not great!  This book was a fast and easy read.

-review by Lyv


Red, White, and Whole Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780063047426
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Quill Tree Books - February 2nd, 2021

Red, White and whole Is full of hope and passion, but also sadness.. It is about a girl named Reha and she realizes that her mom is Really sick. She wants to make sure that her mom is better. Her mom is named Rasam and that means moon, Rehas name means star. At the end "what would happen if the moon was missing from the sky". 

-Review by Lyv


The First Wish (Jeanie & Genie #1) Cover Image
By Trish Granted, Manuela Lopez (Illustrator)
$5.99
ISBN: 9781534474659
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little Simon - January 5th, 2021

In this book Jeanie loves school and becomes freinds with Willow, but Willow has a secret. There are clues throughout the book that help the reader figure out Willow’s secret. This book is about friendships and trusting in one another. I really liked this book and I would recommend this to anyone who likes books about friendships and reading for clues.

-Review by Payson age 7