Kid's Advisory Board Reviews

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The 47 People You'll Meet in Middle School Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781524765132
Availability: Not Yet Published
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - August 6th, 2019

This is a GREAT book. It has a little bit of drama in it, so if you do not like drama this probably is not your kind of book. If you like a little bit of drama than you NEED to read it! I loved this book so much!!  It kept me wanting to come back to read it all the time. Personally, I think they should make a series out of this! Plus this book had a good meaning. You really need to read this book!! 

-Review by Sophia age 11


Wolfie Monster and the Big Bad Pizza Battle Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781338186031
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Graphix - June 25th, 2019

This graphic novel was an easy read but still entertaining. This little kid, who's a monster, is running a pizza business with his family. It's inexpensive but a lot of heart goes into every pizza they make. Then a big corporation comes into town wanting to close down the small pizza business to eliminate the competition. Wolfie wants to save his business. He teams up with his two older brothers and a new girl in town. They discover a big secret and find they must stop "Lord Mudpant" from taking over the whole town. I'd recommend it to graphic novel fans age 6-9.

-Review by Michael, age 11.


Dugout: The Zombie Steals Home Cover Image
By Scott Morse, Scott Morse (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9781338188097
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Graphix - June 25th, 2019

This graphic novel was really interesting and original. My mom wasn't really sure I'd like something with zombies in it, and I wasn't sure I'd like something with baseball in it. But I really did. The main characters, Stacy and her sister Gina, are on different Little League teams. Gina is better. They're also the youngest in a long line of witches. Stacy thinks Gina put a curse on her team so it never wins. Then they discover a much bigger secret and they have to help each other to put everything right again. I would recommend this for baseball fans, fantasy fans and graphic novel fans ages 8-12.

-Review by Michael, age 11


Marigold Star Cover Image
By Elise Primavera, Elise Primavera (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780060569495
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: HarperCollins - June 18th, 2019

This book was AMAZING!!!  I strongly enjoy reading fantasy and adventure books and this was a mixture of both genres.  I also liked how she was helping others while mixing in Self Discovery.  All in all this book is truly wonderful.

 

-Reivew By Elli, 11 years old


Glitch Cover Image
By Sarah Graley, Sarah Graley (Illustrator)
$14.99
ISBN: 9781338174519
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Graphix - May 14th, 2019

This was a really good, compelling graphic novel. This girl finally receives a video game she and a friend have been awaiting for a long time. When she tests it out, she's sucked into the game, and a robot in the game tells her she's the "Chosen One" who's going to save their virtual world. There's a glitch in the game and a too-powerful villain is poised to take over. Allegedly, only someone from the outside can save the world. The girl hides this information from her friend because of what she might think. Meanwhile, she's in the game all night and gets no sleep, leaving her to fall asleep in school. The story is at once an adventure and a cautionary tale as the girl ignores her real friend to help her new, virtual one.

-Review by Michael, age 11.


Athena & the Magic Land: Little Goddess Girls 1 (QUIX) Cover Image
$5.99
ISBN: 9781534431058
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Aladdin - May 14th, 2019

I liked  this book because there was a dog in it. The dog helped Persephone. The game came to life. I think everyone would like this book too.

 

-Reivew by Mady, age 6 1/2


Odd Gods Cover Image
$13.99
ISBN: 9780062839534
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: HarperCollins - May 14th, 2019

I really liked how they used actual Greek Mythology but turned it into Fiction.  It teaches people about Greek Mythology while still having a great hook.  I sat down and read this book for hours at a time and then read it over again 3 times. 

 

-Review By Elli, 11 years old


Order of the Majestic Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781534424876
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Aladdin - May 7th, 2019

This middle-reader book is really interesting, with well-created, rounded characters, an original storyline and lots of humor. It straddles the line between science fiction, fantasy and humor. The story basically asks: What if stage magic were real magic? No of course Gandalf wasn't real. He's a creation of author J.R.R. Tolkien. But Merlin was real, this book asserts. And in the modern world, Houdini was not just doing slight-of-hand, but real magic. In this story, Redondo the Magnificent was the latest to use "stage magic" to hide real magic that keeps wonder in the world, unbeknownst to the general population. But now he's old and dying. Joey Kopecky, an utterly average kid who just happens to be able to ace standardized tests by "spotting the tricks" hidden in the exams, is headed for a special, year-round school for geniuses. He wants nothing to do with it. But when his alternative test sends him instead to a hidden realm, he finds reason to live up to his potential in an entirely unexpected way.

-Review by Michael, age 11


A Friend for Dragon: An Acorn Book (Dragon #1) Cover Image
By Dav Pilkey, Dav Pilkey (Illustrator)
$4.99
ISBN: 9781338341058
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Scholastic Inc. - April 30th, 2019

I think it was funny because he thought the apple could talk. The apple didn't talk when Dragon got home!  (The snack was playing a trick on him.) I also thought it was good because they became friends. He met other animals too.

-Review by Mady age 6 1/2


Sparkly New Friends: An Acorn Book (Unicorn and Yeti #1) Cover Image
$4.99
ISBN: 9781338329018
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Scholastic Inc. - April 30th, 2019

I think this book is good because they become friends .  I also like it because it's funny. I think people would like this book too. (I think they would really really like it.)  It is very good.

 

-Review by Mady age 6 1/2


The Door at the End of the World Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062368300
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: HarperCollins - April 9th, 2019

This was a great book. Imagine eight worlds, all linked, except one of the worlds doesn't know it's linked to others by means of a magical door or gate. The main character, a girl, works as a gatekeeper's deputy at the end of the world, where that world connects to other worlds. The gate has to be guarded at all times to make sure no one's getting in who shouldn't be. Then one day the gatekeeper goes missing and the deputy is totally unprepared to take over. When she opens the door, someone comes tumbling through and breaks the door - a big problem. They travel to the other side of the world to find another gatekeeper who can help. There's a lot of unexpected twists and turns along the way. I would recommend this book to readers who like adventures and science fiction/fantasy.

 

-Review by Michael, age 10


The Infinite Lives of Maisie Day Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780525646402
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Delacorte Books for Young Readers - April 9th, 2019

This was a really great book and a fast read. The story switches back and forth between "now" and a few days before "now". As the book opens, the main character, Maisie, wakes up on her 10th birthday, in the present as she experiences it. The doorbell rings and she goes to open it and all she sees is a consuming blackness. No one is out there. Yet when she closes the door, she can still see light streaming in the windows. An academically gifted kid with an enthusiasm for obscure scientific facts and concepts, she's confused, scared and creeped out. The book follows her as she tries to escape the blackness. Meanwhile, weird things are turning up in the house, like a black hole in the bathroom and an infinite stair, like in art by M.C. Escher. The book is full of interesting scientific concepts. The plot is action-packed and it's full of emotion. Some moments are very moving. However, it's complicated and could be confusing for young readers. I would recommend it to readers 10-13 who enjoy books like The Jamie Drake EquationTime Traveling with the Hamster, and The Care and Feeding of a Pet Black Hole. 

-Review by Michael, age 10


Greystone Secrets #1: The Strangers Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062838377
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - April 2nd, 2019

This was a really good book! It was realistic and compelling, combining science fiction with mystery. The Greystone kids, who are siblings, come home from school to find their mom acting a bit weird. She has discovered three kids (the Gustanos famaly) who look just like them. They have the same first and middle names and their birthdates even match. When their mom heads away on a bus trip, the kids make some weird discoveries. A week later, they receive an automatic text from their mom, written before but set to send at that time, saying she's never coming back. The kids realize she's in danger and with the help of the daughter of the family they're staying with, they set out to figure things out. I'd recommend this to readers age 10 and up, especially fans of books like Ross Welford's Time Traveling with a Hamster and What Not to Do When You Turn Invisible.

 

- Review by Michael, age 10


Katt vs. Dogg Cover Image
$13.99
ISBN: 9780316411561
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: jimmy patterson - April 2019

Katt vs Dogg was a great book! It was really funny, and I recommend reading it! It has humour, danger, love and all that stuff. It is really a great book and I really loved it! If you love dogs or cats I really recommend reading it! My dogs liked the book too! 

-Review by Sophia, age 11


InstaGraphics: A Visual Guide to Your Universe Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781338215571
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Scholastic Nonfiction - March 26th, 2019

I really liked this book and I think a lot of elementary schoolers would like it too. It mixes a lot of photos with information about almost every major topic you could think of, all put together in a format that would help kids who don't really like reading. I especially liked the tidbits about the history of communication and the timeline of random discoveries. The book also includes such wide-ranging topics as how loud various animals are by decibel level; lots of cool stuff about our Earth and the rest of the Solar System, volcanism, tornadoes, how our brain works, etc.

I would recommend this for readers age 8 and up who like non-fiction. It's a little bit like Ripley's Believe it or NotWeird but True and the Guinness Book of World Records, except it doesn't just cover the extreme stuff. It's just random facts.

 

-Review by Michael, age 10


Apocalypse Taco Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781419733734
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Amulet Books - March 26th, 2019

This book was really interesting and different. The reader has no idea what's going on until halfway through the book and even then, it's very mysterious. It starts with a group of teens preparing for a school play. While working on the set late at night they go out for fast food and the world gets squishy and really weird. Their food sprouts legs and tentacles and attacks them. Then it just gets weirder from there. It's intriguing and also disturbing. I would recommend this book to fans of science fiction and horror and graphic novels.

- Review by Michael, age 11.


Escape This Book! Titanic Cover Image
By Bill Doyle, Sarah Sax (Illustrator)
$10.99
ISBN: 9780525644200
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - March 19th, 2019

I really liked this book - it was very interactive and fun. It's set up like you are a master escapologist apprentice and you're training by escaping from the Titanic in three different ways. In one scenario you are a stowaway. That brings many dangers but it's interesting to see things from that viewpoint. In the second scenario you are a crewmember, running errands for a rich family. And in the third you're a passenger, wandering freely - but you have to be careful where you go. To use this book, have a pencil ready. Along with the reading, you'll do small challenges, solve puzzles, create stuff, draw and play games as you work toward escape. I recommend this book to fans of Choose-Your-Own Adventures, people who liked the "Time Traveler's Guides" to history and anyone interested in learning about history in a fun way.

- Review by Michael, age 10


The Most Annoying Robots in the Universe Cover Image
By Russ Bolts, Jay Cooper (Illustrator)
$5.99
ISBN: 9781534436886
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little Simon - March 19th, 2019

This was a good story for kids a little younger than me, but I still enjoyed it. In the story, a space camera which is sent to the edge of the universe and it discovers a planet inhabited completely by robots. The story shows the life of two kid robots who like to joke around. I'd recommend it for young elementary schoolers, especially boys, people who like things like Super Rabbit Boy: Press Start.

 

Review by Michael, age 10


Outwalkers Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781338277500
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: David Fickling Books - February 26th, 2019

This was a really great book, suspenseful, action-packed and very touching. It's set in a dystopian England in the near future. The main character, Jake, is sent to a Home Academy after his parents die. That's supposed to be a boarding school for kids the state takes care of. Except it's really more of a workhouse, making them into indentured servants, or essentially, slaves of the state. He manages to escape the Academy and heads to the home of some neighbors who were supposed to be taking care of his dog, Jet. Except his dog is locked up and the neighbors try to turn him in. So Jake takes the dog and runs. While being hunted by the "Hub Police," eventually he meets up with a gang of escaped children, or "Outwalkers," who are trying to make their way to Scotland, as England has been walled off from all other countries. The book is full of action, danger and emotion as the main character learns some disturbing things about his society and even his past. It's like Unwind for kids who aren't yet teens, and other fans of action and dystopian fiction.

- Review by Michael, age 10. 


Eventown Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062689801
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - February 12th, 2019

This was a really compelling book.  The main character, Elodee, is moving because her family had some bad experiences where they used to live. They are headed to Eventown, where everything is perfect - to an absurd degree. Like, ice cream doesn't melt, and it never rains. When they get there, it seems amazing, but the weird thing is that they have to go to a "welcoming committee" to tell stories of how their lives were. Naomi, Elodee's sister, forgets her old life right after this, but Elodee gets interrupted halfway through by someone having an argument, and after that, she doesn't fit in. With the help of Veena, her new friend, Elodee tries to figure out what's going on. Meanwhile, the rosebush on their house, which had been like all the other houses, starts growing like crazy. There are weeds in their yard, and nowhere else. It starts to rain. It's a race against time until she forgets everything and it all goes back to "Eventown standard." I would recommend this to readers age 10 and up, especially girls.

- Review by Michael, age 10.


The Lost Rainforest #2: Gogi's Gambit Cover Image
By Eliot Schrefer, Emilia Dziubak (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062491114
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - February 5th, 2019

I read this book 3 times in a row it was so good.  The characters are all animals, which I really loved, and there are no humans around.  I would like to put this book in my own personal collection right next to the first book in the series.  I learned a lesson about revenge- that is stinks.

 

review by Elli, age 10


New Kid Cover Image
By Jerry Craft, Jerry Craft (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062691194
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperCollins - February 5th, 2019

This graphic novel was really good and really funny, with lots of true-to-life insights. It places in the ranks of the "Wimpy Kid" books in terms of relate-ability. The main character, Jordan, lives in the inner city in New York and he transfers to a private school in a really rich area. The school is predominantly white, with maybe three black kids, and he runs into all kinds of subtle racism, even from one of the teachers.Like for example, one teacher keeps calling him by the name of another black kid from the previous year who was a "real problem." At the same time, he's trying to adapt to a new school, new classes and deal with all of the normal adjustments of teenage years. The book is really great and I think there's something in it that everyone could appreciate, from readers in the upper elementary grades on up.

- Review by Colleen, age 13


Dragon Pearl Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781368013352
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Rick Riordan Presents - January 15th, 2019

This book was so incredibly good that I picked it up and read it, put it down and then picked it back up again.  I prefer a traditional happy ending but still wished it would never end.  I loved the space and time, the gadgets and the fantasy.

 

Review by  Elli, age 10


The Remarkable Journey of Coyote Sunrise Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250196705
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - January 8th, 2019

This book is great! It is about a girl who lost her Mom and two sisters in a car crash and lives with her Dad, Rodeo in an old school bus. Her Dad calls her Coyote (even though that is not her real name). Coyote and her Dad travel all around the country in that school bus, but Coyote wants to go back to her hometown that they left when her mom and sisters died. She heard that the park that they went to before they died was going to be torn down, and they buried a little chest full of pictures and memories there. She and her dad took a long journey back to something that was hard to go back to. I never wanted to set this book down! It made me want to cry at times but I loved it so much. I think this is probably my favorite book now.

-Review by Sophia, age 11


Click Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781328911124
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - January 8th, 2019

I really liked this graphic novel even though it is a little girly. I definitely want to read the second book as soon as it comes out. The main character is a girl who seems to get along with everyone. Then a talent show comes up and she finds that everyone has picked their groups and she is left on her own. A lot of things come in to play to help her find her place in the world. She gets help from her aunt, for example, and learns that she has learn to think about herself. I would recommend the story for fourth- and fifth-grade girls, and open-minded boys who don't mind girls as the main characters.

- Review by Michael, age 10


Max and the Midknights Cover Image
$13.99
ISBN: 9781101931080
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Crown Books for Young Readers - January 8th, 2019

This was a really good, hilarious book by the author of Big Nate, so it's sure to find a lot of fans. Actually, the author takes the fictional book that was from the Big Nate series, one that Nate did a book report on, and turns it into a real story. The main character is a troubadour, a traveling entertainer. Max travels to a kingdom where Max's uncle used to live. There used to be a nice, humble king there, but the old king has been replaced by his evil brother. Max decides to stop the evil king from ruling any longer and gets together a band of misfit knights to do that. Fans of the Big Nate and Wimpy Kid books should like this one, along with people who like humorous knightly adventures.

- Review by Michael, age 10


Better You Than Me Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781524769710
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Delacorte Books for Young Readers - November 13th, 2018

Better You Than Me is a great book! I totally recommend it. It has drama, so if you don't like drama I wouldn't read this. However, if you like reading books about middle school and Hollywood then you should TOTALLY READ IT! It is about a girl named Ruby Rivera and a girl named Skyler Welshman. Ruby stars in her own TV show and Skyler is a normal girl who goes to middle school. The two girls meet on the set of Ruby's show while Skyler was running away from school. They wish to switch bodies and it happens! You will have to read it to figure out how everything goes when Ruby is Skyler and Skyler is Ruby.

-Review by Sophia, age 11


It Wasn't Me Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781524766436
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Delacorte Books for Young Readers - November 13th, 2018

It Wasn’t Me by Dana Alison Levy goes deeper than the ocean with lots of emotion. Not everyone is what they seem. You will find out through a week-long effort who vandalized Theo’s (the victim’s) self-portraits hung in the student gallery and long exposure photos in the dark room. Was it just an accident or does someone truly hate Theo enough to do all of this to him? Join Theo through this “justice circle.” Who is it? the princess- Molly Claremont? the nerd- Andre Hall? the jock- Eric Estrale? the weirdo- Alice Shu? or the screw-up- Jax Fletcher?

-Review  by Charlotte 


Monstrous Devices Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780451478580
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - October 16th, 2018

Monstrous Devices is a futuristic, sci-fi adventure story. It’s about a boy whose grandpa is always buying him toy robots. But this one is special. The boy falls asleep while doing homework, then wakes up to find the homework finished and ready. The grandpa immediately realized that the boy must come with him on his mission out of town. They end up having a creepy adventure.

- Review by Nidhi, age 10